246SAN018**AA*
Bryant · central heat pump
246SAN018**AA* is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. 246SAN018**AA* changed its certified COP at 5°F on 3 pairings in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026. The new figure is lower on all 3.
- 18,000 Btu (1.5-ton)
- Central
- Single stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
16,7004.89NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
10,8003.17NR at 17°F
8,4002.46NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.04NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 16,700 Btu/h4.89 kW of heat at 47°F, 10,800 Btu/h3.17 kW at 17°F, and 8,400 Btu/h2.46 kW at 5°F, 50% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 18,100 Btu/h5.30 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 2,600 Btu/h0.76 kW short of the example heating load of 11,000 Btu/h3.22 kW; at 95°F it is 12,600 Btu/h3.69 kW above the example cooling load of 5,500 Btu/h1.61 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at one speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 1.5-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 450 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 11,000 Btu/h3.22 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 5,500 Btu/h1.61 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 214124859 · listed by BRYANT HEATING AND COOLING SYSTEMS · certified Jun 9, 2026 · 3 pairings share these values
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 8,4002.46 kW | −25% | 2.04 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 10,8003.17 kW | −14% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 16,7004.89 kW | −7% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 18,1005.30 kW | — | NR |
EER2 12.0 in that test. SEER2 15.2 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 1.21kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 1.51kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.29
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 18,000 Btu heat pumps
1.5-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 8,400 Btu/h2.46 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 8,400 Btu/h2.46 kW
- Median of 1.5-ton central models at 5°F
- 11,200 Btu/h3.28 kW
- Models in this group
- 243
This unit is above 13% of them, at number 211 of 243 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 8,600 to 18,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- SP15AY18AJ2NRussell and Sure · 8,600 Btu/h
- WP15AY18AJ2NFujitsu, Rheem + 2 more · 8,600 Btu/h
- NS17H18SA4GE · 8,500 Btu/h
- B5H6S18*K*AAA*Airquest, Arcoaire + 6 more · 8,400 Btu/h
- GH5SAN519**AA*Bryant and Carrier · 8,400 Btu/h
- 7HP14F18P-**AAllied, Breeze33 + 2 more · 8,200 Btu/h
Every 18,000 Btu (1.5-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for 246SAN018**AA*
50 pairings · 50 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F one speed | 16,700 Btu/h4.89 kWNR | 16,400–18,300 Btu/h4.81–5.36 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 10,800 Btu/h3.17 kWNR | 10,500–11,000 Btu/h3.08–3.22 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 8,400 Btu/h2.46 kWNR | 8,200–8,600 Btu/h2.40–2.52 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 50%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.04NR | 1.88–2.10 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 7.8NR | 7.8–8.0 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 18,100 Btu/h5.30 kWNR | 17,400–18,900 Btu/h5.10–5.54 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 12.0NR | 11.7–12.5 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 15.2NR | 15.2–15.5 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Single stage | |
| Indoor unit | CAA**1917AM* | 12 indoor units |
| Furnace | 8(0,1)*SB48070M17*** | 22 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | 246SAN018**AA* | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
12 indoor units · 50 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 3 indoor units
-
CAA**2517AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 8,400 Btu/h2.46 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**1917AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 8,400 Btu/h2.46 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAMA3217XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 8,200 Btu/h2.40 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · one speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CAA**2517AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 8,4002.46 | 16,5004.84 | 18,1005.30 | 51% | 2.04 | NC | 22 |
| CAA**1917AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 8,4002.46 | 17,5005.13 | 18,1005.30 | 48% | 2.04 | NC | 17 |
| CVAMA3217XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 8,2002.40 | 17,7505.20 | 18,9005.54 | 46% | 1.94 | NC | 2 |
Air handler · 7 indoor units
-
F55AA*B30L* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 8,400 Btu/h2.46 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FJ5AN*B30L* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 8,400 Btu/h2.46 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FM(C,U)5S30**AL* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 8,600 Btu/h2.52 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FM(C,U)5Z18**AL* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 8,500 Btu/h2.49 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FM(C,U)5Z24**AL* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 8,500 Btu/h2.49 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FM(C,U)5Z30**AL* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 8,200 Btu/h2.40 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FMA5X18**AL* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 8,200 Btu/h2.40 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · one speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| F55AA*B30L* (the pairing on screen) | — | 8,4002.46 | 17,7005.19 | 18,1005.30 | 47% | 1.88 | NC | 1 |
| FJ5AN*B30L* (the pairing on screen) | — | 8,4002.46 | 17,7005.19 | 18,1005.30 | 47% | 1.88 | NC | 1 |
| FM(C,U)5S30**AL* (the pairing on screen) | — | 8,6002.52 | 18,3005.36 | 18,0005.28 | 47% | 2.05 | NC | 1 |
| FM(C,U)5Z18**AL* (the pairing on screen) | — | 8,5002.49 | 18,1005.30 | 17,8005.22 | 47% | 2.04 | NC | 1 |
| FM(C,U)5Z24**AL* (the pairing on screen) | — | 8,5002.49 | 18,1005.30 | 17,8005.22 | 47% | 2.04 | NC | 1 |
| FM(C,U)5Z30**AL* (the pairing on screen) | — | 8,2002.40 | 17,7005.19 | 17,4005.10 | 46% | 1.96 | NC | 1 |
| FMA5X18**AL* (the pairing on screen) | — | 8,2002.40 | 17,7005.19 | 17,4005.10 | 46% | 2.00 | NC | 1 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Model number as listed
- 246SAN018**AA* 50 pairings
Variants of the same model number
10 units in this group. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
- 235SAN018**AA*Bryant
- 27SCA518A**30*Carrier
- 27SPA618A**30*Carrier
- GH5SAN518**AA*Bryant · Carrier
- N5H5S18*K*AAA*ACiQ · Airquest · Arcoaire · Comfortmaker · Day & Night · Heil · Keeprite · Kenmore · Maratherm · Smart Comfort · Tempstar
- PH5SAN518**AA*Brock · Bryant · Payne · WeatherMaker
- PH5SAN518**AB*WeatherMaker
- R5H5S18*K*AAA*ACiQ · Airquest · Arcoaire · Comfortmaker · Day & Night · Heil · Keeprite · Kenmore · Maratherm · Smart Comfort · Tempstar
- W5H5S18*K*AAA*EcoTemp · Grandaire
9 of 10 shown.
Other model numbers with identical certified values
4 units share this record. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
- 235SAN018**AA*identical certified values
- 27SCA518A**30*identical certified values
- 27SPA618A**30*identical certified values
3 of 4 shown.
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- 246SAN018**AA* changed its certified COP at 5°F on 3 pairings in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026. The new figure is lower on all 3.
- 246SAN018**AA* changed its certified heat output at 5°F on AHRI certificate 214423887 from 8,300 Btu/h to 8,200 Btu/h in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026.
- 246SAN018**AA* changed its certified heat output at 17°F on 6 pairings in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026. The new figure is higher on 5 and lower on 1.
- 246SAN018**AA* was in the certified data by September 2024.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Jun 9, 2026
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read