HMH72B341
HMH72B341 is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 22,200–25,000 Btu/h6.51–7.33 kW, 67–74% of its 47°F rating (tests at different compressor speeds), depending on the pairing.
Champion, Coleman + 4 more · central heat pump
HMH72B341 is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. HMH72B341 changed its certified HSPF2 on 5 pairings from 8.5 to 8.1 in the certified data between March 2025 and September 2026.
- 36,000 Btu (3-ton)
- Central
- Variable speed
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
33,4009.79NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
25,4007.44NR at 17°F
23,6006.92NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.06NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 33,400 Btu/h9.79 kW of heat at 47°F, 25,400 Btu/h7.44 kW at 17°F, and 23,600 Btu/h6.92 kW at 5°F, 71% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 33,400 Btu/h9.79 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 2,900 Btu/h0.85 kW short of the example heating load of 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW; at 95°F it is 20,400 Btu/h5.98 kW above the example cooling load of 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at normal speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 3-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,100 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 211379285 · listed by York · certified May 1, 2026 · 60 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Ffull speed | 23,6006.92 kW | −11% | 2.06 | |
| 17°Ffull speed | 25,4007.44 kW | −3% | NR | |
| 47°Fnormal speed | 33,4009.79 kW | −5% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 33,4009.79 kW | — | NR |
EER2 9.5 in that test. SEER2 16.5 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 3.36kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 3.52kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.49
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 36,000 Btu heat pumps
3-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 23,600 Btu/h6.92 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 23,600 Btu/h6.92 kW
- Median of 3-ton central models at 5°F
- 26,400 Btu/h7.74 kW
- Models in this group
- 451
This unit is above 35% of them, at number 293 of 451 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 18,650 to 32,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- 5TWR7036A1Trane · 24,200 Btu/h
- FP10982USCostway · 24,000 Btu/h
- MOVA-60HDN1-M16GMidea · 24,000 Btu/h
- MCY-MUB0368HS2P-ULToshiba Carrier · 23,600 Btu/h
- PH9E36N00D21Champion, Coleman + 3 more · 23,000 Btu/h
- A7CP21V36P-**AAC Pro, AirEase + 1 more · 22,400 Btu/h
Every 36,000 Btu (3-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for HMH72B341
5,046 pairings · 5,046 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F normal speed | 33,400 Btu/h9.79 kWNR | 31,400–35,200 Btu/h9.20–10.32 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 25,400 Btu/h7.44 kWNR | 24,200–27,000 Btu/h7.09–7.91 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 23,600 Btu/h6.92 kWNR | 22,200–25,000 Btu/h6.51–7.33 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 71%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.06NR | 1.80–2.18 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 8.5NR | 8.1–8.5 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 33,400 Btu/h9.79 kWNR | 31,400–35,200 Btu/h9.20–10.32 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 9.5NR | 8.5–10.5 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 16.5NR | 15.5–18.5 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-410A | |
| Compressor | Variable speed | |
| Indoor unit | XAFD48FXXN1+TXV | 58 indoor units |
| Furnace | TM9V080C16MP12 | 172 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | Yes | On every pairing |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On some pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | HMH72B341 | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
58 indoor units · 5,046 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 10 indoor units
-
XAFC36DBCN1 (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,000 Btu/h7.03 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
XAHC36DBCN1 (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 23,600 Btu/h6.92 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
XAFC36DXXN1+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,200 Btu/h7.09 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
XAHC48FBCN1 (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 23,600 Btu/h6.92 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
XAFC48FBCN1 (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,000 Btu/h7.03 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
XAFC48FXXN1+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,000 Btu/h7.03 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
XAFC30CXXN1+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 23,400 Btu/h6.86 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
XAHC30CXXN1+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 23,000 Btu/h6.74 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
XAHC36DXXN1+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 23,800 Btu/h6.98 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
XAFB36DBCN1 (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 23,800 Btu/h6.98 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · normal speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| XAFC36DBCN1 (the pairing on screen) | — | 24,0007.03 | 34,0009.96 | 34,0009.96 | 71% | 2.08 | Yes | 473 |
| XAHC36DBCN1 (the pairing on screen) | — | 23,6006.92 | 33,4009.79 | 33,8009.91 | 71% | 2.04 | Yes | 359 |
| XAFC36DXXN1+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 24,2007.09 | 34,0009.96 | 34,0009.96 | 71% | 2.08 | Yes | 339 |
| XAHC48FBCN1 (the pairing on screen) | — | 23,6006.92 | 33,0009.67 | 33,0009.67 | 71% | 2.04 | Yes | 317 |
| XAFC48FBCN1 (the pairing on screen) | — | 24,0007.03 | 33,6009.85 | 33,6009.85 | 71% | 2.06 | Yes | 312 |
| XAFC48FXXN1+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 24,0007.03 | 33,6009.85 | 33,6009.85 | 71% | 2.06 | Yes | 312 |
| XAFC30CXXN1+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 23,4006.86 | 33,0009.67 | 33,0009.67 | 71% | 2.04 | Yes | 283 |
| XAHC30CXXN1+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 23,0006.74 | 32,0009.38 | 32,4009.50 | 71% | 2.00 | Yes | 256 |
| XAHC36DXXN1+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 23,8006.98 | 33,6009.85 | 34,0009.96 | 71% | 2.06 | Yes | 245 |
| XAFB36DBCN1 (the pairing on screen) | — | 23,8006.98 | 34,0009.96 | 34,0009.96 | 70% | 2.06 | Yes | 233 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
- Champion785 pairings
- Coleman886 pairings
- Fraser-Johnston784 pairings
- Johnson Controls844 pairings
- Luxaire884 pairings
- York863 pairings
Other brands that list these model numbers
- Are Champion and Luxaire heat pumps the same?48 shared model numbers
- Are Champion and Fraser-Johnston heat pumps the same?47 shared model numbers
- Are Champion and Coleman heat pumps the same?44 shared model numbers
- Are Champion and Johnson Controls heat pumps the same?34 shared model numbers
- Are Champion and York heat pumps the same?17 shared model numbers
- Are Coleman and Luxaire heat pumps the same?60 shared model numbers
- Are Coleman and Fraser-Johnston heat pumps the same?43 shared model numbers
Model number as listed
- HMH72B341 5,046 pairings
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- HMH72B341 changed its certified HSPF2 on 5 pairings from 8.5 to 8.1 in the certified data between March 2025 and September 2026.
- HMH72B341 changed its certified HSPF2 on 4 pairings from 8.5 to 8.1 in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026.
- HMH72B341 changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 40 pairings in the certified data between February 2025 and September 2026. The new figure is higher on 10 and lower on 30.
- HMH72B341 changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 12 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and September 2026. The new figure is higher on 6 and lower on 6.
- HMH72B341 changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 12 pairings in the certified data between November 2024 and September 2026. The new figure is higher on 4 and lower on 8.
- HMH72B341 changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 2 pairings in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026. The new figure is higher on all 2.
- HMH72B341 changed its certified SEER2 on 30 pairings in the certified data between November 2024 and February 2025. The new figure is higher on 5 and lower on 25.
- HMH72B341 changed its certified HSPF2 on 35 pairings from 8.1 to 8.5 in the certified data between November 2024 and February 2025.
- HMH72B341 changed its certified EER2 on 10 pairings in the certified data between November 2024 and February 2025. The new figure is higher on 5 and lower on 5.
- HMH72B341 changed its certified COP at 5°F on 35 pairings in the certified data between November 2024 and February 2025. The new figure is higher on 5 and lower on 30.
- HMH72B341 changed its certified cooling capacity at 95°F on 35 pairings in the certified data between November 2024 and February 2025. The new figure is higher on 10 and lower on 25.
- HMH72B341 changed its certified heat output at 5°F on 30 pairings in the certified data between November 2024 and February 2025. The new figure is higher on 5 and lower on 25.
- HMH72B341 changed its certified heat output at 47°F on at least 5 pairings from 33,400 Btu/h to 34,800 Btu/h in the certified data between November 2024 and February 2025.
- HMH72B341 changed its certified heat output at 17°F on 35 pairings in the certified data between November 2024 and February 2025. The new figure is higher on all 35.
- HMH72B341 was in the certified data by September 2024.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- May 1, 2026
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read