EL21KLV-036-230A
EL21KLV-036-230A is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 18,400–25,400 Btu/h5.39–7.44 kW, 56–79% of its 47°F rating (tests at different compressor speeds), depending on the pairing.
Lennox · central heat pump
EL21KLV-036-230A is in the certified data as of Oct 2, 2026. EL21KLV-036-230A changed its certified SEER2 on AHRI certificate 217121567 from 16.0 to 18.0 in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026.
- 36,000 Btu (3-ton)
- Central
- Variable speed
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
30,6008.97NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
27,6008.09NR at 17°F
22,4006.56NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.46NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 30,600 Btu/h8.97 kW of heat at 47°F, 27,600 Btu/h8.09 kW at 17°F, and 22,400 Btu/h6.56 kW at 5°F, 73% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 33,200 Btu/h9.73 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 4,100 Btu/h1.20 kW short of the example heating load of 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW; at 95°F it is 20,200 Btu/h5.92 kW above the example cooling load of 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at normal speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 3-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,100 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 217443271 · listed by Lennox · certified Jul 3, 2025 · 2 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Ffull speed | 22,4006.56 kW | −15% | 2.46 | |
| 17°Ffull speed | 27,6008.09 kW | +5% | NR | |
| 47°Fnormal speed | 30,6008.97 kW | −13% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 33,2009.73 kW | — | NR |
EER2 11.0 in that test. SEER2 17.0 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 2.67kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 3.02kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.64
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 36,000 Btu heat pumps
3-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 22,400 Btu/h6.56 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 22,400 Btu/h6.56 kW
- Median of 3-ton central models at 5°F
- 26,400 Btu/h7.74 kW
- Models in this group
- 451
This unit is above 33% of them, at number 301 of 451 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 18,650 to 32,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- MCY-MUB0368HS2P-ULToshiba Carrier · 23,600 Btu/h
- PH9E36N00D21Champion, Coleman + 3 more · 23,000 Btu/h
- A7CP21V36P-**AAC Pro, AirEase + 1 more · 22,400 Btu/h
- NS21H36MA5-**AGE · 22,400 Btu/h
- AASDCI7H4R36Air-Con · 21,600 Btu/h
- TU36W-GDUTosot · 21,600 Btu/h
Every 36,000 Btu (3-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for EL21KLV-036-230A
299 pairings · 299 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F normal speed | 30,600 Btu/h8.97 kWNR | 30,000–35,400 Btu/h8.79–10.37 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 27,600 Btu/h8.09 kWNR | 26,600–32,400 Btu/h7.80–9.50 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 22,400 Btu/h6.56 kWNR | 18,400–25,400 Btu/h5.39–7.44 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 73%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.46NR | 1.84–2.48 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 9.0NR | 8.5–10.4 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 33,200 Btu/h9.73 kWNR | 31,800–34,800 Btu/h9.32–10.20 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 11.0NR | 11.0–12.2 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 17.0NR | 15.2–20.0 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Variable speed | |
| Indoor unit | CK40HT-30B-**+TDR | 18 indoor units |
| Furnace | EL280UH090E48B* | 119 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | Yes | On some pairings |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | Yes | On some pairings |
| Where it is sold | United States | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | EL21KLV-036-230A** | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
18 indoor units · 299 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 10 indoor units
-
CK40[C,U]T-36C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 21,600 Btu/h6.33 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40HT-30B-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 22,600 Btu/h6.62 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40[C,U]T-30B-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 22,600 Btu/h6.62 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40HT-42C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 22,600 Btu/h6.62 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40[C,U]T-36B-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 22,000 Btu/h6.45 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40HT-36C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 21,600 Btu/h6.33 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40[C,U]T-30A-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 22,600 Btu/h6.62 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40[C,U]T-36A-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 21,800 Btu/h6.39 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40HT-30A-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,000 Btu/h7.03 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40DT-30/36C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,400 Btu/h5.69 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · normal speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CK40[C,U]T-36C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 21,6006.33 | 30,5008.94 | 33,7009.88 | 71% | 2.06 | Yes | 42 |
| CK40HT-30B-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 22,6006.62 | 31,0009.09 | 33,2009.73 | 73% | 2.42 | Yes | 38 |
| CK40[C,U]T-30B-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 22,6006.62 | 33,4009.79 | 33,0009.67 | 68% | 2.26 | NC | 38 |
| CK40HT-42C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 22,6006.62 | 31,6009.26 | 32,8009.61 | 72% | 1.92 | Yes | 37 |
| CK40[C,U]T-36B-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 22,0006.45 | 30,8009.03 | 33,8009.91 | 71% | 2.04 | Yes | 37 |
| CK40HT-36C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 21,6006.33 | 32,4009.50 | 33,6009.85 | 67% | 2.04 | NC | 27 |
| CK40[C,U]T-30A-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 22,6006.62 | 33,2009.73 | 33,0009.67 | 68% | 2.26 | NC | 15 |
| CK40[C,U]T-36A-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 21,8006.39 | 30,8009.03 | 33,6009.85 | 71% | 2.04 | Yes | 15 |
| CK40HT-30A-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 24,0007.03 | 31,7009.29 | 32,6009.55 | 76% | 1.96 | Yes | 14 |
| CK40DT-30/36C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,4005.69 | 34,40010.08 | 34,0009.96 | 56% | 2.32 | NC | 13 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Model number as listed
- EL21KLV-036-230A** 299 pairings
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- EL21KLV-036-230A changed its certified SEER2 on AHRI certificate 217121567 from 16.0 to 18.0 in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026.
- EL21KLV-036-230A changed its certified COP at 5°F on 2 pairings in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026. The new figure is higher on all 2.
- EL21KLV-036-230A changed its certified cooling capacity at 95°F on 3 pairings in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026. The new figure is higher on all 3.
- EL21KLV-036-230A changed its certified heat output at 5°F on AHRI certificate 217443269 from 22,400 Btu/h to 22,600 Btu/h in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026.
- EL21KLV-036-230A changed its certified heat output at 47°F on AHRI certificate 217595417 from 34,000 Btu/h to 33,400 Btu/h in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026.
- EL21KLV-036-230A changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 5 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and September 2026. The new figure is higher on 1 and lower on 4.
- EL21KLV-036-230A changed its certified heat output at 17°F on AHRI certificate 217443222 from 27,200 Btu/h to 27,400 Btu/h in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026.
- EL21KLV-036-230A changed its certified SEER2 on 5 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025. The new figure is lower on all 5.
- EL21KLV-036-230A changed its certified HSPF2 on 8 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025. The new figure is lower on all 8.
- EL21KLV-036-230A changed its certified EER2 on 2 pairings from 11.2 to 11.0 in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025.
- EL21KLV-036-230A changed its certified COP at 5°F on 4 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025. The new figure is lower on all 4.
- EL21KLV-036-230A changed its certified cooling capacity at 95°F on 3 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025. The new figure is lower on all 3.
- EL21KLV-036-230A changed its certified heat output at 5°F on 7 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025. The new figure is higher on all 7.
- EL21KLV-036-230A changed its certified heat output at 47°F on at least 215 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025. The new figure is higher on 65 and lower on 150.
- EL21KLV-036-230A changed its certified heat output at 17°F on 3 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025. The new figure is higher on all 3.
- EL21KLV-036-230A first appeared in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Jul 3, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read