RD18AY60AJVC
RD18AY60AJVC is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 37,600–39,500 Btu/h11.02–11.58 kW, 63–75% of its 47°F rating (tests at different compressor speeds), depending on the pairing.
Friedrich, Rheem + 3 more · central heat pump
RD18AY60AJVC is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. RD18AY60AJVC changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 7 pairings from 60,000 Btu/h to 50,500 Btu/h in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026.
- 48,000 Btu (4-ton)
- Central
- Variable speed
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
60,00017.58NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
42,00012.31NR at 17°F
38,50011.28NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.00NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 60,000 Btu/h17.58 kW of heat at 47°F, 42,000 Btu/h12.31 kW at 17°F, and 38,500 Btu/h11.28 kW at 5°F, 64% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 50,500 Btu/h14.80 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 2,000 Btu/h0.59 kW above the example heating load of 36,500 Btu/h10.70 kW; at 95°F it is 32,500 Btu/h9.52 kW above the example cooling load of 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at normal speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 4-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,500 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 36,500 Btu/h10.70 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 216820245 · listed by Ruud · certified May 15, 2025 · 30 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Ffull speed | 38,50011.28 kW | +6% | 2.00 | |
| 17°Ffull speed | 42,00012.31 kW | +20% | NR | |
| 47°Fnormal speed | 60,00017.58 kW | +25% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 50,50014.80 kW | — | NR |
EER2 10.0 in that test. SEER2 17.0 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 5.64kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 5.05kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.93
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 48,000 Btu heat pumps
4-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 38,500 Btu/h11.28 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 38,500 Btu/h11.28 kW
- Median of 4-ton central models at 5°F
- 36,400 Btu/h10.67 kW
- Models in this group
- 408
This unit is above 61% of them, at number 161 of 408 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 25,350 to 46,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- FLEXX60HP230V1AOGree · 39,000 Btu/h
- MDUO18048060MRCOOL · 39,000 Btu/h
- MOX630-48HFN8-M3FMDV · 38,500 Btu/h
- 37MURAQ48AA3Bryant, Carrier + 3 more · 38,000 Btu/h
- 5HPL5048A1000AAAmerican Standard and Trane · 38,000 Btu/h
- AHU19-48HN1-CApooDr and AproDr · 38,000 Btu/h
Every 48,000 Btu (4-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for RD18AY60AJVC
314 pairings · 314 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F normal speed | 60,000 Btu/h17.58 kWNR | 50,500–60,000 Btu/h14.80–17.58 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 42,000 Btu/h12.31 kWNR | 40,000–42,500 Btu/h11.72–12.46 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 38,500 Btu/h11.28 kWNR | 37,600–39,500 Btu/h11.02–11.58 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 64%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.00NR | 2.00–2.10 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 10.0NR | 8.1–10.0 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 50,500 Btu/h14.80 kWNR | 48,500–52,000 Btu/h14.21–15.24 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 10.0NR | 10.0–11.7 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 17.0NR | 16.0–18.0 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Variable speed | |
| Indoor unit | RCFY6024STANM | 16 indoor units |
| Furnace | R951V1005A21M4 | 108 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | Yes | On some pairings |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On some pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | RD18AY60AJVC | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
16 indoor units · 314 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 4 indoor units
-
RCFY6024STANM (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 38,000 Btu/h11.14 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
RCFY6021STAAM (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 39,000 Btu/h11.43 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
TCFY6024STANM (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 38,000 Btu/h11.14 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
TCFY6021STAAM (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 39,000 Btu/h11.43 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · normal speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RCFY6024STANM (the pairing on screen) | — | 38,00011.14 | 60,00017.58 | 51,00014.95 | 63% | 2.00 | Yes | 102 |
| RCFY6021STAAM (the pairing on screen) | — | 39,00011.43 | 60,00017.58 | 48,50014.21 | 65% | 2.00 | Yes | 70 |
| TCFY6024STANM (the pairing on screen) | — | 38,00011.14 | 60,00017.58 | 51,00014.95 | 63% | 2.00 | Yes | 70 |
| TCFY6021STAAM (the pairing on screen) | — | 39,00011.43 | 60,00017.58 | 48,50014.21 | 65% | 2.00 | Yes | 48 |
Air handler · 6 indoor units
-
RH2VY6024STACN (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 38,000 Btu/h11.14 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
RHMVY6024SEACN (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 37,600 Btu/h11.02 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
RH2TY6024STANN (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 38,000 Btu/h11.14 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
RH2VY6021STACA (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 39,000 Btu/h11.43 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
SH2CY6024STANN (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 38,000 Btu/h11.14 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
SH2VY6021STACA (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 39,000 Btu/h11.43 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · normal speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RH2VY6024STACN (the pairing on screen) | — | 38,00011.14 | 50,50014.80 | 52,00015.24 | 75% | 2.00 | Yes | 5 |
| RHMVY6024SEACN (the pairing on screen) | — | 37,60011.02 | 60,00017.58 | 52,00015.24 | 63% | 2.00 | Yes | 3 |
| RH2TY6024STANN (the pairing on screen) | — | 38,00011.14 | 60,00017.58 | 52,00015.24 | 63% | 2.00 | Yes | 2 |
| RH2VY6021STACA (the pairing on screen) | — | 39,00011.43 | 60,00017.58 | 49,50014.51 | 65% | 2.10 | Yes | 2 |
| SH2CY6024STANN (the pairing on screen) | — | 38,00011.14 | 60,00017.58 | 52,00015.24 | 63% | 2.00 | Yes | 2 |
| SH2VY6021STACA (the pairing on screen) | — | 39,00011.43 | 60,00017.58 | 49,50014.51 | 65% | 2.10 | Yes | 2 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Other brands that list these model numbers
- Are Friedrich and Rheem heat pumps the same?43 shared model numbers
- Are Friedrich and Ruud heat pumps the same?43 shared model numbers
- Are Friedrich and Russell heat pumps the same?25 shared model numbers
- Are Friedrich and Sure heat pumps the same?25 shared model numbers
- Are Rheem and Ruud heat pumps the same?85 shared model numbers
- Are Rheem and Russell heat pumps the same?25 shared model numbers
- Are Rheem and Sure heat pumps the same?25 shared model numbers
Model number as listed
- RD18AY60AJVC 314 pairings
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- RD18AY60AJVC changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 7 pairings from 60,000 Btu/h to 50,500 Btu/h in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026.
- RD18AY60AJVC first appeared in the certified data between February 2025 and March 2025.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- May 15, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read