ML16KP2-036-230A
ML16KP2-036-230A is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 15,700–19,100 Btu/h4.60–5.60 kW, 45–53% of its 47°F rating (tests at different compressor speeds), depending on the pairing.
Lennox · central heat pump
ML16KP2-036-230A is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026.
- 36,000 Btu (3-ton)
- Central
- Two-stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
34,80010.20NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
22,4006.56NR at 17°F
18,0005.28NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.04NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 34,800 Btu/h10.20 kW of heat at 47°F, 22,400 Btu/h6.56 kW at 17°F, and 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kW at 5°F, 52% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 35,600 Btu/h10.43 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 8,500 Btu/h2.49 kW short of the example heating load of 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW; at 95°F it is 22,600 Btu/h6.62 kW above the example cooling load of 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at high stage; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 3-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,100 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 218457605 · listed by Lennox · certified Jun 9, 2026 · 2 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 18,0005.28 kW | −32% | 2.04 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 22,4006.56 kW | −15% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 34,80010.20 kW | −1% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 35,60010.43 kW | — | NR |
EER2 12.5 in that test. SEER2 16.0 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 2.59kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 2.85kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.40
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 36,000 Btu heat pumps
3-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kW
- Median of 3-ton central models at 5°F
- 26,400 Btu/h7.74 kW
- Models in this group
- 451
This unit is above 21% of them, at number 355 of 451 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 18,650 to 32,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- MLP15AY36AJ2NMainline · 18,500 Btu/h
- 4SHP22LX136P-**AAirEase and Armstrong Air · 18,300 Btu/h
- NS22H36MA4-**AGE · 18,200 Btu/h
- RHP15036B21Evcon and Guardian · 18,000 Btu/h
- YZT36B21York · 18,000 Btu/h
- RP15AZ36AJ2NRheem and Ruud · 17,800 Btu/h
Every 36,000 Btu (3-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for ML16KP2-036-230A
87 pairings · 87 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F high stage | 34,800 Btu/h10.20 kWNR | 34,000–36,000 Btu/h9.96–10.55 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 22,400 Btu/h6.56 kWNR | 20,600–23,800 Btu/h6.04–6.98 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kWNR | 15,700–19,100 Btu/h4.60–5.60 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 52%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.04NR | 1.84–2.10 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 8.2NR | 7.8–8.5 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 35,600 Btu/h10.43 kWNR | 34,600–36,000 Btu/h10.14–10.55 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 12.5NR | 11.7–13.0 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 16.0NR | 15.2–17.5 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Two-stage | |
| Indoor unit | CK40HT-36C-**+TDR | 15 indoor units |
| Furnace | ML180UH110E60C* | 74 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On some pairings |
| Where it is sold | United States | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | ML16KP2-036-230A** | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
15 indoor units · 87 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 2 indoor units
-
CK40HT-36C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 18,100 Btu/h5.30 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40DT-42B-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,300 Btu/h5.07 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · high stage | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CK40HT-36C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 18,1005.30 | 35,00010.26 | 35,40010.37 | 52% | 2.02 | NC | 46 |
| CK40DT-42B-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,3005.07 | 36,00010.55 | 36,00010.55 | 48% | 1.88 | NC | 12 |
Air handler · 8 indoor units
-
CK40DT-50/60C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 18,600 Btu/h5.45 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CBK43UHET-036-DV-** (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,900 Btu/h5.25 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CBK45UHET-036-230-** (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,800 Btu/h5.22 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CBK45UHET-042-230-** (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 18,100 Btu/h5.30 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CBK45UHPT-042-230-** (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CBK45UHVT-036-230-** (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,600 Btu/h5.16 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CBK45UHVT-042-230-** (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,700 Btu/h5.19 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CBK47UHET-030-230-** (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 16,800 Btu/h4.92 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · high stage | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CK40DT-50/60C-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 18,6005.45 | 36,00010.55 | 36,00010.55 | 52% | 2.06 | NC | 17 |
| CBK43UHET-036-DV-** (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,9005.25 | 36,00010.55 | 36,00010.55 | 50% | 2.02 | NC | 1 |
| CBK45UHET-036-230-** (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,8005.22 | 34,0009.96 | 36,00010.55 | 52% | 2.06 | NC | 1 |
| CBK45UHET-042-230-** (the pairing on screen) | — | 18,1005.30 | 34,80010.20 | 36,00010.55 | 52% | 2.06 | NC | 1 |
| CBK45UHPT-042-230-** (the pairing on screen) | — | 18,0005.28 | 34,80010.20 | 36,00010.55 | 52% | 2.06 | NC | 1 |
| CBK45UHVT-036-230-** (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,6005.16 | 34,20010.02 | 36,00010.55 | 51% | 2.02 | NC | 1 |
| CBK45UHVT-042-230-** (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,7005.19 | 34,20010.02 | 36,00010.55 | 52% | 2.06 | NC | 1 |
| CBK47UHET-030-230-** (the pairing on screen) | — | 16,8004.92 | 35,20010.32 | 36,00010.55 | 48% | 1.96 | NC | 1 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Model number as listed
- ML16KP2-036-230A** 87 pairings
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Jun 9, 2026
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read