GH8TAN536**AA*
GH8TAN536**AA* is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 17,500–19,600 Btu/h5.13–5.74 kW, 45–51% of its 47°F rating (tests at different compressor speeds), depending on the pairing.
Bryant and Carrier · central heat pump
GH8TAN536**AA* is in the certified data as of Oct 22, 2026. GH8TAN536**AA* changed its certified SEER2 on 29 pairings from 15.5 to 16.0 in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- 36,000 Btu (3-ton)
- Central
- Two-stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
38,00011.14NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
23,6006.92NR at 17°F
19,0005.57NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.26NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 38,000 Btu/h11.14 kW of heat at 47°F, 23,600 Btu/h6.92 kW at 17°F, and 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kW at 5°F, 50% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 35,400 Btu/h10.37 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 7,500 Btu/h2.20 kW short of the example heating load of 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW; at 95°F it is 22,400 Btu/h6.56 kW above the example cooling load of 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at high stage; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 3-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,100 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 215640908 · listed by Carrier · certified Jan 30, 2025 · 14 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 19,0005.57 kW | −28% | 2.26 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 23,6006.92 kW | −10% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 38,00011.14 kW | +8% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 35,40010.37 kW | — | NR |
EER2 11.7 in that test. SEER2 15.2 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 2.46kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 3.03kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.29
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 36,000 Btu heat pumps
3-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kW
- Median of 3-ton central models at 5°F
- 26,400 Btu/h7.74 kW
- Models in this group
- 451
This unit is above 26% of them, at number 334 of 451 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 18,650 to 32,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- 5HPL9036A1000ATrane/American Standard · 20,000 Btu/h
- FWP15AZ36AJ2NFriedrich · 19,700 Btu/h
- C5H8T36*K*AAA*Comfortmaker, Day & Night + 1 more · 19,000 Btu/h
- GSZH504210AGoodman · 19,000 Btu/h
- MHP17L36P-**AMRCOOL · 18,800 Btu/h
- YH636E2S11York · 18,700 Btu/h
Every 36,000 Btu (3-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for GH8TAN536**AA*
557 pairings · 557 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F high stage | 38,000 Btu/h11.14 kWNR | 37,200–39,000 Btu/h10.90–11.43 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 23,600 Btu/h6.92 kWNR | 23,000–24,200 Btu/h6.74–7.09 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kWNR | 17,500–19,600 Btu/h5.13–5.74 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 50%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.26NR | 1.78–2.48 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 7.8NR | 7.8–8.5 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 35,400 Btu/h10.37 kWNR | 33,800–38,000 Btu/h9.91–11.14 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 11.7NR | 11.7–13.0 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 15.2NR | 15.2–17.0 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Two-stage | |
| Indoor unit | CSAH*4212AM* | 27 indoor units |
| Furnace | 58SP*B110V21**22 | 121 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | GH8TAN536**AA* | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
27 indoor units · 557 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 10 indoor units
-
CAA**4321AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,300 Btu/h5.66 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**3721AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,300 Btu/h5.66 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**4821AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,100 Btu/h5.60 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**3717AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 18,900 Btu/h5.54 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CSAH*4812AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,100 Btu/h5.60 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAVA3817XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,750 Btu/h5.20 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**4221AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 18,800 Btu/h5.51 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAVA4821XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,700 Btu/h5.19 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAMA4821XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,700 Btu/h5.19 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAMA4921XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,900 Btu/h5.25 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · high stage | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CAA**4321AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,3005.66 | 38,50011.28 | 35,80010.49 | 50% | 2.25 | NC | 90 |
| CAA**3721AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,3005.66 | 38,50011.28 | 35,80010.49 | 50% | 2.26 | NC | 77 |
| CAA**4821AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,1005.60 | 38,00011.14 | 35,20010.32 | 50% | 2.26 | NC | 69 |
| CAA**3717AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 18,9005.54 | 37,60011.02 | 34,70010.17 | 50% | 2.26 | NC | 44 |
| CSAH*4812AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,1005.60 | 38,00011.14 | 35,60010.43 | 50% | 2.26 | NC | 42 |
| CVAVA3817XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,7505.20 | 38,50011.28 | 37,00010.84 | 46% | 1.80 | NC | 40 |
| CAA**4221AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 18,8005.51 | 37,60011.02 | 34,40010.08 | 50% | 2.24 | NC | 38 |
| CVAVA4821XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,7005.19 | 38,50011.28 | 36,80010.79 | 46% | 1.78 | NC | 29 |
| CVAMA4821XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,7005.19 | 38,50011.28 | 36,80010.79 | 46% | 1.78 | NC | 27 |
| CVAMA4921XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,9005.25 | 39,00011.43 | 37,60011.02 | 46% | 1.90 | NC | 25 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Other brands that list these model numbers
Model number as listed
- GH8TAN536**AA* 557 pairings
Variants of the same model number
7 units in this group. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
- 248TAN036**AA*Bryant
- 27TPA836A**30*Carrier
- N5H8T36*K*AAA*ACiQ · Airquest · Arcoaire · Comfortmaker · Day & Night · Heil · Keeprite · Kenmore · Maratherm · Tempstar
- PH8TAN536**AA*Brock · Bryant · Payne · WeatherMaker
- PH8TAN536**AB*WeatherMaker
- W5H8T36*K*AAA*EcoTemp · Grandaire
6 of 7 shown.
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- GH8TAN536**AA* changed its certified SEER2 on 29 pairings from 15.5 to 16.0 in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- GH8TAN536**AA* changed its certified HSPF2 on 21 pairings from 7.8 to 8.0 in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- GH8TAN536**AA* changed its certified COP at 5°F on 21 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is higher on all 21.
- GH8TAN536**AA* first appeared in the certified data between September 2024 and November 2024.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Jan 30, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read