CH-PQ48-230VO
CH-PQ48-230VO is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 41,000–48,000 Btu/h12.02–14.07 kW, 87–100% of its 47°F rating (tests at different compressor speeds), depending on the pairing.
Cooper&Hunter · central heat pump
CH-PQ48-230VO is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. CH-PQ48-230VO changed its certified heat output at 17°F on AHRI certificate 215864124 from 34,000 Btu/h to 39,500 Btu/h in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026.
- 48,000 Btu (4-ton)
- Central
- Variable speed
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
48,00014.07NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
34,40010.08NR at 17°F
42,00012.31NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
1.85NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 48,000 Btu/h14.07 kW of heat at 47°F, 34,400 Btu/h10.08 kW at 17°F, and 42,000 Btu/h12.31 kW at 5°F, 88% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 45,000 Btu/h13.19 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 5,500 Btu/h1.61 kW above the example heating load of 36,500 Btu/h10.70 kW; at 95°F it is 27,000 Btu/h7.91 kW above the example cooling load of 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at normal speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 4-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,500 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 36,500 Btu/h10.70 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 217732887 · listed by Cooper&Hunter · certified Sep 10, 2025 · 1 pairing carries these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Ffull speed | 42,00012.31 kW | +15% | 1.85 | |
| 17°Ffull speed | 34,40010.08 kW | −2% | NR | |
| 47°Fnormal speed | 48,00014.07 kW | 0% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 45,00013.19 kW | — | NR |
EER2 10.0 in that test. SEER2 15.2 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 6.65kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 4.50kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.58
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 48,000 Btu heat pumps
4-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 42,000 Btu/h12.31 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 42,000 Btu/h12.31 kW
- Median of 4-ton central models at 5°F
- 36,400 Btu/h10.67 kW
- Models in this group
- 408
This unit is above 68% of them, at number 129 of 408 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 25,350 to 46,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- 5HCL5060B1American Standard and Trane · 43,000 Btu/h
- KUSXA482ALG · 43,000 Btu/h
- AC048BXUPCHSamsung · 42,000 Btu/h
- CU-HM48BAHUPanasonic · 42,000 Btu/h
- FOP1948MJAYCAFujitsu · 42,000 Btu/h
- MLP19AY48AJVCMainline · 42,000 Btu/h
Every 48,000 Btu (4-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for CH-PQ48-230VO
3 pairings · 3 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F normal speed | 48,000 Btu/h14.07 kWNR | 47,000–48,000 Btu/h13.77–14.07 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 34,400 Btu/h10.08 kWNR | 31,000–39,500 Btu/h9.09–11.58 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 42,000 Btu/h12.31 kWNR | 41,000–48,000 Btu/h12.02–14.07 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 88%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 1.85NR | 1.80–2.00 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 8.8NR | 8.5–9.5 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 45,000 Btu/h13.19 kWNR | 45,000–48,000 Btu/h13.19–14.07 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 10.0NR | 10.0–12.0 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 15.2NR | 15.2–17.5 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Variable speed | |
| Indoor unit | CH-MCL48-60C | 2 indoor units |
| Furnace | No furnace | 1 furnace |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | Yes | On every pairing |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On some pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | CH-PQ48-230VO | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
2 indoor units · 3 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Air handler · 2 indoor units
-
CH-MCL48-60C (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 41,500 Btu/h12.16 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CH-PQ48AHU (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 48,000 Btu/h14.07 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · normal speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CH-MCL48-60C (the pairing on screen) | — | 41,50012.16 | 47,50013.92 | 45,50013.33 | 87% | 1.83 | Yes | 2 |
| CH-PQ48AHU (the pairing on screen) | — | 48,00014.07 | 48,00014.07 | 48,00014.07 | 100% | 2.00 | Yes | 1 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Model number as listed
- CH-PQ48-230VO 3 pairings
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- CH-PQ48-230VO changed its certified heat output at 17°F on AHRI certificate 215864124 from 34,000 Btu/h to 39,500 Btu/h in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026.
- CH-PQ48-230VO first appeared in the certified data between September 2024 and November 2024.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Sep 10, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read