HSA1442S1-**A
HSA1442S1-**A is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 19,300–20,600 Btu/h5.66–6.04 kW, 49–52% of its 47°F rating, depending on the pairing.
Century and Comfort-Aire · central heat pump
HSA1442S1-**A is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026.
- 42,000 Btu (3.5-ton)
- Central
- Single stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
39,50011.58NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
25,4007.44NR at 17°F
20,0005.86NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.06NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 39,500 Btu/h11.58 kW of heat at 47°F, 25,400 Btu/h7.44 kW at 17°F, and 20,000 Btu/h5.86 kW at 5°F, 51% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 42,000 Btu/h12.31 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW short of the example heating load of 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW; at 95°F it is 25,000 Btu/h7.33 kW above the example cooling load of 17,000 Btu/h4.98 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at one speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 3.5-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,400 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 17,000 Btu/h4.98 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 216372630 · listed by Century · certified Oct 27, 2025 · 4 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 20,0005.86 kW | −39% | 2.06 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 25,4007.44 kW | −18% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 39,50011.58 kW | −10% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 42,00012.31 kW | — | NR |
EER2 12.6 in that test. SEER2 15.2 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 2.85kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 3.33kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.29
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 42,000 Btu heat pumps
3.5-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 20,000 Btu/h5.86 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 20,000 Btu/h5.86 kW
- Median of 3.5-ton central models at 5°F
- 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW
- Models in this group
- 222
This unit is above 24% of them, at number 168 of 222 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 20,000 to 40,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- MOVA-42HN10-M152LMidea · 20,200 Btu/h
- 5DCZ5042A1American Standard and Trane · 20,000 Btu/h
- GLZS5BA4210AGoodman · 20,000 Btu/h
- NS17H42SA4-**AGE · 20,000 Btu/h
- 4HP17L42P-**AAC Pro, Allied + 4 more · 19,900 Btu/h
- 4SHP17LE142P-**AAirEase and Armstrong Air · 19,900 Btu/h
Every 42,000 Btu (3.5-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for HSA1442S1-**A
44 pairings · 44 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F one speed | 39,500 Btu/h11.58 kWNR | 39,000–40,000 Btu/h11.43–11.72 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 25,400 Btu/h7.44 kWNR | 24,600–25,400 Btu/h7.21–7.44 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 20,000 Btu/h5.86 kWNR | 19,300–20,600 Btu/h5.66–6.04 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 51%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.06NR | 2.00–2.12 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 7.8NR | 7.8–8.0 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 42,000 Btu/h12.31 kWNR | 41,000–42,000 Btu/h12.02–12.31 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 12.6NR | 12.6–13.2 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 15.2NR | 15.2–15.5 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Single stage | |
| Indoor unit | 7E[C,U]49CX-**+TDR | 5 indoor units |
| Furnace | GUH96C090C4MP* | 12 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | HSA1442S1-**A | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
5 indoor units · 44 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 3 indoor units
-
7E[C,U]49CX-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,600 Btu/h5.74 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
7E[C,U]48CX-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 20,500 Btu/h6.01 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
7EH42BX-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,400 Btu/h5.69 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · one speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7E[C,U]49CX-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,6005.74 | 39,00011.43 | 42,00012.31 | 50% | 2.06 | NC | 22 |
| 7E[C,U]48CX-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 20,5006.01 | 39,50011.58 | 41,25012.09 | 52% | 2.10 | NC | 16 |
| 7EH42BX-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,4005.69 | 39,00011.43 | 42,00012.31 | 50% | 2.04 | NC | 2 |
Air handler · 2 indoor units
-
HMA42VX1*-** (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 20,600 Btu/h6.04 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
HMA48VX1*-** (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,600 Btu/h5.74 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · one speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HMA42VX1*-** (the pairing on screen) | — | 20,6006.04 | 39,50011.58 | 41,50012.16 | 52% | 2.00 | NC | 2 |
| HMA48VX1*-** (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,6005.74 | 39,50011.58 | 41,00012.02 | 50% | 2.08 | NC | 2 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Other brands that list these model numbers
Model number as listed
- HSA1442S1-**A 44 pairings
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- HSA1442S1-**A first appeared in the certified data between September 2024 and November 2024.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Oct 27, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read