25VNA448A*031*
25VNA448A*031* is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 36,200–36,400 Btu/h10.61–10.67 kW, 78% of its 47°F rating (tests at different compressor speeds), depending on the pairing.
Carrier · central heat pump
25VNA448A*031* is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. 25VNA448A*031* changed its certified SEER2 on 2 pairings from 21.0 to 20.5 in the certified data between September 2024 and August 2025.
- 42,000 Btu (3.5-ton)
- Central
- Variable speed
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
46,50013.63NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
43,50012.75NR at 17°F
36,40010.67NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.26NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 46,500 Btu/h13.63 kW of heat at 47°F, 43,500 Btu/h12.75 kW at 17°F, and 36,400 Btu/h10.67 kW at 5°F, 78% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 43,500 Btu/h12.75 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 3,400 Btu/h1.00 kW above the example heating load of 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW; at 95°F it is 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW above the example cooling load of 17,000 Btu/h4.98 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at normal speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 3.5-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,400 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 17,000 Btu/h4.98 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 213770265 · listed by Carrier · certified Jul 25, 2025 · 3 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Ffull speed | 36,40010.67 kW | +10% | 2.26 | |
| 17°Ffull speed | 43,50012.75 kW | +40% | NR | |
| 47°Fnormal speed | 46,50013.63 kW | +6% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 43,50012.75 kW | — | NR |
EER2 11.5 in that test. SEER2 20.5 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 4.72kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 3.78kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.64
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 42,000 Btu heat pumps
3.5-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 36,400 Btu/h10.67 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 36,400 Btu/h10.67 kW
- Median of 3.5-ton central models at 5°F
- 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW
- Models in this group
- 222
This unit is above 58% of them, at number 94 of 222 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 20,000 to 40,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- 27VNA348A*030*Carrier · 36,600 Btu/h
- 293VAN048**AA*Bryant · 36,600 Btu/h
- B5H3V48*K*AAA*ACiQ, Airquest + 7 more · 36,600 Btu/h
- LDT048H4E*1PAllied Commercial and Lennox · 36,400 Btu/h
- NAZ17V6022A1Navien · 35,400 Btu/h
- YZV48B21York · 35,200 Btu/h
Every 42,000 Btu (3.5-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for 25VNA448A*031*
6 pairings · 6 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F normal speed | 46,500 Btu/h13.63 kWNR | 46,500 Btu/h13.63 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 43,500 Btu/h12.75 kWNR | 43,500 Btu/h12.75 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 36,400 Btu/h10.67 kWNR | 36,200–36,400 Btu/h10.61–10.67 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 78%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.26NR | 2.26 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 9.0NR | 9.0 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 43,500 Btu/h12.75 kWNR | 43,500–44,000 Btu/h12.75–12.90 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 11.5NR | 11.5 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 20.5NR | 20.5–21.0 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-410A | |
| Compressor | Variable speed | |
| Indoor unit | CAP**4821AL*+UI | 2 indoor units |
| Furnace | 59MN7C100C21**22 | 4 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | Yes | On every pairing |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | Yes | On every pairing |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | 25VNA448A*031* | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
2 indoor units · 6 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 2 indoor units
-
CAP**4824AL*+UI (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 36,300 Btu/h10.64 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAP**4821AL*+UI (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 36,400 Btu/h10.67 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · normal speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CAP**4824AL*+UI (the pairing on screen) | — | 36,30010.64 | 46,50013.63 | 43,75012.82 | 78% | 2.26 | Yes | 4 |
| CAP**4821AL*+UI (the pairing on screen) | — | 36,40010.67 | 46,50013.63 | 43,50012.75 | 78% | 2.26 | Yes | 2 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Variants of the same model number
2 units in this group. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
1 of 2 shown.
Other model numbers with identical certified values
2 units share this record. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
1 of 2 shown.
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- 25VNA448A*031* changed its certified SEER2 on 2 pairings from 21.0 to 20.5 in the certified data between September 2024 and August 2025.
- 25VNA448A*031* changed its certified HSPF2 on 5 pairings from 9.5 to 9.0 in the certified data between September 2024 and August 2025.
- 25VNA448A*031* changed its certified EER2 on 6 pairings from 11.7 to 11.5 in the certified data between September 2024 and August 2025.
- 25VNA448A*031* changed its certified COP at 5°F on 6 pairings from 2.28 to 2.26 in the certified data between September 2024 and August 2025.
- 25VNA448A*031* changed its certified heat output at 5°F on 2 pairings from 36,400 Btu/h to 36,200 Btu/h in the certified data between September 2024 and August 2025.
- 25VNA448A*031* changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 8 pairings in the certified data between February 2025 and March 2025. The new figure is higher on all 8.
- 25VNA448A*031* changed its certified SEER2 on 12 pairings in the certified data between September 2024 and November 2024. The new figure is lower on all 12.
- 25VNA448A*031* changed its certified HSPF2 on 26 pairings in the certified data between September 2024 and November 2024. The new figure is lower on all 26.
- 25VNA448A*031* changed its certified EER2 on 10 pairings in the certified data between September 2024 and November 2024. The new figure is lower on all 10.
- 25VNA448A*031* changed its certified COP at 5°F on 41 pairings in the certified data between September 2024 and November 2024. The new figure is lower on all 41.
- 25VNA448A*031* changed its certified heat output at 5°F on 7 pairings in the certified data between September 2024 and November 2024. The new figure is lower on all 7.
- 25VNA448A*031* changed its certified heat output at 17°F on 6 pairings from 43,500 Btu/h to 43,000 Btu/h in the certified data between September 2024 and November 2024.
- 25VNA448A*031* was in the certified data by September 2024.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Jul 25, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read