B5H6S31*K*AAA*
B5H6S31*K*AAA* is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 13,100–14,000 Btu/h3.84–4.10 kW, 45–46% of its 47°F rating, depending on the pairing.
Airquest, Arcoaire + 6 more · central heat pump
All 175 certified Airquest models · All 175 certified Arcoaire models · All 173 certified Comfortmaker models · All 177 certified Day & Night models · All 176 certified Heil models · All 175 certified Keeprite models · All 179 certified Kenmore models · All 175 certified Tempstar models
B5H6S31*K*AAA* is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026.
- 30,000 Btu (2.5-ton)
- Central
- Single stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
30,6008.97NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
18,1005.30NR at 17°F
14,0004.10NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.06NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 30,600 Btu/h8.97 kW of heat at 47°F, 18,100 Btu/h5.30 kW at 17°F, and 14,000 Btu/h4.10 kW at 5°F, 46% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 29,200 Btu/h8.56 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 8,500 Btu/h2.49 kW short of the example heating load of 22,500 Btu/h6.59 kW; at 95°F it is 17,700 Btu/h5.19 kW above the example cooling load of 11,500 Btu/h3.37 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at one speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 2.5-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 950 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 22,500 Btu/h6.59 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 11,500 Btu/h3.37 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 218188959 · listed by Heil · certified Apr 9, 2026 · 80 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
Meets the recorded equipment thresholds of 28 programs in 17 states, provinces, or territories:California (2), Colorado (1), Idaho (1), Kansas (1), Maryland (3), Michigan (2), Minnesota (2), Mississippi (1), Nevada (1), New Jersey (4), North Carolina (1), Oregon (2), Pennsylvania (3), South Carolina (1), Texas (3), Utah (1), Newfoundland and Labrador (1).
All 28 programs by state and province
California
Colorado
Idaho
Kansas
Maryland
- BGE Smart Energy Savers Heating and Cooling
- Delmarva Power Maryland HVAC Efficiency Program
- Pepco Maryland HVAC Efficiency Program
Michigan
Minnesota
- Wright-Hennepin Air Source Heat Pump Rebate · Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association
- Xcel Energy Minnesota Air Source Heat Pump Rebates
Mississippi
Nevada
New Jersey
- Atlantic City Electric HVAC Efficiency Program
- JCP&L Residential HVAC Rebates
- PSE&G HVAC Instant Rebates
- SAVEGREEN Hybrid Heat · New Jersey Natural Gas
North Carolina
Oregon
- Energy Trust of Oregon Heat Pump Incentives · Portland General Electric (PGE) · Pacific Power
- Idaho Power Heating and Cooling Efficiency Program
Pennsylvania
South Carolina
Texas
- Austin Energy Air Conditioning and Heat Pump Rebate
- CPS Energy SaveNow HVAC Rebate
- CenterPoint Residential Standard Offer Program · CenterPoint Energy
Utah
Newfoundland and Labrador
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s median certified figures across its pairings, not the pairing selected above. Meeting these thresholds means the equipment may qualify; it does not guarantee approval. Service-area, installation, and product-list requirements also apply.
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 14,0004.10 kW | −38% | 2.06 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 18,1005.30 kW | −12% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 30,6008.97 kW | +2% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 29,2008.56 kW | — | NR |
EER2 12.5 in that test. SEER2 15.5 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 1.99kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 2.34kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.34
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 30,000 Btu heat pumps
2.5-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 14,000 Btu/h4.10 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 14,000 Btu/h4.10 kW
- Median of 2.5-ton central models at 5°F
- 22,400 Btu/h6.56 kW
- Models in this group
- 288
This unit is above 20% of them, at number 229 of 288 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 14,250 to 30,000 Btu/h.
Among 30,000 Btu central models, each by its median certified pairing, highest first: 5°F output as a share of its 47°F rating, 272nd of 288 (tied); HSPF2, 216th of 290 (tied). Models without that figure are left out.
Similar ratings at 47°F
These central models share the nominal cooling size. Comparisons use each model’s median certified figures across pairings.
- ACIQ-30-HPD: 31,000 Btu/h at 47°F (this model: 30,600); 32,000 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 14,000).
- SPHP-Z-V030BB: 31,000 Btu/h at 47°F (this model: 30,600); 31,000 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 14,000).
- CENTRAL-30-HP-C-230B00-O: 31,000 Btu/h at 47°F (this model: 30,600); 30,000 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 14,000).
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- MHP17030A-**AMRCOOL · 14,300 Btu/h
- FRP15AZ30AJ2NFriedrich · 14,100 Btu/h
- 27SCA531A**30*Carrier · 14,000 Btu/h
- GH5SAN531**AA*Bryant and Carrier · 14,000 Btu/h
- WP15AY30AJ2NFujitsu, Rheem + 2 more · 13,900 Btu/h
- GLZS5BA3010AGoodman · 13,600 Btu/h
Every 30,000 Btu (2.5-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Floor area at the cold test point
The median certified output of 14,000 Btu/h at 5°F matches the size calculator’s heating estimate for these floor areas, rounded to about 10 sq ft. Each range divides that output by the climate band’s heating rates.
| Climate band | House condition | Btu/h per sq ft | Approximate sq ft |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mild | Drafty, little insulation | 24–42 | 330–580 |
| Mild | Typical | 16–26 | 540–880 |
| Mild | Tight, well insulated | 10–18 | 780–1,400 |
| Cold | Drafty, little insulation | 28–52 | 270–500 |
| Cold | Typical | 18–30 | 470–780 |
| Cold | Tight, well insulated | 12–22 | 640–1,170 |
| Very cold | Drafty, little insulation | 32–58 | 240–440 |
| Very cold | Typical | 22–38 | 370–640 |
| Very cold | Tight, well insulated | 16–28 | 500–880 |
This is an estimate, not a house-specific load calculation. Output stays at the 5°F test point for every band; it does not predict output at the band’s winter design temperature.
Certified values for B5H6S31*K*AAA*
304 pairings · 304 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F one speed | 30,600 Btu/h8.97 kWNR | 29,200–30,600 Btu/h8.56–8.97 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 18,100 Btu/h5.30 kWNR | 17,300–18,200 Btu/h5.07–5.33 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 14,000 Btu/h4.10 kWNR | 13,100–14,000 Btu/h3.84–4.10 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 46%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.06NR | 2.00–2.06 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 8.0NR | 7.8–8.0 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 29,200 Btu/h8.56 kWNR | 27,400–29,400 Btu/h8.03–8.62 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 12.5NR | 11.7–13.0 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 15.5NR | 15.2–16.0 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Single stage | |
| Indoor unit | EA*5X37M21A*+WALLCON | 16 indoor units |
| Furnace | *80CSU0802120B* | 13 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | B5H6S31*K*AAA* | |
Across 304 certified pairings with 16 indoor models: heat at 5°F 13,100 Btu/h with FCMA5B36L0C*+WALLCON to 14,000 Btu/h with EA*5X37M21A*; HSPF2 7.8 with F5MA5*30L*B* to 8.0 with EA*5X37M21A*; SEER2 15.2 with FMA5L30**AL* to 16.0 with F5MA5*42L*C*. Endpoints name one indoor model where recorded; the furnace pairing can also change the figures.
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
16 indoor units · 304 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 4 indoor units
-
EA*5X37M21A* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 14,000 Btu/h4.10 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
EA*5X43M21A* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 14,000 Btu/h4.10 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
EA*5X37M21A*+WALLCON (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 13,950 Btu/h4.09 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
EA*5X43M21A*+WALLCON (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 13,900 Btu/h4.07 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · one speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EA*5X37M21A* (the pairing on screen) | — | 14,0004.10 | 30,6008.97 | 29,2008.56 | 46% | 2.06 | NC | 88 |
| EA*5X43M21A* (the pairing on screen) | — | 14,0004.10 | 30,6008.97 | 29,2008.56 | 46% | 2.06 | NC | 88 |
| EA*5X37M21A*+WALLCON (the pairing on screen) | — | 13,9504.09 | 30,5008.94 | 29,2008.56 | 46% | 2.06 | NC | 16 |
| EA*5X43M21A*+WALLCON (the pairing on screen) | — | 13,9004.07 | 30,4008.91 | 29,2008.56 | 46% | 2.05 | NC | 16 |
Air handler · 6 indoor units
-
F5MA5*30L*B* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 13,400 Btu/h3.93 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
F5MA5*42L*C* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 13,400 Btu/h3.93 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FCMA5B36L0C*+WALLCON (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 13,100 Btu/h3.84 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FEVA0036**+NAVA53601CK (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 13,400 Btu/h3.93 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FEVB0036**+NAVA53601CK (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 13,400 Btu/h3.93 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FHMA5*30L*B* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 13,400 Btu/h3.93 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · one speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| F5MA5*30L*B* (the pairing on screen) | — | 13,4003.93 | 29,4008.62 | 27,6008.09 | 46% | 2.00 | NC | 8 |
| F5MA5*42L*C* (the pairing on screen) | — | 13,4003.93 | 29,6008.67 | 28,2008.26 | 45% | 2.05 | NC | 8 |
| FCMA5B36L0C*+WALLCON (the pairing on screen) | — | 13,1003.84 | 29,2008.56 | 27,4008.03 | 45% | 2.05 | NC | 8 |
| FEVA0036**+NAVA53601CK (the pairing on screen) | — | 13,4003.93 | 29,6008.67 | 28,0008.21 | 45% | 2.00 | NC | 8 |
| FEVB0036**+NAVA53601CK (the pairing on screen) | — | 13,4003.93 | 29,6008.67 | 28,0008.21 | 45% | 2.00 | NC | 8 |
| FHMA5*30L*B* (the pairing on screen) | — | 13,4003.93 | 29,4008.62 | 27,6008.09 | 46% | 2.00 | NC | 8 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
- Airquest38 pairings
- Arcoaire38 pairings
- Comfortmaker38 pairings
- Day & Night38 pairings
- Heil38 pairings
- Keeprite38 pairings
- Kenmore38 pairings
- Tempstar38 pairings
Other brands that list these model numbers
- Are Airquest and Arcoaire heat pumps the same?174 shared model numbers
- Are Airquest and Heil heat pumps the same?174 shared model numbers
- Are Airquest and Keeprite heat pumps the same?152 shared model numbers
- Are Airquest and Comfortmaker heat pumps the same?151 shared model numbers
- Are Airquest and Day & Night heat pumps the same?151 shared model numbers
- Are Airquest and Tempstar heat pumps the same?151 shared model numbers
- Are Airquest and Kenmore heat pumps the same?135 shared model numbers
Model number as listed
- B5H6S31*K*AAA* 304 pairings
Variants of the same model number
5 units in this group. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
- (C,H,T)5H6S31*K*AAA*Kenmore
- C5H6S31*K*AAA*Comfortmaker · Day & Night · Keeprite
- H5H6S31*K*AAA*Airquest · Arcoaire · Heil
- T5H6S31*K*AAA*Tempstar
4 of 5 shown.
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
History and definitions
Other MAINLINE 16 SEER2 HP models by nominal cooling size: B5H6S18*K*AAA* (18,000 Btu), B5H6S24*K*AAA* (24,000 Btu), B5H6S30*K*AAA* (30,000 Btu), B5H6S36*K*AAA* (36,000 Btu), B5H6S60*K*AAA* (54,000 Btu).
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Apr 9, 2026
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read