MHP17048A-**A
MHP17048A-**A is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 24,200–25,600 Btu/h7.09–7.50 kW, 54–57% of its 47°F rating, depending on the pairing.
MRCOOL · central heat pump
MHP17048A-**A is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026.
- 48,000 Btu (4-ton)
- Central
- Single stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
44,50013.04NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
30,8009.03NR at 17°F
25,2007.39NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.30NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 44,500 Btu/h13.04 kW of heat at 47°F, 30,800 Btu/h9.03 kW at 17°F, and 25,200 Btu/h7.39 kW at 5°F, 57% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 47,000 Btu/h13.77 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 11,300 Btu/h3.31 kW short of the example heating load of 36,500 Btu/h10.70 kW; at 95°F it is 29,000 Btu/h8.50 kW above the example cooling load of 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at one speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 4-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,500 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 36,500 Btu/h10.70 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 18,000 Btu/h5.28 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 211737253 · listed by MRCOOL · certified Oct 27, 2025 · 1 pairing carries these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 25,2007.39 kW | −31% | 2.30 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 30,8009.03 kW | −12% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 44,50013.04 kW | −7% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 47,00013.77 kW | — | NR |
EER2 12.5 in that test. SEER2 15.6 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 3.21kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 3.76kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.43
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 48,000 Btu heat pumps
4-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 25,200 Btu/h7.39 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 25,200 Btu/h7.39 kW
- Median of 4-ton central models at 5°F
- 36,400 Btu/h10.67 kW
- Models in this group
- 408
This unit is above 24% of them, at number 312 of 408 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 25,350 to 46,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- ML17XP1-048-230ALennox · 25,400 Btu/h
- 4HP17L48P-**AAC Pro, Allied + 4 more · 25,200 Btu/h
- BHP17L48P-**ABlueridge · 25,200 Btu/h
- NS17H48SA4-**AGE · 25,200 Btu/h
- GH8TAN548**AA*Bryant and Carrier · 25,000 Btu/h
- PH8TAN548**AB*WeatherMaker · 25,000 Btu/h
Every 48,000 Btu (4-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for MHP17048A-**A
19 pairings · 19 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F one speed | 44,500 Btu/h13.04 kWNR | 44,500–47,000 Btu/h13.04–13.77 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 30,800 Btu/h9.03 kWNR | 30,200–31,600 Btu/h8.85–9.26 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 25,200 Btu/h7.39 kWNR | 24,200–25,600 Btu/h7.09–7.50 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 57%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.30NR | 2.18–2.38 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 8.3NR | 8.0–8.3 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 47,000 Btu/h13.77 kWNR | 46,500–48,000 Btu/h13.63–14.07 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 12.5NR | 12.5–13.0 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 15.6NR | 15.2–15.6 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-410A | |
| Compressor | Single stage | |
| Indoor unit | MCHP51CNPA*+TDR+TXV | 7 indoor units |
| Furnace | MGM80SE090C5A | 6 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | United States | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | MHP17048A-**A | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
7 indoor units · 19 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 7 indoor units
-
MCVP49CNPA+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,400 Btu/h7.44 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
MCVP60CNPA+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,300 Btu/h7.41 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
MCHP51CNPA*+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,400 Btu/h7.44 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
MCVP48BNPA+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,200 Btu/h7.09 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
MCHP48CNPA*+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,600 Btu/h7.21 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
MCVP48CNPA+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,300 Btu/h7.12 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
MCHP60DNPA*+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,600 Btu/h7.21 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · one speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MCVP49CNPA+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,4007.44 | 45,00013.19 | 48,00014.07 | 56% | 2.26 | NC | 4 |
| MCVP60CNPA+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,3007.41 | 46,25013.55 | 48,00014.07 | 54% | 2.35 | NC | 4 |
| MCHP51CNPA*+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 25,4007.44 | 45,00013.19 | 47,50013.92 | 56% | 2.30 | NC | 3 |
| MCVP48BNPA+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 24,2007.09 | 45,00013.19 | 46,50013.63 | 54% | 2.18 | NC | 3 |
| MCHP48CNPA*+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 24,6007.21 | 45,00013.19 | 46,50013.63 | 55% | 2.18 | NC | 2 |
| MCVP48CNPA+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 24,3007.12 | 44,75013.11 | 46,50013.63 | 54% | 2.20 | NC | 2 |
| MCHP60DNPA*+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 24,6007.21 | 45,50013.33 | 48,00014.07 | 54% | 2.20 | NC | 1 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Oct 27, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read