A5HP5042A1
A5HP5042A1 is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 18,800–20,000 Btu/h5.51–5.86 kW, 48–51% of its 47°F rating, depending on the pairing.
Ameristar and RunTru · central heat pump
All 37 certified Ameristar models · All 37 certified RunTru models
A5HP5042A1 is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026.
- 42,000 Btu (3.5-ton)
- Central
- Single stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
38,00011.14NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
25,2007.39NR at 17°F
19,3005.66NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.10NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 38,000 Btu/h11.14 kW of heat at 47°F, 25,200 Btu/h7.39 kW at 17°F, and 19,300 Btu/h5.66 kW at 5°F, 51% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 37,800 Btu/h11.08 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 13,700 Btu/h4.02 kW short of the example heating load of 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW; at 95°F it is 20,800 Btu/h6.10 kW above the example cooling load of 17,000 Btu/h4.98 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at one speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 3.5-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,400 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 17,000 Btu/h4.98 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 215575406 · listed by RunTru · certified Apr 9, 2025 · 4 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
Meets the recorded equipment thresholds of 34 programs in 22 states, provinces, or territories:California (2), Colorado (1), Delaware (1), Idaho (2), Illinois (1), Kansas (1), Maryland (3), Michigan (2), Minnesota (2), Mississippi (1), Nevada (1), New Hampshire (1), New Jersey (4), North Carolina (1), Oregon (2), Pennsylvania (3), South Carolina (1), Texas (3), Utah (1), Washington (2), Wisconsin (1), Newfoundland and Labrador (1).
All 34 programs by state and province
California
Colorado
Delaware
Idaho
Illinois
Kansas
Maryland
- BGE Smart Energy Savers Heating and Cooling
- Delmarva Power Maryland HVAC Efficiency Program
- Pepco Maryland HVAC Efficiency Program
Michigan
Minnesota
- Wright-Hennepin Air Source Heat Pump Rebate · Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association
- Xcel Energy Minnesota Air Source Heat Pump Rebates
Mississippi
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
- Atlantic City Electric HVAC Efficiency Program
- JCP&L Residential HVAC Rebates
- PSE&G HVAC Instant Rebates
- SAVEGREEN Hybrid Heat · New Jersey Natural Gas
North Carolina
Oregon
- Energy Trust of Oregon Heat Pump Incentives · Portland General Electric (PGE) · Pacific Power
- Idaho Power Heating and Cooling Efficiency Program
Pennsylvania
South Carolina
Texas
- Austin Energy Air Conditioning and Heat Pump Rebate
- CPS Energy SaveNow HVAC Rebate
- CenterPoint Residential Standard Offer Program · CenterPoint Energy
Utah
Washington
Wisconsin
Newfoundland and Labrador
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s median certified figures across its pairings, not the pairing selected above. Meeting these thresholds means the equipment may qualify; it does not guarantee approval. Service-area, installation, and product-list requirements also apply.
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 19,3005.66 kW | −42% | 2.10 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 25,2007.39 kW | −19% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 38,00011.14 kW | −14% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 37,80011.08 kW | — | NR |
EER2 11.7 in that test. SEER2 15.2 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 2.69kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 3.23kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.37
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 42,000 Btu heat pumps
3.5-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 19,300 Btu/h5.66 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 19,300 Btu/h5.66 kW
- Median of 3.5-ton central models at 5°F
- 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW
- Models in this group
- 222
This unit is above 7% of them, at number 207 of 222 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 20,000 to 40,000 Btu/h.
Among 42,000 Btu central models, each by its median certified pairing, highest first: 5°F output as a share of its 47°F rating, 182nd of 222; HSPF2, 122nd of 224 (tied). Models without that figure are left out.
Similar ratings at 47°F
These central models share the nominal cooling size. Comparisons use each model’s median certified figures across pairings.
- DZ6VSA421EA: 40,000 Btu/h at 47°F (this model: 39,500); 30,600 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 19,300).
- RD16AY48AJVC: 40,000 Btu/h at 47°F (this model: 39,500); 22,000 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 19,300).
- 5DCZ5042A1: 39,000 Btu/h at 47°F (this model: 39,500); HSPF2 7.2 (this model: 8.1).
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- N5HP5042A1American Standard and Trane · 19,400 Btu/h
- 5TWR5042A1Trane · 19,300 Btu/h
- 5TWX5042A1Trane · 19,300 Btu/h
- 5TWR6042A1Trane · 19,200 Btu/h
- 5TWX6042A1Trane · 19,200 Btu/h
- LDT048H5E*1PAllied Commercial and Lennox · 19,000 Btu/h
Every 42,000 Btu (3.5-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Floor area at the cold test point
The median certified output of 19,300 Btu/h at 5°F matches the size calculator’s heating estimate for these floor areas, rounded to about 10 sq ft. Each range divides that output by the climate band’s heating rates.
| Climate band | House condition | Btu/h per sq ft | Approximate sq ft |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mild | Drafty, little insulation | 24–42 | 460–800 |
| Mild | Typical | 16–26 | 740–1,210 |
| Mild | Tight, well insulated | 10–18 | 1,070–1,930 |
| Cold | Drafty, little insulation | 28–52 | 370–690 |
| Cold | Typical | 18–30 | 640–1,070 |
| Cold | Tight, well insulated | 12–22 | 880–1,610 |
| Very cold | Drafty, little insulation | 32–58 | 330–600 |
| Very cold | Typical | 22–38 | 510–880 |
| Very cold | Tight, well insulated | 16–28 | 690–1,210 |
This is an estimate, not a house-specific load calculation. Output stays at the 5°F test point for every band; it does not predict output at the band’s winter design temperature.
Certified values for A5HP5042A1
250 pairings · 250 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F one speed | 38,000 Btu/h11.14 kWNR | 37,400–40,500 Btu/h10.96–11.87 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 25,200 Btu/h7.39 kWNR | 24,800–26,400 Btu/h7.27–7.74 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 19,300 Btu/h5.66 kWNR | 18,800–20,000 Btu/h5.51–5.86 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 51%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.10NR | 2.00–2.30 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 8.1NR | 7.8–8.1 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 37,800 Btu/h11.08 kWNR | 37,800–41,500 Btu/h11.08–12.16 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 11.7NR | 11.7–12.0 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 15.2NR | 15.2–16.0 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Single stage | |
| Indoor unit | 5PX*D008AS3+TSTAT | 34 indoor units |
| Furnace | A952V120DD5SB | 33 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On some pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | A5HP5042A1 | |
Across 250 certified pairings with 34 indoor models: heat at 5°F 18,800 Btu/h with A5AHC004A1D3+TDR+TSTAT to 20,000 Btu/h with 5PX*B006AS3+TSTAT; HSPF2 7.8 with 5PX*B006AS3+TSTAT to 8.1 with 5PX*B006AS3+TSTAT; SEER2 15.2 with 5PX*B006AS3+TSTAT to 16.0 with 5PX*B006AS3+TSTAT+P0V0B000M40SD. Endpoints name one indoor model where recorded; the furnace pairing can also change the figures.
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
34 indoor units · 250 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 5 indoor units
-
5TXCC007AS3+TSTAT (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,500 Btu/h5.71 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
5TXCB006AS3+TSTAT (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,400 Btu/h5.69 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
5PX*C007AS3+TSTAT (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,400 Btu/h5.69 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
5PX*B006AS3+TSTAT (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,450 Btu/h5.70 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
5PX*D008AS3+TSTAT (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,500 Btu/h5.71 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · one speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5TXCC007AS3+TSTAT (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,5005.71 | 40,00011.72 | 40,00011.72 | 49% | 2.10 | NC | 26 |
| 5TXCB006AS3+TSTAT (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,4005.69 | 39,25011.50 | 39,00011.43 | 49% | 2.10 | NC | 24 |
| 5PX*C007AS3+TSTAT (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,4005.69 | 39,50011.58 | 40,00011.72 | 49% | 2.10 | NC | 18 |
| 5PX*B006AS3+TSTAT (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,4505.70 | 39,50011.58 | 39,25011.50 | 49% | 2.10 | NC | 16 |
| 5PX*D008AS3+TSTAT (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,5005.71 | 40,00011.72 | 40,50011.87 | 49% | 2.10 | NC | 10 |
Air handler · 5 indoor units
-
5PX*C009AS3+TSTAT (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,300 Btu/h5.66 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
5TXCC009AS3+TSTAT (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,300 Btu/h5.66 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
5TXCD010AS3+TSTAT (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,300 Btu/h5.66 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
5PX*CD09AS3+TSTAT (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,200 Btu/h5.63 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
5PX*D010AS3+TSTAT (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,300 Btu/h5.66 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · one speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5PX*C009AS3+TSTAT (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,3005.66 | 39,00011.43 | 40,50011.87 | 49% | 2.10 | NC | 22 |
| 5TXCC009AS3+TSTAT (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,3005.66 | 39,00011.43 | 40,50011.87 | 49% | 2.10 | NC | 22 |
| 5TXCD010AS3+TSTAT (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,3005.66 | 39,25011.50 | 40,50011.87 | 49% | 2.10 | NC | 16 |
| 5PX*CD09AS3+TSTAT (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,2005.63 | 39,00011.43 | 40,50011.87 | 49% | 2.10 | NC | 12 |
| 5PX*D010AS3+TSTAT (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,3005.66 | 39,50011.58 | 41,00012.02 | 49% | 2.10 | NC | 10 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Other brands that list these model numbers
Model number as listed
- A5HP5042A1 250 pairings
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
History and definitions
Other A5HP5 models by nominal cooling size: A5HP5018A1 (18,000 Btu), A5HP5024A1 (24,000 Btu), A5HP5030A1 (30,000 Btu), A5HP5036A1 (36,000 Btu), A5HP5048A1 (42,000 Btu), A5HP5060A1 (54,000 Btu).
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Apr 9, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read