248TAN048**AA*
Bryant · central heat pump
All 205 certified Bryant models
248TAN048**AA* is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. 248TAN048**AA* changed its certified HSPF2 on AHRI certificate 215722120 from 8.0 to 8.1 in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025.
- 48,000 Btu (4-ton)
- Central
- Two-stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
51,50015.09NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
31,6009.26NR at 17°F
25,0007.33NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.10NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 51,500 Btu/h15.09 kW of heat at 47°F, 31,600 Btu/h9.26 kW at 17°F, and 25,000 Btu/h7.33 kW at 5°F, 49% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 49,500 Btu/h14.51 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 11,500 Btu/h3.37 kW short of the example heating load of 36,500 Btu/h10.70 kW; at 95°F it is 31,500 Btu/h9.23 kW above the example cooling load of 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at high stage; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 4-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,500 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 36,500 Btu/h10.70 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 215623376 · listed by BRYANT HEATING AND COOLING SYSTEMS · certified Mar 19, 2025 · 6 pairings share these values
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 25,0007.33 kW | −31% | 2.10 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 31,6009.26 kW | −10% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 51,50015.09 kW | +7% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 49,50014.51 kW | — | NR |
EER2 12.0 in that test. SEER2 17.0 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 3.49kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 4.13kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.37
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 48,000 Btu heat pumps
4-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 25,000 Btu/h7.33 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 25,000 Btu/h7.33 kW
- Median of 4-ton central models at 5°F
- 36,400 Btu/h10.67 kW
- Models in this group
- 408
This unit is above 21% of them, at number 323 of 408 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 25,350 to 46,000 Btu/h.
Among 48,000 Btu central models, each by its median certified pairing, highest first: 5°F output as a share of its 47°F rating, 371st of 408 (tied); HSPF2, 297th of 420 (tied). Models without that figure are left out.
Similar ratings at 47°F
These central models share the nominal cooling size. Comparisons use each model’s median certified figures across pairings.
- ACIQ-48-HPB: The same 50,000 Btu/h rating at 47°F; 46,000 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 25,000).
- KUSXA482A: The same 50,000 Btu/h rating at 47°F; 43,000 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 25,000).
- 27VPA948A*030*: The same 50,000 Btu/h rating at 47°F; 37,600 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 25,000).
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- BHP17L48P-**ABlueridge · 25,200 Btu/h
- MHP17048A-**AMRCOOL · 25,200 Btu/h
- NS17H48SA4-**AGE · 25,200 Btu/h
- PH8TAN548**AB*WeatherMaker · 25,000 Btu/h
- SH4BF5M2SX48KNordyne and Nortek · 25,000 Btu/h
- W5H8T48*K*AAA*EcoTemp and Grandaire · 25,000 Btu/h
Every 48,000 Btu (4-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Floor area at the cold test point
The median certified output of 25,000 Btu/h at 5°F matches the size calculator’s heating estimate for these floor areas, rounded to about 10 sq ft. Each range divides that output by the climate band’s heating rates.
| Climate band | House condition | Btu/h per sq ft | Approximate sq ft |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mild | Drafty, little insulation | 24–42 | 600–1,040 |
| Mild | Typical | 16–26 | 960–1,560 |
| Mild | Tight, well insulated | 10–18 | 1,390–2,500 |
| Cold | Drafty, little insulation | 28–52 | 480–890 |
| Cold | Typical | 18–30 | 830–1,390 |
| Cold | Tight, well insulated | 12–22 | 1,140–2,080 |
| Very cold | Drafty, little insulation | 32–58 | 430–780 |
| Very cold | Typical | 22–38 | 660–1,140 |
| Very cold | Tight, well insulated | 16–28 | 890–1,560 |
This is an estimate, not a house-specific load calculation. Output stays at the 5°F test point for every band; it does not predict output at the band’s winter design temperature.
Certified values for 248TAN048**AA*
417 pairings · 417 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F high stage | 51,500 Btu/h15.09 kWNR | 48,500–52,500 Btu/h14.21–15.39 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 31,600 Btu/h9.26 kWNR | 30,000–32,600 Btu/h8.79–9.55 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 25,000 Btu/h7.33 kWNR | 23,800–26,600 Btu/h6.98–7.80 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 49%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.10NR | 2.06–2.32 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 8.1NR | 7.8–8.5 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 49,500 Btu/h14.51 kWNR | 45,500–50,500 Btu/h13.33–14.80 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 12.0NR | 11.7–13.5 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 17.0NR | 15.2–18.0 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Two-stage | |
| Indoor unit | CVAMA4921XMA* | 34 indoor units |
| Furnace | 88*TB60110C21*** | 48 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | 248TAN048**AA* | |
Across 417 certified pairings with 34 indoor models: heat at 5°F 23,800 Btu/h with CVAVA4821XMA*+TDR to 26,600 Btu/h with CAA**6124AM*; HSPF2 7.8 with CSAH*4812AM* to 8.5 with CVAVA4924XMA*; SEER2 15.2 with CAA**6024AM* to 18.0 with FG5ANBD60L*. Endpoints name one indoor model where recorded; the furnace pairing can also change the figures.
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
34 indoor units · 417 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 10 indoor units
-
CSAH*6012AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,200 Btu/h7.39 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAVA6124XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,200 Btu/h7.39 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**6121AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,600 Btu/h7.50 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAMA6021XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,800 Btu/h7.27 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**6024AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,800 Btu/h7.56 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAMA4921XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,000 Btu/h7.33 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAVA6121XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,000 Btu/h7.33 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**6124AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 26,000 Btu/h7.62 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAVA6021XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,800 Btu/h7.27 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAVA4821XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,400 Btu/h7.15 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · high stage | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CSAH*6012AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,2007.39 | 49,00014.36 | 47,50013.92 | 51% | 2.20 | NC | 35 |
| CVAVA6124XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,2007.39 | 52,00015.24 | 50,00014.65 | 49% | 2.12 | NC | 35 |
| CAA**6121AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,6007.50 | 49,50014.51 | 48,00014.07 | 52% | 2.20 | NC | 33 |
| CVAMA6021XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 24,8007.27 | 51,00014.95 | 49,00014.36 | 49% | 2.12 | NC | 33 |
| CAA**6024AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,8007.56 | 49,50014.51 | 47,50013.92 | 52% | 2.20 | NC | 30 |
| CVAMA4921XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,0007.33 | 51,50015.09 | 49,50014.51 | 49% | 2.10 | NC | 30 |
| CVAVA6121XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,0007.33 | 51,50015.09 | 50,00014.65 | 49% | 2.12 | NC | 30 |
| CAA**6124AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 26,0007.62 | 50,00014.65 | 48,50014.21 | 52% | 2.20 | NC | 28 |
| CVAVA6021XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 24,8007.27 | 51,00014.95 | 49,00014.36 | 49% | 2.12 | NC | 28 |
| CVAVA4821XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 24,4007.15 | 50,50014.80 | 47,50013.92 | 48% | 2.12 | NC | 26 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Model number as listed
- 248TAN048**AA* 417 pairings
Variants of the same model number
5 units in this group. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
- 27TPA848A**30*Carrier
- GH8TAN548**AA*Bryant · Carrier
- N5H8T48*K*AAA*ACiQ · Airquest · Arcoaire · Comfortmaker · Day & Night · Heil · Keeprite · Kenmore · Maratherm · Tempstar
- PH8TAN548**AA*Brock · Bryant · Payne · WeatherMaker
4 of 5 shown.
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- 248TAN048**AA* changed its certified HSPF2 on AHRI certificate 215722120 from 8.0 to 8.1 in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025.
- 248TAN048**AA* changed its certified COP at 5°F on AHRI certificate 215722120 from 2.12 to 2.15 in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025.
- 248TAN048**AA* changed its certified SEER2 on 43 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is higher on 31 and lower on 12.
- 248TAN048**AA* changed its certified HSPF2 on 41 pairings from 7.8 to 8.0 in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- 248TAN048**AA* changed its certified COP at 5°F on 58 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is higher on 43 and lower on 15.
- 248TAN048**AA* changed its certified heat output at 5°F on 11 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is higher on 10 and lower on 1.
- 248TAN048**AA* changed its certified heat output at 17°F on 11 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is higher on 10 and lower on 1.
- 248TAN048**AA* first appeared in the certified data between November 2024 and February 2025.
History and definitions
Other 2-STAGE 18 SEER HP models by nominal cooling size: GH8TAN524**AA* (24,000 Btu), GH8TAN536**AA* (36,000 Btu), GH8TAN548**AA* (48,000 Btu), GH8TAN560**AA* (54,000 Btu).
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Mar 19, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read