W5H8T24*K*AAA*
W5H8T24*K*AAA* is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 10,700–11,400 Btu/h3.14–3.34 kW, 44–46% of its 47°F rating, depending on the pairing.
EcoTemp and Grandaire · central heat pump
W5H8T24*K*AAA* is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. W5H8T24*K*AAA* changed its certified HSPF2 on 4 pairings from 8.0 to 8.1 in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025.
- 24,000 Btu (2-ton)
- Central
- Two-stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
24,6007.21NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
14,5004.25NR at 17°F
11,0003.22NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.04NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 24,600 Btu/h7.21 kW of heat at 47°F, 14,500 Btu/h4.25 kW at 17°F, and 11,000 Btu/h3.22 kW at 5°F, 45% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 22,600 Btu/h6.62 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 8,000 Btu/h2.34 kW short of the example heating load of 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kW; at 95°F it is 13,100 Btu/h3.84 kW above the example cooling load of 9,500 Btu/h2.78 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at high stage; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 2-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 800 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 9,500 Btu/h2.78 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 215643826 · listed by Grandaire · certified Jan 30, 2025 · 6 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 11,0003.22 kW | −42% | 2.04 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 14,5004.25 kW | −24% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 24,6007.21 kW | +3% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 22,6006.62 kW | — | NR |
EER2 12.5 in that test. SEER2 16.5 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 1.58kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 1.81kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.37
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 24,000 Btu heat pumps
2-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 11,000 Btu/h3.22 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 11,000 Btu/h3.22 kW
- Median of 2-ton central models at 5°F
- 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kW
- Models in this group
- 565
This unit is above 5% of them, at number 535 of 565 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 16,000 to 21,600 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- HSA1424S1-**ACentury and Comfort-Aire · 11,000 Btu/h
- SH4BF5M2SX24KNordyne and Nortek · 11,000 Btu/h
- THF2B24T21Champion, Coleman + 3 more · 11,000 Btu/h
- YZT24B21York · 11,000 Btu/h
- 5DCZ5024A1American Standard and Trane · 10,900 Btu/h
- WLP15AY24AJ2NWhirlpool · 10,900 Btu/h
Every 24,000 Btu (2-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for W5H8T24*K*AAA*
248 pairings · 248 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F high stage | 24,600 Btu/h7.21 kWNR | 24,000–25,000 Btu/h7.03–7.33 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 14,500 Btu/h4.25 kWNR | 14,100–14,900 Btu/h4.13–4.37 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 11,000 Btu/h3.22 kWNR | 10,700–11,400 Btu/h3.14–3.34 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 45%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.04NR | 1.90–2.16 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 8.1NR | 7.8–8.1 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 22,600 Btu/h6.62 kWNR | 22,200–25,000 Btu/h6.51–7.33 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 12.5NR | 11.5–14.0 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 16.5NR | 15.2–18.5 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Two-stage | |
| Indoor unit | W5A*24M17XA* | 21 indoor units |
| Furnace | WFET045A036A* | 20 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | W5H8T24*K*AAA* | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
21 indoor units · 248 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 10 indoor units
-
W5SH30M12XA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 11,100 Btu/h3.25 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
W5A*24M17XA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 11,000 Btu/h3.22 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
W5A*25M17XA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 11,100 Btu/h3.25 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
W5A*36M17XA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 10,900 Btu/h3.19 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
W5SH36M12XA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 11,000 Btu/h3.22 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
W5A*30M17XA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 11,000 Btu/h3.22 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
W5A*37M17XA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 11,100 Btu/h3.25 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
W5SH24M12XA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 11,100 Btu/h3.25 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
W5A*24M14XA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 11,050 Btu/h3.24 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
W5A*30M14XA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 10,900 Btu/h3.19 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · high stage | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| W5SH30M12XA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 11,1003.25 | 24,6007.21 | 22,8006.68 | 45% | 2.08 | NC | 38 |
| W5A*24M17XA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 11,0003.22 | 24,6007.21 | 22,6006.62 | 45% | 2.04 | NC | 26 |
| W5A*25M17XA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 11,1003.25 | 24,8007.27 | 23,4006.86 | 45% | 2.08 | NC | 26 |
| W5A*36M17XA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 10,9003.19 | 24,6007.21 | 22,8006.68 | 45% | 2.06 | NC | 26 |
| W5SH36M12XA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 11,0003.22 | 24,6007.21 | 23,2006.80 | 45% | 2.08 | NC | 26 |
| W5A*30M17XA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 11,0003.22 | 24,6007.21 | 22,8006.68 | 45% | 2.06 | NC | 24 |
| W5A*37M17XA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 11,1003.25 | 24,8007.27 | 23,4006.86 | 45% | 2.08 | NC | 24 |
| W5SH24M12XA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 11,1003.25 | 24,6007.21 | 22,8006.68 | 45% | 2.00 | NC | 18 |
| W5A*24M14XA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 11,0503.24 | 24,6007.21 | 22,3006.54 | 45% | 2.04 | NC | 8 |
| W5A*30M14XA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 10,9003.19 | 24,4007.15 | 22,8006.68 | 45% | 2.06 | NC | 6 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Other brands that list these model numbers
Model number as listed
- W5H8T24*K*AAA* 248 pairings
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- W5H8T24*K*AAA* changed its certified HSPF2 on 4 pairings from 8.0 to 8.1 in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025.
- W5H8T24*K*AAA* changed its certified COP at 5°F on 4 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025. The new figure is higher on all 4.
- W5H8T24*K*AAA* changed its certified SEER2 on 6 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is higher on 4 and lower on 2.
- W5H8T24*K*AAA* changed its certified HSPF2 on 18 pairings from 7.8 to 8.0 in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- W5H8T24*K*AAA* changed its certified COP at 5°F on 20 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is higher on 16 and lower on 4.
- W5H8T24*K*AAA* first appeared in the certified data between February 2025 and March 2025.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Jan 30, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read