NS18H36MA4
NS18H36MA4 is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 14,500–18,400 Btu/h4.25–5.39 kW, 53–67% of its 47°F rating (tests at different compressor speeds), depending on the pairing.
GE · central heat pump
NS18H36MA4 is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. NS18H36MA4 changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 18 pairings in the certified data between February 2025 and September 2026. The new figure is lower on all 18.
- 24,000 Btu (2-ton)
- Central
- Variable speed
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
23,2006.80NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
15,9004.66NR at 17°F
15,2004.45NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
1.93NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 23,200 Btu/h6.80 kW of heat at 47°F, 15,900 Btu/h4.66 kW at 17°F, and 15,200 Btu/h4.45 kW at 5°F, 66% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 23,200 Btu/h6.80 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 3,800 Btu/h1.11 kW short of the example heating load of 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kW; at 95°F it is 13,700 Btu/h4.02 kW above the example cooling load of 9,500 Btu/h2.78 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at normal speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 2-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 800 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 9,500 Btu/h2.78 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 209941249 · listed by GE · certified Jun 4, 2026 · 2 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s certified figures across its pairings. Programs also set service-area, installation, and product-list requirements.
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Ffull speed | 15,2004.45 kW | −20% | 1.93 | |
| 17°Ffull speed | 15,9004.66 kW | −17% | NR | |
| 47°Fnormal speed | 23,2006.80 kW | −3% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 23,2006.80 kW | — | NR |
EER2 12.3 in that test. SEER2 19.0 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 2.31kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 1.89kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.29
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 24,000 Btu heat pumps
2-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 15,200 Btu/h4.45 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 15,200 Btu/h4.45 kW
- Median of 2-ton central models at 5°F
- 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kW
- Models in this group
- 565
This unit is above 24% of them, at number 431 of 565 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 16,000 to 21,600 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- 4HP18V36PAC Pro, Allied + 3 more · 15,200 Btu/h
- 4SHP18LX136PAirEase and Armstrong Air · 15,200 Btu/h
- HRG1836S1PCentury and Comfort-Aire · 15,200 Btu/h
- 7HP19V36P-**AAllied, Breeze33 + 2 more · 15,100 Btu/h
- BH719M36P-**AAC Pro, Blueridge + 1 more · 15,100 Btu/h
- EL19KPV-024-230ALennox · 15,100 Btu/h
Every 24,000 Btu (2-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for NS18H36MA4
35 pairings · 35 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F normal speed | 23,200 Btu/h6.80 kWNR | 22,000–34,400 Btu/h6.45–10.08 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 15,900 Btu/h4.66 kWNR | 15,000–22,600 Btu/h4.40–6.62 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 15,200 Btu/h4.45 kWNR | 14,500–18,400 Btu/h4.25–5.39 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 66%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 1.93NR | 1.85–2.18 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 7.8NR | 7.8–8.5 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 23,200 Btu/h6.80 kWNR | 22,000–34,400 Btu/h6.45–10.08 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 12.3NR | 11.7–12.3 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 19.0NR | 17.1–19.0 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-410A | |
| Compressor | Variable speed | |
| Indoor unit | NCUU24BP4+TXV | 21 indoor units |
| Furnace | NF96U070V3B-* | 5 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | NS18H36MA4-** | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
21 indoor units · 35 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 5 indoor units
-
NCHC30BT4 (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 15,150 Btu/h4.44 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
NCUC24BT4 (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 15,450 Btu/h4.53 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
NCUU24BP4+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 15,450 Btu/h4.53 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
NCUU30BP4+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 15,050 Btu/h4.41 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
NCUC30BT4 (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 14,900 Btu/h4.37 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · normal speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCHC30BT4 (the pairing on screen) | — | 15,1504.44 | 23,9007.00 | 23,9007.00 | 64% | 2.03 | NC | 4 |
| NCUC24BT4 (the pairing on screen) | — | 15,4504.53 | 23,4006.86 | 23,4006.86 | 66% | 1.93 | NC | 4 |
| NCUU24BP4+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 15,4504.53 | 23,4006.86 | 23,4006.86 | 66% | 1.93 | NC | 4 |
| NCUU30BP4+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 15,0504.41 | 23,6006.92 | 23,6006.92 | 64% | 1.96 | NC | 4 |
| NCUC30BT4 (the pairing on screen) | — | 14,9004.37 | 23,4006.86 | 23,4006.86 | 64% | 1.96 | NC | 3 |
Air handler · 5 indoor units
-
NAM18P1TA4 (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 14,700 Btu/h4.31 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
NAM18V1TA4-** (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 15,200 Btu/h4.45 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
NAM24E1TA4-** (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 14,900 Btu/h4.37 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
NAM24V1TA4-** (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 15,400 Btu/h4.51 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
NAM24V2TA4 (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 14,500 Btu/h4.25 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · normal speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NAM18P1TA4 (the pairing on screen) | — | 14,7004.31 | 22,0006.45 | 22,0006.45 | 67% | 1.94 | NC | 1 |
| NAM18V1TA4-** (the pairing on screen) | — | 15,2004.45 | 23,4006.86 | 23,4006.86 | 65% | 2.04 | NC | 1 |
| NAM24E1TA4-** (the pairing on screen) | — | 14,9004.37 | 23,0006.74 | 23,0006.74 | 65% | 1.85 | NC | 1 |
| NAM24V1TA4-** (the pairing on screen) | — | 15,4004.51 | 23,4006.86 | 23,4006.86 | 66% | 1.88 | NC | 1 |
| NAM24V2TA4 (the pairing on screen) | — | 14,5004.25 | 23,0006.74 | 23,0006.74 | 63% | 1.94 | NC | 1 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- NS18H36MA4 changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 18 pairings in the certified data between February 2025 and September 2026. The new figure is lower on all 18.
- NS18H36MA4 changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 26 pairings in the certified data between February 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is lower on all 26.
- NS18H36MA4 changed its certified heat output at 47°F on AHRI certificate 209941211 from 24,000 Btu/h to 23,800 Btu/h in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- NS18H36MA4 was in the certified data by September 2024.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Jun 4, 2026
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read