TU36W-EDU
TU36W-EDU is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 24,000–34,000 Btu/h7.03–9.96 kW, 96–100% of its 47°F rating (tests at different compressor speeds), depending on the pairing.
Tosot · central heat pump
TU36W-EDU is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. TU36W-EDU changed its certified SEER2 on AHRI certificate 217120782 from 18.0 to 18.2 in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026.
- 36,000 Btu (3-ton)
- Central
- Variable speed
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
34,0009.96NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
28,2008.26NR at 17°F
34,0009.96NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.00NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 34,000 Btu/h9.96 kW of heat at 47°F, 28,200 Btu/h8.26 kW at 17°F, and 34,000 Btu/h9.96 kW at 5°F, 100% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 34,000 Btu/h9.96 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 7,500 Btu/h2.20 kW above the example heating load of 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW; at 95°F it is 21,000 Btu/h6.15 kW above the example cooling load of 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at normal speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 3-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,100 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 215390437 · listed by TOSOT · certified Sep 16, 2026 · 1 pairing carries these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Ffull speed | 34,0009.96 kW | +29% | 2.00 | |
| 17°Ffull speed | 28,2008.26 kW | +8% | NR | |
| 47°Fnormal speed | 34,0009.96 kW | −3% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 34,0009.96 kW | — | NR |
EER2 11.2 in that test. SEER2 18.0 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 4.98kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 3.04kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.93
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 36,000 Btu heat pumps
3-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 34,000 Btu/h9.96 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 34,000 Btu/h9.96 kW
- Median of 3-ton central models at 5°F
- 26,400 Btu/h7.74 kW
- Models in this group
- 451
This unit is above 82% of them, at number 80 of 451 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 18,650 to 32,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- HP-UA36/OTosot · 34,000 Btu/h
- MDV-V36WMN10TMidea · 34,000 Btu/h
- MSHMB36R2ANMoovAir · 34,000 Btu/h
- YD560E2D11York · 33,600 Btu/h
- THH42HAI2NAF2U23TCL · 33,400 Btu/h
- CENTRAL-36-HP-C-230B00-OMRCOOL · 33,000 Btu/h
Every 36,000 Btu (3-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for TU36W-EDU
3 pairings · 3 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F normal speed | 34,000 Btu/h9.96 kWNR | 25,000–34,000 Btu/h7.33–9.96 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 28,200 Btu/h8.26 kWNR | 20,600–32,600 Btu/h6.04–9.55 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 34,000 Btu/h9.96 kWNR | 24,000–34,000 Btu/h7.03–9.96 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 100%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.00NR | 2.00 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 10.0NR | 10.0 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 34,000 Btu/h9.96 kWNR | 24,000–34,000 Btu/h7.03–9.96 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 11.2NR | 11.2–12.0 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 18.0NR | 18.0–18.2 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-32 | |
| Compressor | Variable speed | |
| Indoor unit | TUD36AH2-EDU | 3 indoor units |
| Furnace | No furnace | None |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | Yes | On every pairing |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | Yes | On every pairing |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | TU36W-EDU | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
3 indoor units · 3 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Air handler · 3 indoor units
-
TUD24AH2-GDU (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,000 Btu/h7.03 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
TUD36AH2-EDU (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 34,000 Btu/h9.96 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
TUD36AH2-GDU (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 34,000 Btu/h9.96 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · normal speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TUD24AH2-GDU (the pairing on screen) | — | 24,0007.03 | 25,0007.33 | 24,0007.03 | 96% | 2.00 | Yes | 1 |
| TUD36AH2-EDU (the pairing on screen) | — | 34,0009.96 | 34,0009.96 | 34,0009.96 | 100% | 2.00 | Yes | 1 |
| TUD36AH2-GDU (the pairing on screen) | — | 34,0009.96 | 34,0009.96 | 34,0009.96 | 100% | 2.00 | Yes | 1 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Variants of the same model number
6 units in this group. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
5 of 6 shown.
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- TU36W-EDU changed its certified SEER2 on AHRI certificate 217120782 from 18.0 to 18.2 in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026.
- TU36W-EDU changed its certified EER2 on 3 pairings in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026. The new figure is lower on all 3.
- TU36W-EDU changed its certified heat output at 17°F on AHRI certificate 217120782 from 28,200 Btu/h to 32,600 Btu/h in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026.
- TU36W-EDU changed its certified SEER2 on AHRI certificate 215390437 from 16.5 to 18.0 in the certified data between November 2024 and February 2025.
- TU36W-EDU changed its certified HSPF2 on AHRI certificate 215390437 from 9.5 to 10.0 in the certified data between November 2024 and February 2025.
- TU36W-EDU changed its certified EER2 on AHRI certificate 215390437 from 11.7 to 12.0 in the certified data between November 2024 and February 2025.
- TU36W-EDU changed its certified COP at 5°F on AHRI certificate 215390437 from 1.80 to 2.00 in the certified data between November 2024 and February 2025.
- TU36W-EDU changed its certified heat output at 5°F on AHRI certificate 215390437 from 32,000 Btu/h to 34,000 Btu/h in the certified data between November 2024 and February 2025.
- TU36W-EDU changed its certified heat output at 17°F on AHRI certificate 215390437 from 27,000 Btu/h to 28,200 Btu/h in the certified data between November 2024 and February 2025.
- TU36W-EDU was in the certified data by September 2024.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Sep 16, 2026
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read