XP21-036-230
XP21-036-230 is in the certified data.
Its certified ratings are 8.0 HSPF2 and 16.0–16.4 SEER2, depending on the pairing.
Lennox · central heat pump
XP21-036-230 is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026.
- 36,000 Btu (3-ton)
- Central
- Two-stage
- United States
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
34,0009.96NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
23,2006.80NR at 17°F
——NRNR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
—NRNR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 34,000 Btu/h9.96 kW of heat at 47°F and 23,200 Btu/h6.80 kW at 17°F. It delivers 34,800 Btu/h10.20 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 95°F that is 21,800 Btu/h6.39 kW above the example cooling load of 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at high stage; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 3-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,100 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 202891593 · listed by Lennox · certified Mar 28, 2023 · 1 pairing carries these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Ffull speed | NR— kW | NR | NR | |
| 17°Ffull speed | 23,2006.80 kW | −11% | NR | |
| 47°Fhigh stage | 34,0009.96 kW | −3% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 34,80010.20 kW | — | NR |
EER2 12.5 in that test. SEER2 16.4 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- NRkW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 2.78kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.34
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 36,000 Btu heat pumps
3-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- — Btu/h— kWNRNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- NR
- Median of 3-ton central models at 5°F
- 26,400 Btu/h7.74 kW
- Models in this group
- 451
Every 36,000 Btu (3-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for XP21-036-230
2 pairings · 2 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F high stage | 34,000 Btu/h9.96 kWNR | 34,000–34,200 Btu/h9.96–10.02 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 23,200 Btu/h6.80 kWNR | 23,200–23,400 Btu/h6.80–6.86 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | — Btu/h— kWNRNR | NR |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | —%NRNR | NR |
| COP at 5°F full speed | —NRNR | — |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 8.0NR | 8.0 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 34,800 Btu/h10.20 kWNR | 34,800–35,000 Btu/h10.20–10.26 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 12.5NR | 12.2–12.5 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 16.4NR | 16.0–16.4 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-410A | |
| Compressor | Two-stage | |
| Indoor unit | CHX35-48B-**-*+TDR | 2 indoor units |
| Furnace | EL280UH090E36B* | 2 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | United States | United States |
| Model string as certified | XP21-036-230-** | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
2 indoor units · 2 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 2 indoor units
-
CH35-48B+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated NRat 5°F, full speed
-
CHX35-48B-**-*+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated NRat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · high stage | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CH35-48B+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | NR | 34,20010.02 | 35,00010.26 | NR | — | NC | 1 |
| CHX35-48B-**-*+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | NR | 34,0009.96 | 34,80010.20 | NR | — | NC | 1 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Mar 28, 2023
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read