KUSXA181A
KUSXA181A is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 17,000–24,000 Btu/h4.98–7.03 kW, 85–120% of its 47°F rating (tests at different compressor speeds), depending on the pairing.
LG · central heat pump
KUSXA181A is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. KUSXA181A changed its certified SEER2 on AHRI certificate 217284907 from 17.5 to 18.0 in the certified data between June 2025 and September 2026.
- 18,000 Btu (1.5-ton)
- Central
- Variable speed
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
20,0005.86NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
13,0003.81NR at 17°F
19,0005.57NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.00NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 20,000 Btu/h5.86 kW of heat at 47°F, 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW at 17°F, and 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kW at 5°F, 95% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 8,000 Btu/h2.34 kW above the example heating load of 11,000 Btu/h3.22 kW; at 95°F it is 12,500 Btu/h3.66 kW above the example cooling load of 5,500 Btu/h1.61 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at normal speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 1.5-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 450 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 11,000 Btu/h3.22 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 5,500 Btu/h1.61 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 217284946 · listed by LG · certified Apr 22, 2026 · 2 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Ffull speed | 19,0005.57 kW | +70% | 2.00 | |
| 17°Ffull speed | 13,0003.81 kW | +3% | NR | |
| 47°Fnormal speed | 20,0005.86 kW | +11% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 18,0005.28 kW | — | NR |
EER2 11.5 in that test. SEER2 17.0 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 2.78kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 1.57kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.78
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 18,000 Btu heat pumps
1.5-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kW
- Median of 1.5-ton central models at 5°F
- 11,200 Btu/h3.28 kW
- Models in this group
- 243
This unit is above 95% of them, at number 11 of 243 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 8,600 to 18,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- MOD30-20HFN1-MWAlsetria, Eco Air + 1 more · 20,000 Btu/h
- 5HPL5024A1American Standard and Trane · 19,000 Btu/h
- HHS-18HD-BMulti MFG · 19,000 Btu/h
- ACIQ-18-HPD1HVAC and ACiQ · 18,600 Btu/h
- AHU3G-18HFN-BAproDr · 18,600 Btu/h
- CH-PQ18-230VOCooper&Hunter · 18,600 Btu/h
Every 18,000 Btu (1.5-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for KUSXA181A
10 pairings · 10 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F normal speed | 20,000 Btu/h5.86 kWNR | 20,000 Btu/h5.86 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kWNR | 12,900–13,600 Btu/h3.78–3.99 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kWNR | 17,000–24,000 Btu/h4.98–7.03 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 95%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.00NR | 1.80–2.00 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 9.5NR | 8.1–10.0 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kWNR | 17,000–18,000 Btu/h4.98–5.28 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 11.5NR | 11.5–13.5 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 17.0NR | 15.2–20.5 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-32 | |
| Compressor | Variable speed | |
| Indoor unit | LKMMA18B1 | 7 indoor units |
| Furnace | LNA**060B1 | 2 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | Yes | On every pairing |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | Yes | On some pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | KUSXA181A | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
7 indoor units · 10 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Air handler · 3 indoor units
-
LKMMA18B1 (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
KNSLA181A (the pairing on screen) LG 24,000 Btu/h7.03 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
LKMMA18A1 (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · normal speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LKMMA18B1 (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,0005.57 | 20,0005.86 | 18,0005.28 | 95% | 2.00 | Yes | 3 |
| KNSLA181A (the pairing on screen) | LG | 24,0007.03 | 20,0005.86 | 18,0005.28 | 120% | 1.90 | Yes | 2 |
| LKMMA18A1 (the pairing on screen) | — | 18,0005.28 | 20,0005.86 | 17,0004.98 | 90% | 1.80 | Yes | 1 |
Ductless indoor · 4 indoor units
-
KNSFB181A (the pairing on screen) LG 17,000 Btu/h4.98 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
KNUDB181A (the pairing on screen) LG 20,000 Btu/h5.86 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
KNUFB181A (the pairing on screen) LG 17,000 Btu/h4.98 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
KNUJB181A (the pairing on screen) LG 20,000 Btu/h5.86 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · normal speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KNSFB181A (the pairing on screen) | LG | 17,0004.98 | 20,0005.86 | 18,0005.28 | 85% | 1.80 | Yes | 1 |
| KNUDB181A (the pairing on screen) | LG | 20,0005.86 | 20,0005.86 | 18,0005.28 | 100% | 1.80 | Yes | 1 |
| KNUFB181A (the pairing on screen) | LG | 17,0004.98 | 20,0005.86 | 18,0005.28 | 85% | 1.80 | Yes | 1 |
| KNUJB181A (the pairing on screen) | LG | 20,0005.86 | 20,0005.86 | 18,0005.28 | 100% | 1.94 | Yes | 1 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- KUSXA181A changed its certified SEER2 on AHRI certificate 217284907 from 17.5 to 18.0 in the certified data between June 2025 and September 2026.
- KUSXA181A changed its certified HSPF2 on AHRI certificate 217284907 from 9.5 to 10.0 in the certified data between June 2025 and September 2026.
- KUSXA181A changed its certified COP at 5°F on AHRI certificate 217284907 from 2.00 to 1.90 in the certified data between June 2025 and September 2026.
- KUSXA181A changed its certified heat output at 5°F on AHRI certificate 217284907 from 25,000 Btu/h to 24,000 Btu/h in the certified data between June 2025 and September 2026.
- KUSXA181A changed its certified SEER2 on AHRI certificate 215588567 from 17.5 to 18.0 in the certified data between May 2025 and June 2025.
- KUSXA181A changed its certified HSPF2 on AHRI certificate 215588567 from 9.5 to 10.0 in the certified data between May 2025 and June 2025.
- KUSXA181A changed its certified COP at 5°F on AHRI certificate 215588567 from 2.00 to 1.90 in the certified data between May 2025 and June 2025.
- KUSXA181A changed its certified heat output at 5°F on AHRI certificate 215588567 from 25,000 Btu/h to 24,000 Btu/h in the certified data between May 2025 and June 2025.
- KUSXA181A changed its certified HSPF2 on 2 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is higher on 1 and lower on 1.
- KUSXA181A was in the certified data by September 2024.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Apr 22, 2026
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read