PH5SAN542**AA*
Brock, Bryant + 2 more · central heat pump
PH5SAN542**AA* is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. PH5SAN542**AA* changed its certified COP at 5°F on AHRI certificate 216464106 from 2.10 to 2.26 in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026.
- 42,000 Btu (3.5-ton)
- Central
- Single stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
40,50011.87NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
25,6007.50NR at 17°F
19,8005.80NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.24NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 40,500 Btu/h11.87 kW of heat at 47°F, 25,600 Btu/h7.50 kW at 17°F, and 19,800 Btu/h5.80 kW at 5°F, 49% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 43,000 Btu/h12.60 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 13,200 Btu/h3.87 kW short of the example heating load of 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW; at 95°F it is 26,000 Btu/h7.62 kW above the example cooling load of 17,000 Btu/h4.98 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at one speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 3.5-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,400 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 17,000 Btu/h4.98 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 214277420 · listed by BRYANT HEATING AND COOLING SYSTEMS · certified Feb 10, 2026 · 4 pairings share these values
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 19,8005.80 kW | −40% | 2.24 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 25,6007.50 kW | −17% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 40,50011.87 kW | −8% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 43,00012.60 kW | — | NR |
EER2 12.5 in that test. SEER2 15.2 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 2.59kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 3.44kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.29
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 42,000 Btu heat pumps
3.5-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 19,800 Btu/h5.80 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 19,800 Btu/h5.80 kW
- Median of 3.5-ton central models at 5°F
- 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW
- Models in this group
- 222
This unit is above 10% of them, at number 200 of 222 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 20,000 to 40,000 Btu/h.
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- ML17XP1-042-230ALennox · 19,900 Btu/h
- NS16H42SA5-**AGE · 19,900 Btu/h
- WP14AY42AJ2NFujitsu, Rheem + 2 more · 19,900 Btu/h
- WLP15AY42AJ2NWhirlpool · 19,700 Btu/h
- DRHP14B42AJ2ANDuraSTAR · 19,400 Btu/h
- N5HP5042A1American Standard and Trane · 19,400 Btu/h
Every 42,000 Btu (3.5-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Certified values for PH5SAN542**AA*
18 pairings · 18 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F one speed | 40,500 Btu/h11.87 kWNR | 39,000–40,500 Btu/h11.43–11.87 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 25,600 Btu/h7.50 kWNR | 24,600–25,600 Btu/h7.21–7.50 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 19,800 Btu/h5.80 kWNR | 19,000–19,900 Btu/h5.57–5.83 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 49%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.24NR | 2.20–2.26 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 7.8NR | 7.8 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 43,000 Btu/h12.60 kWNR | 41,500–43,000 Btu/h12.16–12.60 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 12.5NR | 11.7–13.0 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 15.2NR | 15.2–15.5 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Single stage | |
| Indoor unit | FEVB0060**+NAVA56001CK | 7 indoor units |
| Furnace | No furnace | None |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | PH5SAN542**AA* | |
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
7 indoor units · 18 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Air handler · 7 indoor units
-
FEVB0060**+NAVA56001CK (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,800 Btu/h5.80 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
PF5MN*D60L* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,900 Btu/h5.83 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
PF5TNBD60L* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FJ5AN*D60L* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,900 Btu/h5.83 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
F55AA*D60L* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,900 Btu/h5.83 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FG5ANBD60L* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FT5ANBD60L* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 19,000 Btu/h5.57 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · one speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FEVB0060**+NAVA56001CK (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,8005.80 | 40,50011.87 | 43,00012.60 | 49% | 2.24 | NC | 4 |
| PF5MN*D60L* (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,9005.83 | 40,50011.87 | 42,50012.46 | 49% | 2.26 | NC | 4 |
| PF5TNBD60L* (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,0005.57 | 39,00011.43 | 41,50012.16 | 49% | 2.20 | NC | 4 |
| FJ5AN*D60L* (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,9005.83 | 40,50011.87 | 42,50012.46 | 49% | 2.26 | NC | 3 |
| F55AA*D60L* (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,9005.83 | 40,50011.87 | 42,50012.46 | 49% | 2.26 | NC | 1 |
| FG5ANBD60L* (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,0005.57 | 39,00011.43 | 41,50012.16 | 49% | 2.20 | NC | 1 |
| FT5ANBD60L* (the pairing on screen) | — | 19,0005.57 | 39,00011.43 | 41,50012.16 | 49% | 2.20 | NC | 1 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Other brands that list these model numbers
- Are Brock and Bryant heat pumps the same?14 shared model numbers
- Are Brock and Payne heat pumps the same?14 shared model numbers
- Are Brock and WeatherMaker heat pumps the same?14 shared model numbers
- Are Bryant and WeatherMaker heat pumps the same?108 shared model numbers
- Are Bryant and Payne heat pumps the same?107 shared model numbers
Model number as listed
- PH5SAN542**AA* 18 pairings
Variants of the same model number
15 units in this group. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
- (C,H,T)5H6S42*K*AAA*Kenmore
- 235SAN042**AA*Bryant
- 246SAN042**AA*Bryant
- 27SCA542A**30*Carrier
- 27SPA642A**30*Carrier
- B5H6S42*K*AAA*Airquest · Arcoaire · Comfortmaker · Day & Night · Heil · Keeprite · Kenmore · Tempstar
- C5H6S42*K*AAA*Comfortmaker · Day & Night · Keeprite
- GH5SAN542**AA*Bryant · Carrier
- H5H6S42*K*AAA*Airquest · Arcoaire · Heil
- N5H5S42*K*AAA*ACiQ · Airquest · Arcoaire · Comfortmaker · Day & Night · Heil · Keeprite · Kenmore · Maratherm · Smart Comfort · Tempstar
- PH5SAN542**AB*WeatherMaker
- R5H5S42*K*AAA*ACiQ · Airquest · Arcoaire · Comfortmaker · Day & Night · Heil · Keeprite · Kenmore · Maratherm · Smart Comfort · Tempstar
- T5H6S42*K*AAA*Tempstar
- W5H5S42*K*AAA*EcoTemp · Grandaire
14 of 15 shown.
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- PH5SAN542**AA* changed its certified COP at 5°F on AHRI certificate 216464106 from 2.10 to 2.26 in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026.
- PH5SAN542**AA* changed its certified heat output at 5°F on AHRI certificate 216464106 from 19,700 Btu/h to 19,900 Btu/h in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026.
- PH5SAN542**AA* changed its certified heat output at 17°F on 4 pairings from 25,400 Btu/h to 25,600 Btu/h in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026.
- PH5SAN542**AA* was in the certified data by September 2024.
History and definitions
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Feb 10, 2026
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read