NS16H36SA5-**A
NS16H36SA5-**A is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 15,700–16,900 Btu/h4.60–4.95 kW, 46–48% of its 47°F rating, depending on the pairing.
GE · central heat pump
NS16H36SA5-**A is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026.
- 36,000 Btu (3-ton)
- Central
- Single stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
34,60010.14NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
20,2005.92NR at 17°F
16,6004.86NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
1.98NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 34,600 Btu/h10.14 kW of heat at 47°F, 20,200 Btu/h5.92 kW at 17°F, and 16,600 Btu/h4.86 kW at 5°F, 48% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 36,000 Btu/h10.55 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 9,900 Btu/h2.90 kW short of the example heating load of 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW; at 95°F it is 23,000 Btu/h6.74 kW above the example cooling load of 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at one speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 3-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,100 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 216497613 · listed by GE · certified Jul 3, 2025 · 2 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 16,6004.86 kW | −37% | 1.98 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 20,2005.92 kW | −23% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 34,60010.14 kW | −2% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 36,00010.55 kW | — | NR |
EER2 13.2 in that test. SEER2 15.5 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 2.46kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 2.73kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.29
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 36,000 Btu heat pumps
3-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 16,600 Btu/h4.86 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 16,600 Btu/h4.86 kW
- Median of 3-ton central models at 5°F
- 26,400 Btu/h7.74 kW
- Models in this group
- 451
This unit is above 6% of them, at number 426 of 451 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 18,650 to 32,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- BH714S36P-**AAC Pro, Blueridge + 1 more · 16,600 Btu/h
- EL16KP1-036-230ALennox · 16,600 Btu/h
- HSA1436S1-**ACentury and Comfort-Aire · 16,600 Btu/h
- 25SCA536A**30*Carrier · 16,500 Btu/h
- C4H5S36*K*AAA*Comfortmaker, Day & Night + 1 more · 15,800 Btu/h
- LRP15HPK36VPLennox · 15,200 Btu/h
Every 36,000 Btu (3-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for NS16H36SA5-**A
28 pairings · 28 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F one speed | 34,600 Btu/h10.14 kWNR | 34,200–35,000 Btu/h10.02–10.26 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 20,200 Btu/h5.92 kWNR | 20,000–20,600 Btu/h5.86–6.04 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 16,600 Btu/h4.86 kWNR | 15,700–16,900 Btu/h4.60–4.95 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 48%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 1.98NR | 1.90–2.06 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 7.8NR | 7.8 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 36,000 Btu/h10.55 kWNR | 36,000 Btu/h10.55 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 13.2NR | 12.8–13.4 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 15.5NR | 15.2–16.0 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Single stage | |
| Indoor unit | NCHC42CT5*-**+TDR | 6 indoor units |
| Furnace | NF80U110S5C* | 18 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | United States | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | NS16H36SA5-**A | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
6 indoor units · 28 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 3 indoor units
-
NCHC42CT5*-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 16,650 Btu/h4.88 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
NCU[C,U]48CT5*-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 16,700 Btu/h4.89 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
NCHC42BT5*-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 16,600 Btu/h4.86 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · one speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCHC42CT5*-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 16,6504.88 | 34,60010.14 | 36,00010.55 | 48% | 1.98 | NC | 10 |
| NCU[C,U]48CT5*-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 16,7004.89 | 34,80010.20 | 36,00010.55 | 48% | 1.98 | NC | 9 |
| NCHC42BT5*-**+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 16,6004.86 | 34,80010.20 | 36,00010.55 | 48% | 1.97 | NC | 6 |
Air handler · 3 indoor units
-
NAM36E1TA5*-** (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 15,900 Btu/h4.66 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
NAM36V1TA5*-** (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 15,700 Btu/h4.60 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
NAM42V2TA5*-** (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 16,300 Btu/h4.78 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · one speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NAM36E1TA5*-** (the pairing on screen) | — | 15,9004.66 | 34,40010.08 | 36,00010.55 | 46% | 1.90 | NC | 1 |
| NAM36V1TA5*-** (the pairing on screen) | — | 15,7004.60 | 34,20010.02 | 36,00010.55 | 46% | 1.90 | NC | 1 |
| NAM42V2TA5*-** (the pairing on screen) | — | 16,3004.78 | 34,20010.02 | 36,00010.55 | 48% | 2.06 | NC | 1 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- NS16H36SA5-**A first appeared in the certified data between November 2024 and February 2025.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Jul 3, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read