GH8TAN548**AA*
GH8TAN548**AA* is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 23,800–26,600 Btu/h6.98–7.80 kW, 48–53% of its 47°F rating, depending on the pairing.
Bryant and Carrier · central heat pump
GH8TAN548**AA* is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. GH8TAN548**AA* changed its certified HSPF2 on 2 pairings from 8.0 to 8.1 in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025.
- 48,000 Btu (4-ton)
- Central
- Two-stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
51,50015.09NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
31,6009.26NR at 17°F
25,0007.33NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.10NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 51,500 Btu/h15.09 kW of heat at 47°F, 31,600 Btu/h9.26 kW at 17°F, and 25,000 Btu/h7.33 kW at 5°F, 49% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 49,500 Btu/h14.51 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 11,500 Btu/h3.37 kW short of the example heating load of 36,500 Btu/h10.70 kW; at 95°F it is 31,500 Btu/h9.23 kW above the example cooling load of 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at high stage; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 4-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,500 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 36,500 Btu/h10.70 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 215623375 · listed by Carrier · certified Mar 19, 2025 · 12 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 25,0007.33 kW | −31% | 2.10 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 31,6009.26 kW | −10% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 51,50015.09 kW | +7% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 49,50014.51 kW | — | NR |
EER2 12.0 in that test. SEER2 17.0 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 3.49kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 4.13kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.37
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 48,000 Btu heat pumps
4-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 25,000 Btu/h7.33 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 25,000 Btu/h7.33 kW
- Median of 4-ton central models at 5°F
- 36,400 Btu/h10.67 kW
- Models in this group
- 408
This unit is above 21% of them, at number 323 of 408 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 25,350 to 46,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- BHP17L48P-**ABlueridge · 25,200 Btu/h
- MHP17048A-**AMRCOOL · 25,200 Btu/h
- NS17H48SA4-**AGE · 25,200 Btu/h
- PH8TAN548**AB*WeatherMaker · 25,000 Btu/h
- SH4BF5M2SX48KNordyne and Nortek · 25,000 Btu/h
- W5H8T48*K*AAA*EcoTemp and Grandaire · 25,000 Btu/h
Every 48,000 Btu (4-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for GH8TAN548**AA*
849 pairings · 849 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F high stage | 51,500 Btu/h15.09 kWNR | 48,500–52,500 Btu/h14.21–15.39 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 31,600 Btu/h9.26 kWNR | 30,000–32,600 Btu/h8.79–9.55 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 25,000 Btu/h7.33 kWNR | 23,800–26,600 Btu/h6.98–7.80 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 49%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.10NR | 2.06–2.32 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 8.1NR | 7.8–8.5 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 49,500 Btu/h14.51 kWNR | 45,500–50,500 Btu/h13.33–14.80 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 12.0NR | 11.7–13.5 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 17.0NR | 15.2–18.0 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Two-stage | |
| Indoor unit | CVAMA4921XMA* | 34 indoor units |
| Furnace | 58TN*B110C21**20 | 96 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | GH8TAN548**AA* | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
34 indoor units · 849 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 10 indoor units
-
CSAH*6012AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,200 Btu/h7.39 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAVA6124XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,200 Btu/h7.39 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**6121AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,600 Btu/h7.50 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAMA6021XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,800 Btu/h7.27 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**6024AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,800 Btu/h7.56 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAMA4921XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,000 Btu/h7.33 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAVA6121XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,000 Btu/h7.33 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**6124AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 26,000 Btu/h7.62 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAVA6021XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,800 Btu/h7.27 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAVA4821XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,400 Btu/h7.15 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · high stage | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CSAH*6012AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,2007.39 | 49,00014.36 | 47,50013.92 | 51% | 2.23 | NC | 72 |
| CVAVA6124XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,2007.39 | 52,00015.24 | 50,00014.65 | 49% | 2.12 | NC | 72 |
| CAA**6121AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,6007.50 | 49,50014.51 | 48,00014.07 | 52% | 2.20 | NC | 67 |
| CVAMA6021XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 24,8007.27 | 51,00014.95 | 49,00014.36 | 49% | 2.12 | NC | 67 |
| CAA**6024AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,8007.56 | 49,50014.51 | 47,50013.92 | 52% | 2.20 | NC | 62 |
| CVAMA4921XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,0007.33 | 51,50015.09 | 49,50014.51 | 49% | 2.10 | NC | 61 |
| CVAVA6121XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,0007.33 | 51,50015.09 | 50,00014.65 | 49% | 2.12 | NC | 61 |
| CAA**6124AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 26,0007.62 | 50,00014.65 | 48,50014.21 | 52% | 2.20 | NC | 58 |
| CVAVA6021XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 24,8007.27 | 51,00014.95 | 49,00014.36 | 49% | 2.12 | NC | 57 |
| CVAVA4821XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 24,4007.15 | 50,50014.80 | 47,50013.92 | 48% | 2.12 | NC | 53 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Other brands that list these model numbers
Model number as listed
- GH8TAN548**AA* 849 pairings
Variants of the same model number
5 units in this group. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
- 248TAN048**AA*Bryant
- 27TPA848A**30*Carrier
- N5H8T48*K*AAA*ACiQ · Airquest · Arcoaire · Comfortmaker · Day & Night · Heil · Keeprite · Kenmore · Maratherm · Tempstar
- PH8TAN548**AA*Brock · Bryant · Payne · WeatherMaker
4 of 5 shown.
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- GH8TAN548**AA* changed its certified HSPF2 on 2 pairings from 8.0 to 8.1 in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025.
- GH8TAN548**AA* changed its certified COP at 5°F on 2 pairings from 2.12 to 2.15 in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025.
- GH8TAN548**AA* changed its certified SEER2 on 89 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is higher on 65 and lower on 24.
- GH8TAN548**AA* changed its certified HSPF2 on 85 pairings from 7.8 to 8.0 in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- GH8TAN548**AA* changed its certified COP at 5°F on 119 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is higher on 89 and lower on 30.
- GH8TAN548**AA* changed its certified heat output at 5°F on 22 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is higher on 20 and lower on 2.
- GH8TAN548**AA* changed its certified heat output at 17°F on 22 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is higher on 20 and lower on 2.
- GH8TAN548**AA* first appeared in the certified data between November 2024 and February 2025.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Mar 19, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read