SP15AZ36AJ2N
SP15AZ36AJ2N is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 17,500–19,400 Btu/h5.13–5.69 kW, 51–57% of its 47°F rating (tests at different compressor speeds), depending on the pairing.
Russell and Sure · central heat pump
SP15AZ36AJ2N is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026.
- 36,000 Btu (3-ton)
- Central
- Two-stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
31,6009.26NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
22,8006.68NR at 17°F
17,8005.22NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.10NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 31,600 Btu/h9.26 kW of heat at 47°F, 22,800 Btu/h6.68 kW at 17°F, and 17,800 Btu/h5.22 kW at 5°F, 56% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 34,200 Btu/h10.02 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 8,700 Btu/h2.55 kW short of the example heating load of 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW; at 95°F it is 21,200 Btu/h6.21 kW above the example cooling load of 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at high stage; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 3-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,100 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 212381151 · listed by RUSSELL · certified Jun 3, 2026 · 2 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Ffull speed | 17,8005.22 kW | −33% | 2.10 | |
| 17°Ffull speed | 22,8006.68 kW | −13% | NR | |
| 47°Fhigh stage | 31,6009.26 kW | −10% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 34,20010.02 kW | — | NR |
EER2 11.7 in that test. SEER2 15.2 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 2.48kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 2.92kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.29
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 36,000 Btu heat pumps
3-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 17,800 Btu/h5.22 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 17,800 Btu/h5.22 kW
- Median of 3-ton central models at 5°F
- 26,400 Btu/h7.74 kW
- Models in this group
- 451
This unit is above 20% of them, at number 361 of 451 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 18,650 to 32,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- YZT36B21York · 18,000 Btu/h
- RP15AZ36AJ2NRheem and Ruud · 17,800 Btu/h
- SH4BF5M2SX36KNordyne and Nortek · 17,800 Btu/h
- WP15AZ36AJ2NFujitsu, Rheem + 2 more · 17,800 Btu/h
- WLP15AY36AJ2NWhirlpool · 17,700 Btu/h
- YH2F36TB21York · 17,700 Btu/h
Every 36,000 Btu (3-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for SP15AZ36AJ2N
6 pairings · 6 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F high stage | 31,600 Btu/h9.26 kWNR | 31,600–34,200 Btu/h9.26–10.02 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 22,800 Btu/h6.68 kWNR | 22,800–24,400 Btu/h6.68–7.15 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 17,800 Btu/h5.22 kWNR | 17,500–19,400 Btu/h5.13–5.69 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 56%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.10NR | 2.00–2.30 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 7.8NR | 7.8–8.1 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 34,200 Btu/h10.02 kWNR | 34,200 Btu/h10.02 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 11.7NR | 11.7 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 15.2NR | 15.2 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-410A | |
| Compressor | Two-stage | |
| Indoor unit | RF2TZ3624STANS | 3 indoor units |
| Furnace | No furnace | None |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | On some pairings |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | SP15AZ36AJ2N | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
3 indoor units · 6 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Air handler · 3 indoor units
-
RF2TZ3624STANS (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,800 Btu/h5.22 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
SH2CZ3617STANN (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 18,450 Btu/h5.41 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
SH2VZ3617STANN (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,400 Btu/h5.69 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · high stage | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RF2TZ3624STANS (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,8005.22 | 31,6009.26 | 34,20010.02 | 56% | 2.10 | NC | 2 |
| SH2CZ3617STANN (the pairing on screen) | — | 18,4505.41 | 34,20010.02 | 34,20010.02 | 54% | 2.15 | NC | 2 |
| SH2VZ3617STANN (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,4005.69 | 34,20010.02 | 34,20010.02 | 57% | 2.30 | Yes | 2 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Other brands that list these model numbers
Model number as listed
- SP15AZ36AJ2N 6 pairings
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Jun 3, 2026
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read