EL17XP1-042-230A
Lennox · central heat pump
All 152 certified Lennox models
EL17XP1-042-230A is in the certified data as of Sep 27, 2026.
- 42,000 Btu (3.5-ton)
- Central
- Single stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
39,00011.43NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
25,4007.44NR at 17°F
19,9005.83NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.08NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 39,000 Btu/h11.43 kW of heat at 47°F, 25,400 Btu/h7.44 kW at 17°F, and 19,900 Btu/h5.83 kW at 5°F, 51% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 41,000 Btu/h12.02 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 13,100 Btu/h3.84 kW short of the example heating load of 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW; at 95°F it is 24,000 Btu/h7.03 kW above the example cooling load of 17,000 Btu/h4.98 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at one speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 3.5-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,400 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 17,000 Btu/h4.98 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 210293714 · listed by Lennox · certified Oct 27, 2025 · 6 pairings share these values
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 19,9005.83 kW | −40% | 2.08 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 25,4007.44 kW | −18% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 39,00011.43 kW | −11% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 41,00012.02 kW | — | NR |
EER2 12.5 in that test. SEER2 15.2 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 2.80kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 3.28kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.29
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 42,000 Btu heat pumps
3.5-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 19,900 Btu/h5.83 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 19,900 Btu/h5.83 kW
- Median of 3.5-ton central models at 5°F
- 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW
- Models in this group
- 222
This unit is above 16% of them, at number 187 of 222 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 20,000 to 40,000 Btu/h.
Among 42,000 Btu central models, each by its median certified pairing, highest first: 5°F output as a share of its 47°F rating, 156th of 222 (tied); HSPF2, 163rd of 224 (tied). Models without that figure are left out.
Similar ratings at 47°F
These central models share the nominal cooling size. Comparisons use each model’s median certified figures across pairings.
- 5DCZ5042A1: The same 39,000 Btu/h rating at 47°F; HSPF2 7.2 (this model: 7.8).
- DZ6VSA421EA: 40,000 Btu/h at 47°F (this model: 39,000); 30,600 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 19,900).
- RD16AY48AJVC: 40,000 Btu/h at 47°F (this model: 39,000); 22,000 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 19,900).
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- BH714S42P-**AAC Pro, Blueridge + 1 more · 19,900 Btu/h
- BHP17L42P-**ABlueridge · 19,900 Btu/h
- EL16KP1-042-230ALennox · 19,900 Btu/h
- HRG1542S1R-**ACentury and Comfort-Aire · 19,900 Btu/h
- MHP17042A-**ABlueridge and MRCOOL · 19,900 Btu/h
- ML14KP1-042-230ALennox · 19,900 Btu/h
Every 42,000 Btu (3.5-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Floor area at the cold test point
The median certified output of 19,900 Btu/h at 5°F matches the size calculator’s heating estimate for these floor areas, rounded to about 10 sq ft. Each range divides that output by the climate band’s heating rates.
| Climate band | House condition | Btu/h per sq ft | Approximate sq ft |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mild | Drafty, little insulation | 24–42 | 470–830 |
| Mild | Typical | 16–26 | 770–1,240 |
| Mild | Tight, well insulated | 10–18 | 1,110–1,990 |
| Cold | Drafty, little insulation | 28–52 | 380–710 |
| Cold | Typical | 18–30 | 660–1,110 |
| Cold | Tight, well insulated | 12–22 | 900–1,660 |
| Very cold | Drafty, little insulation | 32–58 | 340–620 |
| Very cold | Typical | 22–38 | 520–900 |
| Very cold | Tight, well insulated | 16–28 | 710–1,240 |
This is an estimate, not a house-specific load calculation. Output stays at the 5°F test point for every band; it does not predict output at the band’s winter design temperature.
Certified values for EL17XP1-042-230A
188 pairings · 188 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F one speed | 39,000 Btu/h11.43 kWNR | 37,600–42,000 Btu/h11.02–12.31 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 25,400 Btu/h7.44 kWNR | 25,000–27,800 Btu/h7.33–8.15 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 19,900 Btu/h5.83 kWNR | 10,400–22,000 Btu/h3.05–6.45 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 51%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.08NR | 2.00–2.22 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 7.8NR | 7.8–8.3 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 41,000 Btu/h12.02 kWNR | 40,000–42,000 Btu/h11.72–12.31 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 12.5NR | 12.5–13.0 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 15.2NR | 15.2–15.6 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-410A | |
| Compressor | Single stage | |
| Indoor unit | C35-49C+TDR+TXV | 26 indoor units |
| Furnace | EL196UH090XE48C* | 42 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | EL17XP1-042-230A** | |
Across 188 certified pairings with 26 indoor models: heat at 5°F 10,400 Btu/h with CHX35-42B-**-*+TDR to 22,000 Btu/h with CBA27UHE-042-230*+TDR; HSPF2 7.8 with C35-48B+TDR+TXV to 8.3 with CBA27UHE-042-230*+TDR; SEER2 15.2 with C35-48B+TDR+TXV to 15.6 with C35-48C+TDR+TXV. Endpoints name one indoor model where recorded; the furnace pairing can also change the figures.
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
26 indoor units · 188 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 10 indoor units
-
C35-49C+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,900 Btu/h5.83 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CX35-49C+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,900 Btu/h5.83 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
C35-48C+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,700 Btu/h5.77 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40CT-48C-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,800 Btu/h5.80 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CX35-48C+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,800 Btu/h5.80 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CHX35-42B-**-*+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 20,000 Btu/h5.86 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40HT-42B-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 20,000 Btu/h5.86 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40CT-49C-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,900 Btu/h5.83 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CHX35-48C-**-*+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 20,200 Btu/h5.92 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40HT-48C-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 20,200 Btu/h5.92 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · one speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| C35-49C+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,9005.83 | 39,00011.43 | 41,50012.16 | 51% | 2.08 | NC | 22 |
| CX35-49C+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,9005.83 | 39,00011.43 | 41,50012.16 | 51% | 2.08 | NC | 22 |
| C35-48C+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,7005.77 | 39,50011.58 | 41,50012.16 | 51% | 2.10 | NC | 21 |
| CK40CT-48C-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,8005.80 | 39,50011.58 | 41,50012.16 | 51% | 2.10 | NC | 20 |
| CX35-48C+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,8005.80 | 39,50011.58 | 41,50012.16 | 51% | 2.10 | NC | 20 |
| CHX35-42B-**-*+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 20,0005.86 | 38,00011.14 | 41,25012.09 | 53% | 2.12 | NC | 12 |
| CK40HT-42B-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 20,0005.86 | 38,00011.14 | 41,25012.09 | 53% | 2.12 | NC | 12 |
| CK40CT-49C-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,9005.83 | 39,00011.43 | 42,00012.31 | 51% | 2.08 | NC | 11 |
| CHX35-48C-**-*+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 20,2005.92 | 39,00011.43 | 41,00012.02 | 52% | 2.04 | NC | 8 |
| CK40HT-48C-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 20,2005.92 | 39,00011.43 | 41,00012.02 | 52% | 2.04 | NC | 7 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Model number as listed
- EL17XP1-042-230A** 188 pairings
Variants of the same model number
2 units in this group. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
1 of 2 shown.
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
History and definitions
Other MERIT ML17XP1 Series models by nominal cooling size: ML17XP1-018-230A (18,000 Btu), ML17XP1-024-230A (24,000 Btu), ML17XP1-030-230A (30,000 Btu), ML17XP1-036-230A (36,000 Btu), ML17XP1-042-230A (42,000 Btu), ML17XP1-048-230A (48,000 Btu).
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Oct 27, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read