C5H8T36*K*AAA*
C5H8T36*K*AAA* is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 17,500–19,600 Btu/h5.13–5.74 kW, 45–51% of its 47°F rating (tests at different compressor speeds), depending on the pairing.
Comfortmaker, Day & Night + 1 more · central heat pump
C5H8T36*K*AAA* is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. C5H8T36*K*AAA* changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 3 pairings from 37,400 Btu/h to 37,600 Btu/h in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- 36,000 Btu (3-ton)
- Central
- Two-stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
38,00011.14NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
23,6006.92NR at 17°F
19,0005.57NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.22NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 38,000 Btu/h11.14 kW of heat at 47°F, 23,600 Btu/h6.92 kW at 17°F, and 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kW at 5°F, 50% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 35,400 Btu/h10.37 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 7,500 Btu/h2.20 kW short of the example heating load of 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW; at 95°F it is 22,400 Btu/h6.56 kW above the example cooling load of 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at high stage; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 3-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,100 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 216359650 · listed by Comfortmaker · certified Jul 16, 2026 · 9 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 19,0005.57 kW | −28% | 2.22 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 23,6006.92 kW | −10% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 38,00011.14 kW | +8% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 35,40010.37 kW | — | NR |
EER2 11.7 in that test. SEER2 15.2 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 2.51kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 3.03kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.29
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 36,000 Btu heat pumps
3-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kW
- Median of 3-ton central models at 5°F
- 26,400 Btu/h7.74 kW
- Models in this group
- 451
This unit is above 26% of them, at number 334 of 451 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 18,650 to 32,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- RP14AZ36AJ2NRheem and Ruud · 20,200 Btu/h
- 5HPL9036A1000ATrane/American Standard · 20,000 Btu/h
- FWP15AZ36AJ2NFriedrich · 19,700 Btu/h
- GH8TAN536**AA*Bryant and Carrier · 19,000 Btu/h
- GSZH504210AGoodman · 19,000 Btu/h
- MHP17L36P-**AMRCOOL · 18,800 Btu/h
Every 36,000 Btu (3-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for C5H8T36*K*AAA*
564 pairings · 564 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F high stage | 38,000 Btu/h11.14 kWNR | 37,200–39,000 Btu/h10.90–11.43 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 23,600 Btu/h6.92 kWNR | 23,000–24,200 Btu/h6.74–7.09 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kWNR | 17,500–19,600 Btu/h5.13–5.74 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 50%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.22NR | 1.84–2.40 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 7.8NR | 7.8–8.5 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 35,400 Btu/h10.37 kWNR | 33,800–38,000 Btu/h9.91–11.14 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 11.7NR | 11.7–13.0 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 15.2NR | 15.2–16.5 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Two-stage | |
| Indoor unit | ESH5X42M12A* | 25 indoor units |
| Furnace | *80MSU0601716A* | 42 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | C5H8T36*K*AAA* | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
25 indoor units · 564 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 10 indoor units
-
EA*5X43M21A* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,300 Btu/h5.66 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
EA*5X37M21A* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,300 Btu/h5.66 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
EA*5X48M21A* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,150 Btu/h5.61 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
EA*5X37M17A* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 18,900 Btu/h5.54 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
ESH5X48M12A* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,100 Btu/h5.60 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
EA*5X42M21A* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 18,800 Btu/h5.51 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
EA*5X43M21A*+WALLCON (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,300 Btu/h5.66 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
EVD5X38M17A* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,750 Btu/h5.20 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
EVD5X48M21A* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,700 Btu/h5.19 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
EVM5X48M21A* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,700 Btu/h5.19 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · high stage | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EA*5X43M21A* (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,3005.66 | 38,50011.28 | 35,80010.49 | 50% | 2.28 | NC | 69 |
| EA*5X37M21A* (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,3005.66 | 38,50011.28 | 35,80010.49 | 50% | 2.28 | NC | 63 |
| EA*5X48M21A* (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,1505.61 | 38,00011.14 | 35,20010.32 | 50% | 2.28 | NC | 60 |
| EA*5X37M17A* (the pairing on screen) | — | 18,9005.54 | 37,60011.02 | 34,60010.14 | 50% | 2.28 | NC | 39 |
| ESH5X48M12A* (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,1005.60 | 38,00011.14 | 35,60010.43 | 50% | 2.28 | NC | 39 |
| EA*5X42M21A* (the pairing on screen) | — | 18,8005.51 | 37,60011.02 | 34,60010.14 | 50% | 2.26 | NC | 33 |
| EA*5X43M21A*+WALLCON (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,3005.66 | 38,50011.28 | 35,80010.49 | 50% | 2.24 | NC | 30 |
| EVD5X38M17A* (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,7505.20 | 38,50011.28 | 37,00010.84 | 46% | 1.87 | NC | 30 |
| EVD5X48M21A* (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,7005.19 | 38,50011.28 | 36,80010.79 | 46% | 1.86 | NC | 30 |
| EVM5X48M21A* (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,7005.19 | 38,50011.28 | 36,80010.79 | 46% | 1.86 | NC | 30 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Other brands that list these model numbers
- Are Comfortmaker and Keeprite heat pumps the same?173 shared model numbers
- Are Comfortmaker and Day & Night heat pumps the same?172 shared model numbers
Model number as listed
- C5H8T36*K*AAA* 564 pairings
Variants of the same model number
4 units in this group. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
3 of 4 shown.
Other model numbers with identical certified values
2 units share this record. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
1 of 2 shown.
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- C5H8T36*K*AAA* changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 3 pairings from 37,400 Btu/h to 37,600 Btu/h in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- C5H8T36*K*AAA* first appeared in the certified data between September 2024 and November 2024.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Jul 16, 2026
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read