27VNA036A*030*
27VNA036A*030* is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 24,400–26,000 Btu/h7.15–7.62 kW, 71–73% of its 47°F rating (tests at different compressor speeds), depending on the pairing.
Carrier · central heat pump
27VNA036A*030* is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. 27VNA036A*030* changed its certified HSPF2 on 4 pairings from 8.1 to 8.5 in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- 36,000 Btu (3-ton)
- Central
- Variable speed
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
35,60010.43NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
30,6008.97NR at 17°F
25,2007.39NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
1.78NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 35,600 Btu/h10.43 kW of heat at 47°F, 30,600 Btu/h8.97 kW at 17°F, and 25,200 Btu/h7.39 kW at 5°F, 71% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 34,000 Btu/h9.96 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 1,300 Btu/h0.38 kW short of the example heating load of 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW; at 95°F it is 21,000 Btu/h6.15 kW above the example cooling load of 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at normal speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 3-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,100 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 215679793 · listed by Carrier · certified Feb 17, 2025 · 12 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Ffull speed | 25,2007.39 kW | −5% | 1.78 | |
| 17°Ffull speed | 30,6008.97 kW | +17% | NR | |
| 47°Fnormal speed | 35,60010.43 kW | +1% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 34,0009.96 kW | — | NR |
EER2 9.5 in that test. SEER2 16.5 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 4.15kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 3.58kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.49
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 36,000 Btu heat pumps
3-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 25,200 Btu/h7.39 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 25,200 Btu/h7.39 kW
- Median of 3-ton central models at 5°F
- 26,400 Btu/h7.74 kW
- Models in this group
- 451
This unit is above 41% of them, at number 267 of 451 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 18,650 to 32,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- 27VPA936A*030*Carrier · 25,600 Btu/h
- MCHA-36HDCTO2MDX · 25,600 Btu/h
- HH836E2S11Champion, Coleman + 5 more · 25,400 Btu/h
- B5H0V36*K*AAA*ACiQ, Airquest + 7 more · 25,200 Btu/h
- UCHA-36HFDCSN4UTL · 25,200 Btu/h
- EA-RW36DCUElectric Air · 25,000 Btu/h
Every 36,000 Btu (3-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for 27VNA036A*030*
300 pairings · 300 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F normal speed | 35,600 Btu/h10.43 kWNR | 34,000–36,200 Btu/h9.96–10.61 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 30,600 Btu/h8.97 kWNR | 29,400–31,400 Btu/h8.62–9.20 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 25,200 Btu/h7.39 kWNR | 24,400–26,000 Btu/h7.15–7.62 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 71%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 1.78NR | 1.75–2.04 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 8.5NR | 8.5–9.5 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 34,000 Btu/h9.96 kWNR | 32,600–35,400 Btu/h9.55–10.37 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 9.5NR | 9.0–11.5 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 16.5NR | 16.0–19.5 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Variable speed | |
| Indoor unit | CSAH*4212AM*+UI | 16 indoor units |
| Furnace | 58CU*B040C17**12 | 32 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | Yes | On every pairing |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On some pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | 27VNA036A*030* | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
16 indoor units · 300 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 10 indoor units
-
CSAH*4212AM*+UI (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,400 Btu/h7.44 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CSAH*4812AM*+UI (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,200 Btu/h7.39 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CSAH*3612AM*+UI (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,400 Btu/h7.44 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CSAH*6012AM*+UI (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,800 Btu/h7.27 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**3721AM*+UI (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,200 Btu/h7.39 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**4821AM*+UI (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,000 Btu/h7.33 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**6121AM*+UI (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,800 Btu/h7.27 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**4321AM*+UI (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,200 Btu/h7.39 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**4221AM*+UI (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,600 Btu/h7.50 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**6024AM*+UI (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,800 Btu/h7.27 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · normal speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CSAH*4212AM*+UI (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,4007.44 | 35,60010.43 | 34,0009.96 | 71% | 1.78 | Yes | 31 |
| CSAH*4812AM*+UI (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,2007.39 | 35,40010.37 | 34,20010.02 | 71% | 1.88 | Yes | 31 |
| CSAH*3612AM*+UI (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,4007.44 | 35,80010.49 | 33,6009.85 | 71% | 1.76 | Yes | 30 |
| CSAH*6012AM*+UI (the pairing on screen) | — | 24,8007.27 | 34,60010.14 | 34,60010.14 | 72% | 1.80 | Yes | 30 |
| CAA**3721AM*+UI (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,2007.39 | 35,40010.37 | 34,40010.08 | 71% | 1.88 | Yes | 27 |
| CAA**4821AM*+UI (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,0007.33 | 35,00010.26 | 33,8009.91 | 71% | 1.88 | Yes | 27 |
| CAA**6121AM*+UI (the pairing on screen) | — | 24,8007.27 | 34,40010.08 | 34,80010.20 | 72% | 1.92 | Yes | 26 |
| CAA**4321AM*+UI (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,2007.39 | 35,40010.37 | 34,40010.08 | 71% | 1.88 | Yes | 25 |
| CAA**4221AM*+UI (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,6007.50 | 35,80010.49 | 33,2009.73 | 72% | 1.86 | Yes | 19 |
| CAA**6024AM*+UI (the pairing on screen) | — | 24,8007.27 | 34,20010.02 | 34,40010.08 | 73% | 1.90 | Yes | 17 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Model number as listed
- 27VNA036A*030* 300 pairings
Variants of the same model number
6 units in this group. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
- (C,H,T)5H0V36*K*AAA*Kenmore
- 290VAN036**AA*Bryant
- C5H0V36*K*AAA*Comfortmaker · Day & Night · Keeprite
- H5H0V36*K*AAA*ACiQ · Airquest · Arcoaire · Heil
- T5H0V36*K*AAA*Tempstar
5 of 6 shown.
Other model numbers with identical certified values
4 units share this record. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
- (C,H,T)5H0V36*K*AAA*identical certified values
- 290VAN036**AA*identical certified values
- T5H0V36*K*AAA*identical certified values
3 of 4 shown.
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- 27VNA036A*030* changed its certified HSPF2 on 4 pairings from 8.1 to 8.5 in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- 27VNA036A*030* changed its certified EER2 on AHRI certificate 215684035 from 9.0 to 9.8 in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- 27VNA036A*030* changed its certified COP at 5°F on 3 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is lower on all 3.
- 27VNA036A*030* first appeared in the certified data between September 2024 and November 2024.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Feb 17, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read