GH5SAN531**AA*
GH5SAN531**AA* is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 13,400–14,000 Btu/h3.93–4.10 kW, 45–46% of its 47°F rating, depending on the pairing.
Bryant and Carrier · central heat pump
GH5SAN531**AA* is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026.
- 30,000 Btu (2.5-ton)
- Central
- Single stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
30,6008.97NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
18,1005.30NR at 17°F
14,0004.10NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.06NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 30,600 Btu/h8.97 kW of heat at 47°F, 18,100 Btu/h5.30 kW at 17°F, and 14,000 Btu/h4.10 kW at 5°F, 46% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 29,200 Btu/h8.56 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 8,500 Btu/h2.49 kW short of the example heating load of 22,500 Btu/h6.59 kW; at 95°F it is 17,700 Btu/h5.19 kW above the example cooling load of 11,500 Btu/h3.37 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at one speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 2.5-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 950 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 22,500 Btu/h6.59 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 11,500 Btu/h3.37 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 217680515 · listed by BRYANT HEATING AND COOLING SYSTEMS · certified Feb 11, 2026 · 20 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 14,0004.10 kW | −38% | 2.06 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 18,1005.30 kW | −12% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 30,6008.97 kW | +2% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 29,2008.56 kW | — | NR |
EER2 12.5 in that test. SEER2 15.5 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 1.99kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 2.34kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.34
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 30,000 Btu heat pumps
2.5-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 14,000 Btu/h4.10 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 14,000 Btu/h4.10 kW
- Median of 2.5-ton central models at 5°F
- 22,400 Btu/h6.56 kW
- Models in this group
- 288
This unit is above 20% of them, at number 229 of 288 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 14,250 to 30,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- FRP15AZ30AJ2NFriedrich · 14,100 Btu/h
- 27SCA531A**30*Carrier · 14,000 Btu/h
- B5H6S31*K*AAA*Airquest, Arcoaire + 6 more · 14,000 Btu/h
- WP15AY30AJ2NFujitsu, Rheem + 2 more · 13,900 Btu/h
- GLZS5BA3010AGoodman · 13,600 Btu/h
- GSZH503010AGoodman · 13,600 Btu/h
Every 30,000 Btu (2.5-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for GH5SAN531**AA*
80 pairings · 80 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F one speed | 30,600 Btu/h8.97 kWNR | 29,400–30,600 Btu/h8.62–8.97 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 18,100 Btu/h5.30 kWNR | 17,500–18,200 Btu/h5.13–5.33 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 14,000 Btu/h4.10 kWNR | 13,400–14,000 Btu/h3.93–4.10 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 46%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.06NR | 2.00–2.06 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 8.0NR | 7.8–8.0 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 29,200 Btu/h8.56 kWNR | 27,400–29,400 Btu/h8.03–8.62 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 12.5NR | 11.7–13.0 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 15.5NR | 15.2–16.0 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Single stage | |
| Indoor unit | CAA**3721AM* | 17 indoor units |
| Furnace | 83*CB60080C21*** | 26 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | GH5SAN531**AA* | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
17 indoor units · 80 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 2 indoor units
-
CAA**3721AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 14,000 Btu/h4.10 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**4321AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 14,000 Btu/h4.10 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · one speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CAA**3721AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 14,0004.10 | 30,6008.97 | 29,2008.56 | 46% | 2.06 | NC | 26 |
| CAA**4321AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 14,0004.10 | 30,6008.97 | 29,2008.56 | 46% | 2.06 | NC | 26 |
Air handler · 8 indoor units
-
F55AA*B30L* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 13,400 Btu/h3.93 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
F55AA*C42L* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 13,400 Btu/h3.93 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FEVA0036**+NAVA53601CK (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 13,400 Btu/h3.93 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FEVB0036**+NAVA53601CK (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 13,400 Btu/h3.93 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FJ5AN*B30L* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 13,400 Btu/h3.93 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FJ5AN*C42L* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 13,400 Btu/h3.93 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FM(C,U)5S30**AL* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 13,500 Btu/h3.96 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FM(C,U)5S36**AL* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 13,500 Btu/h3.96 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · one speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| F55AA*B30L* (the pairing on screen) | — | 13,4003.93 | 29,4008.62 | 27,6008.09 | 46% | 2.00 | NC | 2 |
| F55AA*C42L* (the pairing on screen) | — | 13,4003.93 | 29,6008.67 | 28,2008.26 | 45% | 2.05 | NC | 2 |
| FEVA0036**+NAVA53601CK (the pairing on screen) | — | 13,4003.93 | 29,6008.67 | 28,0008.21 | 45% | 2.00 | NC | 2 |
| FEVB0036**+NAVA53601CK (the pairing on screen) | — | 13,4003.93 | 29,6008.67 | 28,0008.21 | 45% | 2.00 | NC | 2 |
| FJ5AN*B30L* (the pairing on screen) | — | 13,4003.93 | 29,4008.62 | 27,6008.09 | 46% | 2.00 | NC | 2 |
| FJ5AN*C42L* (the pairing on screen) | — | 13,4003.93 | 29,6008.67 | 28,2008.26 | 45% | 2.05 | NC | 2 |
| FM(C,U)5S30**AL* (the pairing on screen) | — | 13,5003.96 | 29,6008.67 | 27,4008.03 | 46% | 2.00 | NC | 2 |
| FM(C,U)5S36**AL* (the pairing on screen) | — | 13,5003.96 | 29,6008.67 | 27,4008.03 | 46% | 2.00 | NC | 2 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Other brands that list these model numbers
Model number as listed
- GH5SAN531**AA* 80 pairings
Variants of the same model number
5 units in this group. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
- 246SAN031**AA*Bryant
- 27SPA631A**30*Carrier
- PH5SAN531**AA*Brock · Bryant · Payne · WeatherMaker
- R5H5S31*K*AAA*ACiQ · Airquest · Arcoaire · Comfortmaker · Day & Night · Heil · Keeprite · Kenmore · Maratherm · Smart Comfort · Tempstar
4 of 5 shown.
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Feb 11, 2026
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read