RD17AZ24AJ3N
RD17AZ24AJ3N is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 11,900–17,100 Btu/h3.49–5.01 kW, 50–71% of its 47°F rating (tests at different compressor speeds), depending on the pairing.
Friedrich, Rheem + 3 more · central heat pump
RD17AZ24AJ3N is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. RD17AZ24AJ3N changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 60 pairings in the certified data between September 2024 and September 2026. The new figure is higher on all 60.
- 24,000 Btu (2-ton)
- Central
- Variable speed
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
24,0007.03NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
19,0005.57NR at 17°F
16,9004.95NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.00NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 24,000 Btu/h7.03 kW of heat at 47°F, 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kW at 17°F, and 16,900 Btu/h4.95 kW at 5°F, 70% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 22,600 Btu/h6.62 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 2,100 Btu/h0.62 kW short of the example heating load of 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kW; at 95°F it is 13,100 Btu/h3.84 kW above the example cooling load of 9,500 Btu/h2.78 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at normal speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 2-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 800 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 9,500 Btu/h2.78 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 214075412 · listed by Sure · certified Jun 23, 2026 · 45 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Ffull speed | 16,9004.95 kW | −11% | 2.00 | |
| 17°Ffull speed | 19,0005.57 kW | −1% | NR | |
| 47°Fnormal speed | 24,0007.03 kW | 0% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 22,6006.62 kW | — | NR |
EER2 11.2 in that test. SEER2 17.0 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 2.48kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 2.02kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.78
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 24,000 Btu heat pumps
2-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 16,900 Btu/h4.95 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 16,900 Btu/h4.95 kW
- Median of 2-ton central models at 5°F
- 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kW
- Models in this group
- 565
This unit is above 29% of them, at number 399 of 565 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 16,000 to 21,600 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- SPHP-XB-I036BCAC Pro · 17,000 Btu/h
- THH24TDI2NAF2H26TCL · 17,000 Btu/h
- AUWR-24U3SF2Hisense · 16,900 Btu/h
- YH1824GHFD18R2Pioneer · 16,900 Btu/h
- MOVA-36HDN1-M16GMidea · 16,800 Btu/h
- MOVC-24HDN10-M16GMidea · 16,800 Btu/h
Every 24,000 Btu (2-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for RD17AZ24AJ3N
92 pairings · 88 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F normal speed | 24,000 Btu/h7.03 kWNR | 24,000 Btu/h7.03 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kWNR | 15,100–19,100 Btu/h4.43–5.60 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 16,900 Btu/h4.95 kWNR | 11,900–17,100 Btu/h3.49–5.01 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 70%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.00NR | 2.00–2.20 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 9.5NR | 9.5 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 22,600 Btu/h6.62 kWNR | 22,400–22,800 Btu/h6.56–6.68 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 11.2NR | 10.0–11.7 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 17.0NR | 17.0–18.0 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-410A | |
| Compressor | Variable speed | |
| Indoor unit | TCFZ2417MTANM | 8 indoor units |
| Furnace | S962V0703A17M4S | 53 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | Yes | On every pairing |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | Yes | On some pairings |
| Where it is sold | United States | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | RD17AZ24AJ3N | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
8 indoor units · 92 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 2 indoor units
-
TCFZ2417MTANM (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 16,900 Btu/h4.95 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
RCFZ2417MTANM (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 16,900 Btu/h4.95 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · normal speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCFZ2417MTANM (the pairing on screen) | — | 16,9004.95 | 24,0007.03 | 22,6006.62 | 70% | 2.00 | Yes | 48 |
| RCFZ2417MTANM (the pairing on screen) | — | 16,9004.95 | 24,0007.03 | 22,6006.62 | 70% | 2.00 | Yes | 35 |
Air handler · 6 indoor units
-
RH2TZ3617STANN (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 12,200 Btu/h3.58 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
RH2VZ3617STANN (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 11,900 Btu/h3.49 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
SH2VZ3617STANN (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 11,900 Btu/h3.49 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FRH2TZ3617STANN (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 12,200 Btu/h3.58 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FRH2VZ3617STANN (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 11,900 Btu/h3.49 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FRH3VZ3617STACN (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 16,700 Btu/h4.89 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · normal speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RH2TZ3617STANN (the pairing on screen) | — | 12,2003.58 | 24,0007.03 | 22,8006.68 | 51% | 2.20 | Yes | 2 |
| RH2VZ3617STANN (the pairing on screen) | — | 11,9003.49 | 24,0007.03 | 22,8006.68 | 50% | 2.20 | Yes | 2 |
| SH2VZ3617STANN (the pairing on screen) | — | 11,9003.49 | 24,0007.03 | 22,8006.68 | 50% | 2.20 | Yes | 2 |
| FRH2TZ3617STANN (the pairing on screen) | — | 12,2003.58 | 24,0007.03 | 22,8006.68 | 51% | 2.20 | Yes | 1 |
| FRH2VZ3617STANN (the pairing on screen) | — | 11,9003.49 | 24,0007.03 | 22,8006.68 | 50% | 2.20 | Yes | 1 |
| FRH3VZ3617STACN (the pairing on screen) | — | 16,7004.89 | 24,0007.03 | 22,6006.62 | 70% | 2.10 | Yes | 1 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Other brands that list these model numbers
- Are Friedrich and Rheem heat pumps the same?43 shared model numbers
- Are Friedrich and Ruud heat pumps the same?43 shared model numbers
- Are Friedrich and Russell heat pumps the same?25 shared model numbers
- Are Friedrich and Sure heat pumps the same?25 shared model numbers
- Are Rheem and Ruud heat pumps the same?85 shared model numbers
- Are Rheem and Russell heat pumps the same?25 shared model numbers
- Are Rheem and Sure heat pumps the same?25 shared model numbers
Model number as listed
- RD17AZ24AJ3N 92 pairings
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- RD17AZ24AJ3N changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 60 pairings in the certified data between September 2024 and September 2026. The new figure is higher on all 60.
- RD17AZ24AJ3N changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 15 pairings in the certified data between November 2024 and September 2026. The new figure is higher on all 15.
- RD17AZ24AJ3N changed its certified SEER2 on 4 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is lower on all 4.
- RD17AZ24AJ3N changed its certified HSPF2 on 4 pairings from 8.1 to 9.5 in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- RD17AZ24AJ3N changed its certified EER2 on 4 pairings from 10.0 to 11.2 in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- RD17AZ24AJ3N changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 13 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is higher on all 13.
- RD17AZ24AJ3N was in the certified data by September 2024.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Jun 23, 2026
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read