ML17XP1-042-230A
ML17XP1-042-230A is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 10,400–22,000 Btu/h3.05–6.45 kW, 27–57% of its 47°F rating, depending on the pairing.
Lennox · central heat pump
ML17XP1-042-230A is in the certified data as of Sep 27, 2026. ML17XP1-042-230A changed its certified heat output at 17°F on AHRI certificate 214861239 from 25,800 Btu/h to 26,200 Btu/h in the certified data between September 2024 and November 2024.
- 42,000 Btu (3.5-ton)
- Central
- Single stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
39,00011.43NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
25,4007.44NR at 17°F
19,9005.83NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.08NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 39,000 Btu/h11.43 kW of heat at 47°F, 25,400 Btu/h7.44 kW at 17°F, and 19,900 Btu/h5.83 kW at 5°F, 51% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 41,000 Btu/h12.02 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 13,100 Btu/h3.84 kW short of the example heating load of 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW; at 95°F it is 24,000 Btu/h7.03 kW above the example cooling load of 17,000 Btu/h4.98 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at one speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 3.5-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,400 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 17,000 Btu/h4.98 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 210049461 · listed by Lennox · certified Oct 27, 2025 · 9 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 19,9005.83 kW | −40% | 2.08 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 25,4007.44 kW | −18% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 39,00011.43 kW | −11% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 41,00012.02 kW | — | NR |
EER2 12.5 in that test. SEER2 15.2 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 2.80kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 3.28kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.29
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 42,000 Btu heat pumps
3.5-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 19,900 Btu/h5.83 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 19,900 Btu/h5.83 kW
- Median of 3.5-ton central models at 5°F
- 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW
- Models in this group
- 222
This unit is above 16% of them, at number 187 of 222 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 20,000 to 40,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- HRG1542S1R-**ACentury and Comfort-Aire · 19,900 Btu/h
- MHP17042A-**ABlueridge and MRCOOL · 19,900 Btu/h
- ML14KP1-042-230ALennox · 19,900 Btu/h
- NS16H42SA5-**AGE · 19,900 Btu/h
- WP14AY42AJ2NFujitsu, Rheem + 2 more · 19,900 Btu/h
- GH5SAN542**AA*Bryant and Carrier · 19,800 Btu/h
Every 42,000 Btu (3.5-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for ML17XP1-042-230A
206 pairings · 206 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F one speed | 39,000 Btu/h11.43 kWNR | 37,600–42,000 Btu/h11.02–12.31 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 25,400 Btu/h7.44 kWNR | 25,000–27,800 Btu/h7.33–8.15 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 19,900 Btu/h5.83 kWNR | 10,400–22,000 Btu/h3.05–6.45 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 51%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.08NR | 2.00–2.22 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 7.8NR | 7.8–8.3 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 41,000 Btu/h12.02 kWNR | 40,000–42,000 Btu/h11.72–12.31 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 12.5NR | 12.5–13.0 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 15.2NR | 15.2–15.6 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-410A | |
| Compressor | Single stage | |
| Indoor unit | C35-49C+TDR+TXV | 29 indoor units |
| Furnace | EL196UH090XE48C* | 43 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | ML17XP1-042-230A** | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
29 indoor units · 206 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 10 indoor units
-
C35-49C+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,900 Btu/h5.83 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40CT-49C-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,900 Btu/h5.83 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CX35-49C+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,900 Btu/h5.83 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
C35-48C+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,700 Btu/h5.77 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40CT-48C-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,800 Btu/h5.80 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CX35-48C+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,800 Btu/h5.80 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CHX35-42B-**-*+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 20,000 Btu/h5.86 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40HT-42B-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 20,000 Btu/h5.86 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CHX35-48C-**-*+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 20,200 Btu/h5.92 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CK40HT-48C-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 20,200 Btu/h5.92 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · one speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| C35-49C+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,9005.83 | 39,00011.43 | 41,50012.16 | 51% | 2.08 | NC | 23 |
| CK40CT-49C-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,9005.83 | 39,00011.43 | 41,50012.16 | 51% | 2.08 | NC | 23 |
| CX35-49C+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,9005.83 | 39,00011.43 | 41,50012.16 | 51% | 2.08 | NC | 23 |
| C35-48C+TDR+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,7005.77 | 39,50011.58 | 41,50012.16 | 51% | 2.10 | NC | 21 |
| CK40CT-48C-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,8005.80 | 39,50011.58 | 41,50012.16 | 51% | 2.10 | NC | 20 |
| CX35-48C+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,8005.80 | 39,50011.58 | 41,50012.16 | 51% | 2.10 | NC | 20 |
| CHX35-42B-**-*+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 20,0005.86 | 38,00011.14 | 41,25012.09 | 53% | 2.12 | NC | 12 |
| CK40HT-42B-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 20,0005.86 | 38,00011.14 | 41,25012.09 | 53% | 2.12 | NC | 12 |
| CHX35-48C-**-*+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 20,2005.92 | 39,00011.43 | 41,00012.02 | 52% | 2.04 | NC | 8 |
| CK40HT-48C-0*+TDR (the pairing on screen) | — | 20,2005.92 | 39,00011.43 | 41,00012.02 | 52% | 2.04 | NC | 8 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Model number as listed
- ML17XP1-042-230A** 206 pairings
Variants of the same model number
2 units in this group. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
1 of 2 shown.
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- ML17XP1-042-230A changed its certified heat output at 17°F on AHRI certificate 214861239 from 25,800 Btu/h to 26,200 Btu/h in the certified data between September 2024 and November 2024.
- ML17XP1-042-230A was in the certified data by September 2024.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Oct 27, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read