PH5SAN536**AA*
Brock, Bryant + 2 more · central heat pump
PH5SAN536**AA* is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. PH5SAN536**AA* changed its certified COP at 5°F on 16 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025. The new figure is lower on all 16.
- 36,000 Btu (3-ton)
- Central
- Single stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
33,8009.91NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
22,0006.45NR at 17°F
17,5005.13NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.18NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 33,800 Btu/h9.91 kW of heat at 47°F, 22,000 Btu/h6.45 kW at 17°F, and 17,500 Btu/h5.13 kW at 5°F, 52% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 34,400 Btu/h10.08 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 9,000 Btu/h2.64 kW short of the example heating load of 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW; at 95°F it is 21,400 Btu/h6.27 kW above the example cooling load of 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at one speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 3-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,100 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 26,500 Btu/h7.77 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 13,000 Btu/h3.81 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 214141453 · listed by BRYANT HEATING AND COOLING SYSTEMS · certified Jul 3, 2025 · 5 pairings share these values
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 17,5005.13 kW | −34% | 2.18 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 22,0006.45 kW | −16% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 33,8009.91 kW | −4% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 34,40010.08 kW | — | NR |
EER2 12.0 in that test. SEER2 15.2 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 2.35kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 2.87kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.29
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 36,000 Btu heat pumps
3-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 17,500 Btu/h5.13 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 17,500 Btu/h5.13 kW
- Median of 3-ton central models at 5°F
- 26,400 Btu/h7.74 kW
- Models in this group
- 451
This unit is above 13% of them, at number 393 of 451 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 18,650 to 32,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- FOP1536TJAZNAFujitsu · 17,500 Btu/h
- MPP15AZ36AJ2NMainline · 17,500 Btu/h
- N5HP5036A1American Standard and Trane · 17,500 Btu/h
- A5HP5036A1Ameristar and RunTru · 17,400 Btu/h
- HRG1536S1R-**ACentury and Comfort-Aire · 17,400 Btu/h
- ML17XP1-036-230ALennox · 17,400 Btu/h
Every 36,000 Btu (3-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for PH5SAN536**AA*
97 pairings · 97 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F one speed | 33,800 Btu/h9.91 kWNR | 33,200–36,400 Btu/h9.73–10.67 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 22,000 Btu/h6.45 kWNR | 21,000–22,800 Btu/h6.15–6.68 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 17,500 Btu/h5.13 kWNR | 16,100–18,100 Btu/h4.72–5.30 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 52%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.18NR | 2.00–2.22 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 7.8NR | 7.8–8.0 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 34,400 Btu/h10.08 kWNR | 33,800–36,800 Btu/h9.91–10.79 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 12.0NR | 11.7–13.0 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 15.2NR | 15.2–16.0 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Single stage | |
| Indoor unit | CAA**4821AM* | 19 indoor units |
| Furnace | 82*SB60090V21*** | 22 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | PH5SAN536**AA* | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
19 indoor units · 97 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 5 indoor units
-
CAA**4821AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,500 Btu/h5.13 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**4321AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,900 Btu/h5.25 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**3721AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,900 Btu/h5.25 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAMA4421XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 18,100 Btu/h5.30 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAVA4224XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 18,100 Btu/h5.30 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · one speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CAA**4821AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,5005.13 | 33,6009.85 | 34,20010.02 | 52% | 2.18 | NC | 28 |
| CAA**4321AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,9005.25 | 33,8009.91 | 34,60010.14 | 53% | 2.20 | NC | 14 |
| CAA**3721AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,9005.25 | 34,0009.96 | 34,80010.20 | 53% | 2.20 | NC | 5 |
| CVAMA4421XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 18,1005.30 | 35,80010.49 | 36,40010.67 | 51% | 2.14 | NC | 4 |
| CVAVA4224XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 18,1005.30 | 36,20010.61 | 36,80010.79 | 50% | 2.14 | NC | 4 |
Air handler · 5 indoor units
-
FEVA0048**+NAVA54801CK (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,400 Btu/h5.10 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FEVB0048**+NAVA54801CK (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,400 Btu/h5.10 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FM(C,U)5S36**AL* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,300 Btu/h5.07 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FM(C,U)5Z36**AL* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,200 Btu/h5.04 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FMA5X36**AL* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 17,000 Btu/h4.98 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · one speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FEVA0048**+NAVA54801CK (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,4005.10 | 36,40010.67 | 36,80010.79 | 48% | 2.18 | NC | 4 |
| FEVB0048**+NAVA54801CK (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,4005.10 | 36,20010.61 | 36,40010.67 | 48% | 2.22 | NC | 4 |
| FM(C,U)5S36**AL* (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,3005.07 | 35,80010.49 | 34,80010.20 | 48% | 2.00 | NC | 4 |
| FM(C,U)5Z36**AL* (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,2005.04 | 35,60010.43 | 35,00010.26 | 48% | 2.08 | NC | 4 |
| FMA5X36**AL* (the pairing on screen) | — | 17,0004.98 | 35,40010.37 | 35,00010.26 | 48% | 2.00 | NC | 4 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Other brands that list these model numbers
- Are Brock and Bryant heat pumps the same?14 shared model numbers
- Are Brock and Payne heat pumps the same?14 shared model numbers
- Are Brock and WeatherMaker heat pumps the same?14 shared model numbers
- Are Bryant and WeatherMaker heat pumps the same?108 shared model numbers
- Are Bryant and Payne heat pumps the same?107 shared model numbers
Model number as listed
- PH5SAN536**AA* 97 pairings
Variants of the same model number
10 units in this group. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
- 235SAN036**AA*Bryant
- 246SAN036**AA*Bryant
- 27SCA536A**30*Carrier
- 27SPA636A**30*Carrier
- GH5SAN536**AA*Bryant · Carrier
- N5H5S36*K*AAA*ACiQ · Airquest · Arcoaire · Comfortmaker · Day & Night · Heil · Keeprite · Kenmore · Maratherm · Smart Comfort · Tempstar
- PH5SAN536**AB*WeatherMaker
- R5H5S36*K*AAA*ACiQ · Airquest · Arcoaire · Comfortmaker · Day & Night · Heil · Keeprite · Kenmore · Maratherm · Smart Comfort · Tempstar
- W5H5S36*K*AAA*EcoTemp · Grandaire
9 of 10 shown.
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- PH5SAN536**AA* changed its certified COP at 5°F on 16 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025. The new figure is lower on all 16.
- PH5SAN536**AA* changed its certified heat output at 5°F on 17 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025. The new figure is lower on all 17.
- PH5SAN536**AA* changed its certified heat output at 17°F on 19 pairings in the certified data between June 2025 and August 2025. The new figure is higher on 8 and lower on 11.
- PH5SAN536**AA* was in the certified data by September 2024.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Jul 3, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read