Heat Pump List

Tools

NS17H48SA4-**A

NS17H48SA4-**A is in the certified data.

Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 24,200–25,600 Btu/h, 53–57% of its 47°F rating, depending on the pairing.

GE · central heat pump

All 89 certified GE models

NS17H48SA4-**A is in the certified data as of Sep 27, 2026.

134 certified pairings with 37 different figures. See all

Certified heating and cooling

Heating at 47°F

46,000

31,200 at 17°F

25,200 at 5°F

Btu/h, certified

2.36 COP at 5°F

Cooling at 95°F

48,000

Btu/h, certified

EER2 12.5 at 95°F

SEER2 15.2

Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature

Certified heating at 5, 17, and 47°F and cooling at 95°F for NS17H48SA4-**A, by outdoor temperature Heating: 25,200 Btu/h at 5°F, 31,200 Btu/h at 17°F, 46,000 Btu/h at 47°F. Cooling: 48,000 Btu/h at 95°F. The bars start at zero. Median of 4-ton central models: 36,400 Btu/h at 5°F, 35,000 Btu/h at 17°F, 48,000 Btu/h at 47°F, 48,000 Btu/h at 95°F. 0 10,000 20,000 30,000 40,000 50,000 Btu/h 25,200 5°F 31,200 17°F 46,000 47°F 48,000 95°F Outdoor temperature (°F)
  • Heating output
  • Cooling output
  • Median of 4-ton central models
  • Example heating load
  • Example cooling load
  • Frosting range, 17 to 45°F

This pairing delivers 46,000 Btu/h of heat at 47°F, 31,200 Btu/h at 17°F, and 25,200 Btu/h at 5°F, 55% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 48,000 Btu/h of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 11,300 Btu/h short of the example heating load of 36,500 Btu/h; at 95°F it is 30,000 Btu/h above the example cooling load of 18,000 Btu/h.

Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at one speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 4-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.

The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,500 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 36,500 Btu/h at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 18,000 Btu/h at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.

Calculate heating and cooling for your house

AHRI certificate 210262524 · listed by GE · certified Oct 27, 2025 · 9 pairings share these values

Rebates where you live

Meets the recorded equipment thresholds of 31 programs in 20 states, provinces, or territories:Colorado (1), Idaho (2), Illinois (1), Kansas (1), Maryland (3), Michigan (2), Minnesota (2), Mississippi (1), Nevada (1), New Hampshire (1), New Jersey (4), North Carolina (1), Oregon (2), Pennsylvania (3), South Carolina (1), Texas (3), Utah (1), Washington (2), Wisconsin (1), Newfoundland and Labrador (1).

All 31 programs by state and province

Colorado

Idaho

Illinois

Kansas

Maryland

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi

Nevada

New Hampshire

New Jersey

North Carolina

Oregon

Pennsylvania

South Carolina

Texas

Utah

Washington

Wisconsin

Newfoundland and Labrador

Threshold comparisons use the unit’s median certified figures across its pairings, not the pairing selected above. Meeting these thresholds means the equipment may qualify; it does not guarantee approval. Service-area, installation, and product-list requirements also apply.

All rebate programs and their published thresholds

Certified output and power use

Certified output for the selected pairingThe four bars share one scale. The comparison is with the median of 4-ton central models. Heating tests run at 70°F indoors. The cooling test runs at 80°F indoors.
Outdoor temperature Certified outputBtu/h One scale vs class median COPat 5°F
5°Fone compressor speed 25,2007.39 kW −31% 2.36
17°Fone compressor speed 31,2009.14 kW −11% NR
47°Fone compressor speed 46,00013.48 kW −4% NR
95°Fcooling, full load 48,00014.07 kW — NR

EER2 12.5 in that test. SEER2 15.2 over the modeled cooling season.

Power use at each temperature

Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
3.13kW
Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
3.84kW
Seasonal average heating COP
2.37

These exclude backup resistance heat.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 · Methodology

How it compares with other 48,000 Btu heat pumps

4-ton central models

This pairing at 5°F
25,200 Btu/h
This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
25,200 Btu/h
Median of 4-ton central models at 5°F
36,400 Btu/h
Models in this group
408

This unit is above 24% of them, at number 312 of 408 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 25,350 to 46,000 Btu/h.

This size class is defined by cooling capacity, so cooling is not compared here.

Among 48,000 Btu central models, each by its median certified pairing, highest first: 5°F output as a share of its 47°F rating, 315th of 408 (tied); HSPF2, 297th of 420 (tied). Models without that figure are left out.

Similar ratings at 47°F

These central models share the nominal cooling size. Comparisons use each model’s median certified figures across pairings.

  • E4HL5060A1000A: The same 45,000 Btu/h rating at 47°F; 33,400 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 25,200).
  • 50VR-K48---30: The same 45,000 Btu/h rating at 47°F; 18,200 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 25,200).
  • RHPXZS048AJT: The same 45,000 Btu/h rating at 47°F; HSPF2 7.2 (this model: 8.1).

Closest models by heat at 5°F

Every 48,000 Btu (4-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency

Floor area at the cold test point

The median certified output of 25,200 Btu/h at 5°F matches the size calculator’s heating estimate for these floor areas, rounded to about 10 sq ft. Each range divides that output by the climate band’s heating rates.

Floor area by climate band and house condition
Climate bandHouse conditionBtu/h per sq ftApproximate sq ft
MildDrafty, little insulation24–42600–1,050
MildTypical16–26970–1,580
MildTight, well insulated10–181,400–2,520
ColdDrafty, little insulation28–52480–900
ColdTypical18–30840–1,400
ColdTight, well insulated12–221,150–2,100
Very coldDrafty, little insulation32–58430–790
Very coldTypical22–38660–1,150
Very coldTight, well insulated16–28900–1,580

This is an estimate, not a house-specific load calculation. Output stays at the 5°F test point for every band; it does not predict output at the band’s winter design temperature.

Certified values for NS17H48SA4-**A

134 pairings · 134 AHRI certificates

This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.

Certified values for NS17H48SA4-**A
This pairingAll pairings
Heating
Heat output at 47°F one speed 46,000 Btu/h 44,500–47,000 Btu/h
Heat output at 17°F full speed 31,200 Btu/h 30,000–31,800 Btu/h
Heat output at 5°F full speed 25,200 Btu/h 24,200–25,600 Btu/h
Heat output below 5°F NR NR
Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating 55%
COP at 5°F full speed 2.36 2.18–2.38
HSPF2 Region IV 8.1 8.0–8.5
Cooling
Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test 48,000 Btu/h 46,000–48,000 Btu/h
EER2 at 95°F 12.5 12.5–13.0
SEER2 cooling season 15.2 15.2–15.6
Cooling at other temperatures NR NR
Equipment and listing
Refrigerant R-410A
Compressor Single stage
Indoor unit NCUU60CP4+TDR+TXV 23 indoor units
FurnaceNF97U090M3C-* 34 furnaces
Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published NC NC
ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published No On no pairings
Where it is sold US and Canada US and Canada
Model string as certified NS17H48SA4-**A

Across 134 certified pairings with 23 indoor models: heat at 5°F 24,200 Btu/h with NAM48V1TA4 to 25,600 Btu/h with NCHC51CT4+TDR; HSPF2 8.0 with NCHC48CT4+TDR to 8.5 with NAM48V2TA4; SEER2 15.2 with NAM48V1TA4 to 15.6 with NCHC51CT4+TDR. Endpoints name one indoor model where recorded; the furnace pairing can also change the figures.

Pairings, by indoor-unit class

23 indoor units · 134 certified pairings

One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.

Furnace paired · 10 indoor units

  1. NCUC60CT5D-**+TDR brand not stated 25,400 Btu/hat 5°F, full speed

    14 pairings, 14 with a furnace · 47°F 46,500 Btu/h · 95°F cooling 48,000 Btu/h · Cold output 54% · COP 2.36

  2. NCUC60CT4+TDR brand not stated 25,400 Btu/hat 5°F, full speed

    13 pairings, 13 with a furnace · 47°F 46,500 Btu/h · 95°F cooling 48,000 Btu/h · Cold output 54% · COP 2.36

  3. NCUU60CP4+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 25,400 Btu/hat 5°F, full speed

    13 pairings, 13 with a furnace · 47°F 46,500 Btu/h · 95°F cooling 48,000 Btu/h · Cold output 54% · COP 2.36

  4. NCUC49CT5D-**+TDR brand not stated 25,400 Btu/hat 5°F, full speed

    11 pairings, 11 with a furnace · 47°F 45,000 Btu/h · 95°F cooling 48,000 Btu/h · Cold output 56% · COP 2.26

  5. NCHC51CT5D-**+TDR brand not stated 25,400 Btu/hat 5°F, full speed

    10 pairings, 10 with a furnace · 47°F 45,000 Btu/h · 95°F cooling 47,500 Btu/h · Cold output 56% · COP 2.28

  6. NCUC49CT4+TDR brand not stated 25,400 Btu/hat 5°F, full speed

    10 pairings, 10 with a furnace · 47°F 45,000 Btu/h · 95°F cooling 48,000 Btu/h · Cold output 56% · COP 2.26

  7. NCUU49CP4+TDR+TXV brand not stated 25,400 Btu/hat 5°F, full speed

    10 pairings, 10 with a furnace · 47°F 45,000 Btu/h · 95°F cooling 48,000 Btu/h · Cold output 56% · COP 2.26

  8. NCHC51CT4+TDR brand not stated 25,400 Btu/hat 5°F, full speed

    9 pairings, 9 with a furnace · 47°F 45,000 Btu/h · 95°F cooling 47,500 Btu/h · Cold output 56% · COP 2.28

  9. NCUC48CT4+TDR brand not stated 24,400 Btu/hat 5°F, full speed

    7 pairings, 7 with a furnace · 47°F 44,500 Btu/h · 95°F cooling 46,500 Btu/h · Cold output 55% · COP 2.18

  10. NCUC48CT5D-**+TDR brand not stated 24,400 Btu/hat 5°F, full speed

    7 pairings, 7 with a furnace · 47°F 44,500 Btu/h · 95°F cooling 46,500 Btu/h · Cold output 55% · COP 2.18

Indoor units in the furnace paired class
Indoor unit Brand At 5°FBtu/h · full speed At 47°FBtu/h · one speed At 95°FBtu/h · cooling Cold output% of 47°F rating COP 5°Ffull speed Cold climate Pairings
NCUC60CT5D-**+TDR — 25,400 46,500 48,000 54% 2.36 NC 14
NCUC60CT4+TDR — 25,400 46,500 48,000 54% 2.36 NC 13
NCUU60CP4+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) — 25,400 46,500 48,000 54% 2.36 NC 13
NCUC49CT5D-**+TDR — 25,400 45,000 48,000 56% 2.26 NC 11
NCHC51CT5D-**+TDR — 25,400 45,000 47,500 56% 2.28 NC 10
NCUC49CT4+TDR — 25,400 45,000 48,000 56% 2.26 NC 10
NCUU49CP4+TDR+TXV — 25,400 45,000 48,000 56% 2.26 NC 10
NCHC51CT4+TDR — 25,400 45,000 47,500 56% 2.28 NC 9
NCUC48CT4+TDR — 24,400 44,500 46,500 55% 2.18 NC 7
NCUC48CT5D-**+TDR — 24,400 44,500 46,500 55% 2.18 NC 7

The share is heat output at 5°F divided by the 47°F rating.

Showing 10 of 23 indoor units All 134 certified pairings

Sold as, and units with identical certified values

Brands listing this model number

Model number as listed

History and definitions

Other NS17 Series models by nominal cooling size: NS17H18SA4-**A (18,000 Btu), NS17H24SA4-**A (24,000 Btu), NS17H30SA4-**A (30,000 Btu), NS17H36SA4-**A (36,000 Btu).

Other NS17H models by nominal cooling size: NS17H18SA4-**A (18,000 Btu), NS17H24SA4-**A (24,000 Btu), NS17H30SA4-**A (30,000 Btu), NS17H36SA4-**A (36,000 Btu), NS17H42SA4-**A (42,000 Btu).

Other NS17H SERIES models by nominal cooling size: NS17H18SA4 (18,000 Btu), NS17H18SA4-**A (18,000 Btu), NS17H24SA4-**A (24,000 Btu), NS17H30SA4-**A (30,000 Btu), NS17H36SA4-**A (36,000 Btu).

History

First certified record
Most recent certified record
Measurements reported
Oct 27, 2025
Status
In the certified data

Field definitions

COP
Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
HSPF2
Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
SEER2
Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
EER2
Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
Cold output
Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
% of rating at 17°F
Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.

NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read

Cite or print this page

Heat Pump List, “NS17H48SA4-**A — certified heat output”. Certified figures dated , checked daily.
https://heatpumplist.com/model/ns17h48sa4-_st_sta