EL21KLV-048-230A
EL21KLV-048-230A is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 29,000–39,500 Btu/h8.50–11.58 kW, 60–79% of its 47°F rating (tests at different compressor speeds), depending on the pairing.
Lennox · central heat pump
EL21KLV-048-230A is in the certified data as of Oct 24, 2026. EL21KLV-048-230A changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 11 pairings in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026. The new figure is lower on all 11.
- 48,000 Btu (4-ton)
- Central
- Variable speed
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
43,50012.75NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
36,40010.67NR at 17°F
33,2009.73NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.04NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 43,500 Btu/h12.75 kW of heat at 47°F, 36,400 Btu/h10.67 kW at 17°F, and 33,200 Btu/h9.73 kW at 5°F, 76% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 46,000 Btu/h13.48 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 3,300 Btu/h0.97 kW short of the example heating load of 36,500 Btu/h10.70 kW; at 95°F it is 28,000 Btu/h8.21 kW above the example cooling load of 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at normal speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 4-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,500 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 36,500 Btu/h10.70 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 217443384 · listed by Lennox · certified Oct 27, 2025 · 4 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Ffull speed | 33,2009.73 kW | −9% | 2.04 | |
| 17°Ffull speed | 36,40010.67 kW | +4% | NR | |
| 47°Fnormal speed | 43,50012.75 kW | −9% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 46,00013.48 kW | — | NR |
EER2 12.0 in that test. SEER2 20.0 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 4.77kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 3.83kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.49
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 48,000 Btu heat pumps
4-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 33,200 Btu/h9.73 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 33,200 Btu/h9.73 kW
- Median of 4-ton central models at 5°F
- 36,400 Btu/h10.67 kW
- Models in this group
- 408
This unit is above 33% of them, at number 274 of 408 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 25,350 to 46,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- E4HL5060A1000AAmeristar and RunTru · 33,400 Btu/h
- THH60HAI2NAF2U23TCL · 33,400 Btu/h
- A7CP21V48P-**AAC Pro, AirEase + 1 more · 33,200 Btu/h
- H48TDH18XACTCL · 33,000 Btu/h
- HOC48Hessaire · 33,000 Btu/h
- THH48TEI2NAI0H24TCL · 33,000 Btu/h
Every 48,000 Btu (4-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for EL21KLV-048-230A
188 pairings · 188 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F normal speed | 43,500 Btu/h12.75 kWNR | 42,500–52,000 Btu/h12.46–15.24 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 36,400 Btu/h10.67 kWNR | 34,200–44,500 Btu/h10.02–13.04 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 33,200 Btu/h9.73 kWNR | 29,000–39,500 Btu/h8.50–11.58 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 76%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.04NR | 1.88–2.20 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 8.5NR | 7.8–9.6 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 46,000 Btu/h13.48 kWNR | 43,500–48,000 Btu/h12.75–14.07 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 12.0NR | 11.0–13.4 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 20.0NR | 15.7–20.5 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Variable speed | |
| Indoor unit | CK40HT-51/61C-**+TDR | 20 indoor units |
| Furnace | SL280UH090V60C* | 63 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | Yes | On some pairings |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | Yes | On some pairings |
| Where it is sold | United States | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | EL21KLV-048-230A** | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
20 indoor units · 188 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 2 indoor units
-
CK40HT-48C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 33,800 Btu/h9.91 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40HT-48B-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 33,400 Btu/h9.79 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · normal speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CK40HT-48C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 33,8009.91 | 44,00012.90 | 46,00013.48 | 77% | 1.96 | Yes | 28 |
| CK40HT-48B-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 33,4009.79 | 48,00014.07 | 46,50013.63 | 69% | 1.96 | NC | 5 |
Air handler · 8 indoor units
-
CK40[C,U]T-50/60C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 29,400 Btu/h8.62 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40[C,U]T-60C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 34,200 Btu/h10.02 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40HT-51/61C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 33,200 Btu/h9.73 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40HT-60D-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 31,400 Btu/h9.20 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40[C,U]T-60D-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 34,000 Btu/h9.96 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40DT-48C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 32,400 Btu/h9.50 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CBK45UHET-048-230-** (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 31,200 Btu/h9.14 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CBK45UHET-060-230-** (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 34,800 Btu/h10.20 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · normal speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CK40[C,U]T-50/60C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 29,4008.62 | 48,00014.07 | 46,50013.63 | 61% | 2.14 | NC | 38 |
| CK40[C,U]T-60C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 34,20010.02 | 47,00013.77 | 47,00013.77 | 73% | 2.12 | Yes | 38 |
| CK40HT-51/61C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 33,2009.73 | 43,50012.75 | 46,00013.48 | 76% | 2.04 | Yes | 27 |
| CK40HT-60D-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 31,4009.20 | 45,50013.33 | 47,00013.77 | 69% | 1.94 | Yes | 15 |
| CK40[C,U]T-60D-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 34,0009.96 | 47,50013.92 | 47,50013.92 | 72% | 1.98 | Yes | 13 |
| CK40DT-48C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 32,4009.50 | 50,50014.80 | 46,50013.63 | 64% | 2.04 | NC | 12 |
| CBK45UHET-048-230-** (the pairing on screen) | — | 31,2009.14 | 45,00013.19 | 46,50013.63 | 69% | 2.10 | NC | 1 |
| CBK45UHET-060-230-** (the pairing on screen) | — | 34,80010.20 | 44,00012.90 | 47,00013.77 | 79% | 2.20 | Yes | 1 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Model number as listed
- EL21KLV-048-230A** 188 pairings
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- EL21KLV-048-230A changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 11 pairings in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026. The new figure is lower on all 11.
- EL21KLV-048-230A changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 92 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and September 2026. The new figure is higher on 24 and lower on 68.
- EL21KLV-048-230A changed its certified SEER2 on 8 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025. The new figure is higher on 1 and lower on 7.
- EL21KLV-048-230A changed its certified HSPF2 on 5 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025. The new figure is higher on 1 and lower on 4.
- EL21KLV-048-230A changed its certified EER2 on 7 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025. The new figure is lower on all 7.
- EL21KLV-048-230A changed its certified COP at 5°F on 8 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025. The new figure is lower on all 8.
- EL21KLV-048-230A changed its certified cooling capacity at 95°F on 6 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025. The new figure is lower on all 6.
- EL21KLV-048-230A changed its certified heat output at 5°F on 7 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025. The new figure is higher on all 7.
- EL21KLV-048-230A changed its certified heat output at 47°F on at least 54 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025. The new figure is higher on 35 and lower on 19.
- EL21KLV-048-230A changed its certified heat output at 17°F on 7 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025. The new figure is higher on all 7.
- EL21KLV-048-230A first appeared in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Oct 27, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read