RP15AZ48AJ2N
RP15AZ48AJ2N is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 24,200–27,200 Btu/h7.09–7.97 kW, 54–60% of its 47°F rating, depending on the pairing.
Rheem and Ruud · central heat pump
RP15AZ48AJ2N is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026.
- 48,000 Btu (4-ton)
- Central
- Two-stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
45,00013.19NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
30,2008.85NR at 17°F
24,2007.09NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.20NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 45,000 Btu/h13.19 kW of heat at 47°F, 30,200 Btu/h8.85 kW at 17°F, and 24,200 Btu/h7.09 kW at 5°F, 54% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 45,500 Btu/h13.33 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 12,300 Btu/h3.60 kW short of the example heating load of 36,500 Btu/h10.70 kW; at 95°F it is 27,500 Btu/h8.06 kW above the example cooling load of 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at high stage; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 4-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,500 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 36,500 Btu/h10.70 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 211291750 · listed by Rheem · certified Jun 3, 2026 · 2 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 24,2007.09 kW | −34% | 2.20 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 30,2008.85 kW | −14% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 45,00013.19 kW | −6% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 45,50013.33 kW | — | NR |
EER2 11.7 in that test. SEER2 15.2 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 3.22kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 3.89kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.37
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 48,000 Btu heat pumps
4-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 24,200 Btu/h7.09 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 24,200 Btu/h7.09 kW
- Median of 4-ton central models at 5°F
- 36,400 Btu/h10.67 kW
- Models in this group
- 408
This unit is above 13% of them, at number 355 of 408 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 25,350 to 46,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- NS22H48MA4-**AGE · 24,600 Btu/h
- GH5SAN548**AA*Bryant and Carrier · 24,400 Btu/h
- THF2B48T21Champion, Coleman + 3 more · 24,400 Btu/h
- WP15AZ48AJ2NFujitsu, Rheem + 2 more · 24,200 Btu/h
- BH714S48P-**AAC Pro, Blueridge + 1 more · 24,000 Btu/h
- EL16KP1-048-230ALennox · 24,000 Btu/h
Every 48,000 Btu (4-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for RP15AZ48AJ2N
4 pairings · 4 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F high stage | 45,000 Btu/h13.19 kWNR | 45,000–45,500 Btu/h13.19–13.33 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 30,200 Btu/h8.85 kWNR | 30,200–33,200 Btu/h8.85–9.73 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 24,200 Btu/h7.09 kWNR | 24,200–27,200 Btu/h7.09–7.97 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 54%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.20NR | 2.20–2.50 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 8.1NR | 8.1 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 45,500 Btu/h13.33 kWNR | 45,500 Btu/h13.33 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 11.7NR | 11.7 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 15.2NR | 15.2 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-410A | |
| Compressor | Two-stage | |
| Indoor unit | RH2TZ4821STANN | 2 indoor units |
| Furnace | No furnace | None |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | Yes | On every pairing |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | RP15AZ48AJ2N | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
2 indoor units · 4 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Air handler · 2 indoor units
-
RH2TZ4821STANN (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,200 Btu/h7.09 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
RH2VZ4821STANN (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 27,200 Btu/h7.97 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · high stage | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RH2TZ4821STANN (the pairing on screen) | — | 24,2007.09 | 45,00013.19 | 45,50013.33 | 54% | 2.20 | Yes | 2 |
| RH2VZ4821STANN (the pairing on screen) | — | 27,2007.97 | 45,50013.33 | 45,50013.33 | 60% | 2.50 | Yes | 2 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Other brands that list these model numbers
Model number as listed
- RP15AZ48AJ2N 4 pairings
Variants of the same model number
5 units in this group. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
4 of 5 shown.
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Jun 3, 2026
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read