EL17XP1-024-230A
Lennox · central heat pump
All 152 certified Lennox models
EL17XP1-024-230A is in the certified data as of Sep 27, 2026. EL17XP1-024-230A changed its certified heat output at 17°F on 4 pairings in the certified data between September 2024 and November 2024. The new figure is higher on 2 and lower on 2.
- 24,000 Btu (2-ton)
- Central
- Single stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
21,4006.27NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
13,6003.99NR at 17°F
10,4003.05NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.04NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 21,400 Btu/h6.27 kW of heat at 47°F, 13,600 Btu/h3.99 kW at 17°F, and 10,400 Btu/h3.05 kW at 5°F, 49% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 23,400 Btu/h6.86 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 8,600 Btu/h2.52 kW short of the example heating load of 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kW; at 95°F it is 13,900 Btu/h4.07 kW above the example cooling load of 9,500 Btu/h2.78 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at one speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 2-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 800 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 9,500 Btu/h2.78 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 210290878 · listed by Lennox · certified Oct 27, 2025 · 15 pairings share these values
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 10,4003.05 kW | −45% | 2.04 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 13,6003.99 kW | −29% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 21,4006.27 kW | −11% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 23,4006.86 kW | — | NR |
EER2 13.0 in that test. SEER2 16.4 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 1.49kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 1.80kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.29
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 24,000 Btu heat pumps
2-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 10,400 Btu/h3.05 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 10,400 Btu/h3.05 kW
- Median of 2-ton central models at 5°F
- 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kW
- Models in this group
- 565
This unit is above 3% of them, at number 547 of 565 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 16,000 to 21,600 Btu/h.
Among 24,000 Btu central models, each by its median certified pairing, highest first: 5°F output as a share of its 47°F rating, 517th of 565 (tied); HSPF2, 498th of 578 (tied). Models without that figure are left out.
Similar ratings at 47°F
These central models share the nominal cooling size. Comparisons use each model’s median certified figures across pairings.
- 4A6L9024A1: The same 21,600 Btu/h rating at 47°F; HSPF2 8.7 (this model: 7.8).
- 5TWR7024A1: 21,800 Btu/h at 47°F (this model: 21,600); 17,200 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 10,400).
- AUWR-24U3SF2: 21,400 Btu/h at 47°F (this model: 21,600); 16,900 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 10,400).
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- BHP17L24P-**ABlueridge · 10,600 Btu/h
- HRG1524S1R-**ACentury and Comfort-Aire · 10,600 Btu/h
- 4SHP17LE124P-**AAirEase and Armstrong Air · 10,400 Btu/h
- MHP17024A-**AMRCOOL · 10,400 Btu/h
- ML16KP2-024-230ALennox · 10,400 Btu/h
- NS17H24SA4-**AGE · 10,400 Btu/h
Every 24,000 Btu (2-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Floor area at the cold test point
The median certified output of 10,400 Btu/h at 5°F matches the size calculator’s heating estimate for these floor areas, rounded to about 10 sq ft. Each range divides that output by the climate band’s heating rates.
| Climate band | House condition | Btu/h per sq ft | Approximate sq ft |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mild | Drafty, little insulation | 24–42 | 250–430 |
| Mild | Typical | 16–26 | 400–650 |
| Mild | Tight, well insulated | 10–18 | 580–1,040 |
| Cold | Drafty, little insulation | 28–52 | 200–370 |
| Cold | Typical | 18–30 | 350–580 |
| Cold | Tight, well insulated | 12–22 | 470–870 |
| Very cold | Drafty, little insulation | 32–58 | 180–330 |
| Very cold | Typical | 22–38 | 270–470 |
| Very cold | Tight, well insulated | 16–28 | 370–650 |
This is an estimate, not a house-specific load calculation. Output stays at the 5°F test point for every band; it does not predict output at the band’s winter design temperature.
Certified values for EL17XP1-024-230A
444 pairings · 444 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F one speed | 21,400 Btu/h6.27 kWNR | 21,000–22,600 Btu/h6.15–6.62 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 13,600 Btu/h3.99 kWNR | 13,400–14,700 Btu/h3.93–4.31 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 10,400 Btu/h3.05 kWNR | 10,200–11,500 Btu/h2.99–3.37 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 49%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.04NR | 2.00–2.18 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 7.8NR | 7.8–8.2 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 23,400 Btu/h6.86 kWNR | 22,400–24,000 Btu/h6.56–7.03 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 13.0NR | 12.5–14.0 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 16.4NR | 15.2–17.0 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-410A | |
| Compressor | Single stage | |
| Indoor unit | C35-24A+TDR+TXV | 36 indoor units |
| Furnace | ML180UH070V36A* | 66 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | United States | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | EL17XP1-024-230A** | |
Across 444 certified pairings with 36 indoor models: heat at 5°F 10,200 Btu/h with C35-24A+TDR+TXV to 11,500 Btu/h with CK40DT-30/36B-0*+TDR; HSPF2 7.8 with C35-24A+TDR+TXV to 8.2 with CBK47UHET-030-230-0*; SEER2 15.2 with CBA25UHE-030-230-** to 17.0 with CHX35-30B-**-*+TDR. Endpoints name one indoor model where recorded; the furnace pairing can also change the figures.
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
36 indoor units · 444 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 10 indoor units
-
C35-30B+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 10,400 Btu/h3.05 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CHX35-30B-**-*+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 10,400 Btu/h3.05 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40CT-30B-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 10,400 Btu/h3.05 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40HT-30B-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 10,400 Btu/h3.05 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CX35-30B+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 10,400 Btu/h3.05 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
C35-24B+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 10,600 Btu/h3.11 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40CT-24B-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 10,600 Btu/h3.11 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CX35-24B+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 10,600 Btu/h3.11 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
C35-30A+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 10,400 Btu/h3.05 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CHX35-24A-**-*+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 10,400 Btu/h3.05 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · one speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| C35-30B+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 10,4003.05 | 21,6006.33 | 23,2006.80 | 49% | 2.02 | NC | 33 |
| CHX35-30B-**-*+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 10,4003.05 | 21,6006.33 | 23,6006.92 | 49% | 2.06 | NC | 33 |
| CK40CT-30B-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 10,4003.05 | 21,6006.33 | 23,2006.80 | 49% | 2.02 | NC | 33 |
| CK40HT-30B-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 10,4003.05 | 21,6006.33 | 23,6006.92 | 49% | 2.06 | NC | 33 |
| CX35-30B+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 10,4003.05 | 21,6006.33 | 23,2006.80 | 49% | 2.02 | NC | 33 |
| C35-24B+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 10,6003.11 | 21,6006.33 | 23,6006.92 | 49% | 2.02 | NC | 30 |
| CK40CT-24B-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 10,6003.11 | 21,6006.33 | 23,6006.92 | 49% | 2.02 | NC | 30 |
| CX35-24B+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 10,6003.11 | 21,6006.33 | 23,6006.92 | 49% | 2.02 | NC | 30 |
| C35-30A+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 10,4003.05 | 21,4006.27 | 23,0006.74 | 48% | 2.04 | NC | 14 |
| CHX35-24A-**-*+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 10,4003.05 | 21,5006.30 | 23,2006.80 | 49% | 2.06 | NC | 14 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Model number as listed
- EL17XP1-024-230A** 444 pairings
Variants of the same model number
2 units in this group. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
1 of 2 shown.
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- EL17XP1-024-230A changed its certified heat output at 17°F on 4 pairings in the certified data between September 2024 and November 2024. The new figure is higher on 2 and lower on 2.
- EL17XP1-024-230A was in the certified data by September 2024.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Oct 27, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read