SOV48H2BA
SOV48H2BA is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 38,000–42,000 Btu/h11.14–12.31 kW, 79–93% of its 47°F rating (tests at different compressor speeds), depending on the pairing.
Innovair · central heat pump
SOV48H2BA is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. SOV48H2BA changed its certified heat output at 17°F on AHRI certificate 215408659 from 32,400 Btu/h to 34,800 Btu/h in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026.
- 42,000 Btu (3.5-ton)
- Central
- Variable speed
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
47,00013.77NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
33,0009.67NR at 17°F
40,00011.72NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
1.85NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 47,000 Btu/h13.77 kW of heat at 47°F, 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW at 17°F, and 40,000 Btu/h11.72 kW at 5°F, 85% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 45,000 Btu/h13.19 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 7,000 Btu/h2.05 kW above the example heating load of 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW; at 95°F it is 28,000 Btu/h8.21 kW above the example cooling load of 17,000 Btu/h4.98 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at normal speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 3.5-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,400 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 17,000 Btu/h4.98 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 217284786 · listed by Innovair · certified May 8, 2025 · 1 pairing carries these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Ffull speed | 40,00011.72 kW | +21% | 1.85 | |
| 17°Ffull speed | 33,0009.67 kW | +6% | NR | |
| 47°Fnormal speed | 47,00013.77 kW | +7% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 45,00013.19 kW | — | NR |
EER2 10.0 in that test. SEER2 15.2 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 6.34kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 4.50kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.64
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 42,000 Btu heat pumps
3.5-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 40,000 Btu/h11.72 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 40,000 Btu/h11.72 kW
- Median of 3.5-ton central models at 5°F
- 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW
- Models in this group
- 222
This unit is above 72% of them, at number 63 of 222 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 20,000 to 40,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- DIRM4-48CS19-OUDirect Air · 40,000 Btu/h
- EL18KSLV-060-230ALennox · 40,000 Btu/h
- MVP-48-HP-C-230A00-OMRCOOL · 40,000 Btu/h
- WSCHV0048BA1-CContinental · 40,000 Btu/h
- AC048FCUPCGSamsung · 39,500 Btu/h
- CU-M48BAHUPanasonic · 39,000 Btu/h
Every 42,000 Btu (3.5-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for SOV48H2BA
4 pairings · 4 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F normal speed | 47,000 Btu/h13.77 kWNR | 44,000–48,000 Btu/h12.90–14.07 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kWNR | 33,000–34,800 Btu/h9.67–10.20 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 40,000 Btu/h11.72 kWNR | 38,000–42,000 Btu/h11.14–12.31 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 85%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 1.85NR | 1.80–1.85 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 9.0NR | 8.5–9.0 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 45,000 Btu/h13.19 kWNR | 41,000–48,000 Btu/h12.02–14.07 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 10.0NR | 9.8–10.2 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 15.2NR | 15.2–16.0 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Variable speed | |
| Indoor unit | MMC60H2128B | 2 indoor units |
| Furnace | No furnace | 2 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | Yes | On every pairing |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On some pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | SOV48H2BA | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
2 indoor units · 4 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Air handler · 2 indoor units
-
MMC60H2128B (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 41,000 Btu/h12.02 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
SAV48BDA (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 38,000 Btu/h11.14 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · normal speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MMC60H2128B (the pairing on screen) | — | 41,00012.02 | 45,00013.19 | 43,00012.60 | 93% | 1.80 | Yes | 3 |
| SAV48BDA (the pairing on screen) | — | 38,00011.14 | 48,00014.07 | 48,00014.07 | 79% | 1.85 | Yes | 1 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- SOV48H2BA changed its certified heat output at 17°F on AHRI certificate 215408659 from 32,400 Btu/h to 34,800 Btu/h in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026.
- SOV48H2BA was in the certified data by September 2024.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- May 8, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read