Heat Pump List

Tools

C5H8T48*K*AAA*

C5H8T48*K*AAA* is in the certified data.

Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 23,200–26,600 Btu/h, 47–53% of its 47°F rating, depending on the pairing.

Comfortmaker, Day & Night + 1 more · central heat pump

All 173 certified Comfortmaker models · All 177 certified Day & Night models · All 175 certified Keeprite models

C5H8T48*K*AAA* is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. C5H8T48*K*AAA* changed its certified SEER2 on 129 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is lower on all 129.

1,245 certified pairings with 240 different figures. See all

Certified heating and cooling

Heating at 47°F

51,000

31,200 at 17°F

24,800 at 5°F

Btu/h, certified

2.14 COP at 5°F

Cooling at 95°F

49,000

Btu/h, certified

EER2 12.0 at 95°F

SEER2 16.5

Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature

Certified heating at 5, 17, and 47°F and cooling at 95°F for C5H8T48*K*AAA*, by outdoor temperature Heating: 24,800 Btu/h at 5°F, 31,200 Btu/h at 17°F, 51,000 Btu/h at 47°F. Cooling: 49,000 Btu/h at 95°F. The bars start at zero. Median of 4-ton central models: 36,400 Btu/h at 5°F, 35,000 Btu/h at 17°F, 48,000 Btu/h at 47°F, 48,000 Btu/h at 95°F. 0 20,000 40,000 60,000 Btu/h 24,800 5°F 31,200 17°F 51,000 47°F 49,000 95°F Outdoor temperature (°F)
  • Heating output
  • Cooling output
  • Median of 4-ton central models
  • Example heating load
  • Example cooling load
  • Frosting range, 17 to 45°F

This pairing delivers 51,000 Btu/h of heat at 47°F, 31,200 Btu/h at 17°F, and 24,800 Btu/h at 5°F, 49% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 49,000 Btu/h of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 11,700 Btu/h short of the example heating load of 36,500 Btu/h; at 95°F it is 31,000 Btu/h above the example cooling load of 18,000 Btu/h.

Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at high stage; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 4-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.

The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,500 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 36,500 Btu/h at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 18,000 Btu/h at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.

Calculate heating and cooling for your house

AHRI certificate 216350113 · listed by Comfortmaker · certified Jul 16, 2026 · 15 pairings share these values

Rebates where you live

Meets the recorded equipment thresholds of 29 programs in 18 states, provinces, or territories:California (2), Colorado (1), Delaware (1), Idaho (1), Kansas (1), Maryland (3), Michigan (2), Minnesota (2), Mississippi (1), Nevada (1), New Jersey (4), North Carolina (1), Oregon (2), Pennsylvania (3), South Carolina (1), Texas (3), Utah (1), Newfoundland and Labrador (1).

All 29 programs by state and province

California

Colorado

Delaware

Idaho

Kansas

Maryland

Michigan

Minnesota

Mississippi

Nevada

New Jersey

North Carolina

Oregon

Pennsylvania

South Carolina

Texas

Utah

Newfoundland and Labrador

Threshold comparisons use the unit’s median certified figures across its pairings, not the pairing selected above. Meeting these thresholds means the equipment may qualify; it does not guarantee approval. Service-area, installation, and product-list requirements also apply.

All rebate programs and their published thresholds

Certified output and power use

Certified output for the selected pairingThe four bars share one scale. The comparison is with the median of 4-ton central models. Heating tests run at 70°F indoors. The cooling test runs at 80°F indoors.
Outdoor temperature Certified outputBtu/h One scale vs class median COPat 5°F
5°Fone compressor speed 24,8007.27 kW −32% 2.14
17°Fone compressor speed 31,2009.14 kW −11% NR
47°Fone compressor speed 51,00014.95 kW +6% NR
95°Fcooling, full load 49,00014.36 kW — NR

EER2 12.0 in that test. SEER2 16.5 over the modeled cooling season.

Power use at each temperature

Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
3.40kW
Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
4.08kW
Seasonal average heating COP
2.37

These exclude backup resistance heat.

Updated Sep 19, 2026 · Methodology

How it compares with other 48,000 Btu heat pumps

4-ton central models

This pairing at 5°F
24,800 Btu/h
This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
24,800 Btu/h
Median of 4-ton central models at 5°F
36,400 Btu/h
Models in this group
408

This unit is above 20% of them, at number 327 of 408 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 25,350 to 46,000 Btu/h.

This size class is defined by cooling capacity, so cooling is not compared here.

Among 48,000 Btu central models, each by its median certified pairing, highest first: 5°F output as a share of its 47°F rating, 378th of 408 (tied); HSPF2, 350th of 420 (tied). Models without that figure are left out.

Similar ratings at 47°F

These central models share the nominal cooling size. Comparisons use each model’s median certified figures across pairings.

  • ACIQ-48-HPB: The same 50,000 Btu/h rating at 47°F; 46,000 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 24,800).
  • KUSXA482A: The same 50,000 Btu/h rating at 47°F; 43,000 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 24,800).
  • 27VPA948A*030*: The same 50,000 Btu/h rating at 47°F; 37,600 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 24,800).

Closest models by heat at 5°F

Every 48,000 Btu (4-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency

Floor area at the cold test point

The median certified output of 24,800 Btu/h at 5°F matches the size calculator’s heating estimate for these floor areas, rounded to about 10 sq ft. Each range divides that output by the climate band’s heating rates.

Floor area by climate band and house condition
Climate bandHouse conditionBtu/h per sq ftApproximate sq ft
MildDrafty, little insulation24–42590–1,030
MildTypical16–26950–1,550
MildTight, well insulated10–181,380–2,480
ColdDrafty, little insulation28–52480–890
ColdTypical18–30830–1,380
ColdTight, well insulated12–221,130–2,070
Very coldDrafty, little insulation32–58430–780
Very coldTypical22–38650–1,130
Very coldTight, well insulated16–28890–1,550

This is an estimate, not a house-specific load calculation. Output stays at the 5°F test point for every band; it does not predict output at the band’s winter design temperature.

Certified values for C5H8T48*K*AAA*

1,245 pairings · 1,245 AHRI certificates

This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.

Certified values for C5H8T48*K*AAA*
This pairingAll pairings
Heating
Heat output at 47°F high stage 51,000 Btu/h 48,500–52,500 Btu/h
Heat output at 17°F full speed 31,200 Btu/h 29,400–32,400 Btu/h
Heat output at 5°F full speed 24,800 Btu/h 23,200–26,600 Btu/h
Heat output below 5°F NR NR
Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating 49%
COP at 5°F full speed 2.14 2.10–2.34
HSPF2 Region IV 8.1 7.8–8.5
Cooling
Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test 49,000 Btu/h 45,500–50,500 Btu/h
EER2 at 95°F 12.0 11.7–13.5
SEER2 cooling season 16.5 15.2–18.0
Cooling at other temperatures NR NR
Equipment and listing
Refrigerant R-454B
Compressor Two-stage
Indoor unit EVM5X60M21A* 43 indoor units
Furnace*96VSN0802120B* 47 furnaces
Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published NC NC
ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published No On no pairings
Where it is sold US and Canada US and Canada
Model string as certified C5H8T48*K*AAA*

Across 1,245 certified pairings with 43 indoor models: heat at 5°F 23,200 Btu/h with EVD5X48M21A*+WALLCON to 26,600 Btu/h with EA*5X61M24A*; HSPF2 7.8 with ESH5X48M12A* to 8.5 with EVD5X49M24A*; SEER2 15.2 with EA*5X60M24A* to 18.0 with EVD5X61M21A*+WALLCON. Endpoints name one indoor model where recorded; the furnace pairing can also change the figures.

Pairings, by indoor-unit class

43 indoor units · 1,245 certified pairings

One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.

Furnace paired · 10 indoor units

  1. EA*5X61M21A* brand not stated 25,600 Btu/hat 5°F, full speed

    60 pairings, 20 with a furnace · 47°F 49,500 Btu/h · 95°F cooling 48,000 Btu/h · Cold output 52% · COP 2.24

  2. EA*5X60M24A* brand not stated 25,800 Btu/hat 5°F, full speed

    57 pairings, 19 with a furnace · 47°F 49,500 Btu/h · 95°F cooling 47,500 Btu/h · Cold output 52% · COP 2.22

  3. EVD5X61M24A* brand not stated 25,200 Btu/hat 5°F, full speed

    57 pairings, 19 with a furnace · 47°F 52,000 Btu/h · 95°F cooling 50,000 Btu/h · Cold output 49% · COP 2.22

  4. EA*5X61M24A* brand not stated 26,000 Btu/hat 5°F, full speed

    54 pairings, 18 with a furnace · 47°F 50,000 Btu/h · 95°F cooling 48,500 Btu/h · Cold output 52% · COP 2.22

  5. ESH5X60M12A* brand not stated 25,000 Btu/hat 5°F, full speed

    54 pairings, 18 with a furnace · 47°F 49,000 Btu/h · 95°F cooling 47,500 Btu/h · Cold output 51% · COP 2.18

  6. EVD5X61M21A* brand not stated 24,900 Btu/hat 5°F, full speed

    54 pairings, 18 with a furnace · 47°F 51,500 Btu/h · 95°F cooling 49,500 Btu/h · Cold output 49% · COP 2.17

  7. EVM5X60M21A* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 24,600 Btu/hat 5°F, full speed

    54 pairings, 18 with a furnace · 47°F 51,000 Btu/h · 95°F cooling 49,000 Btu/h · Cold output 48% · COP 2.14

  8. EA*5X60M24A*+WALLCON brand not stated 24,800 Btu/hat 5°F, full speed

    51 pairings, 17 with a furnace · 47°F 48,500 Btu/h · 95°F cooling 46,500 Btu/h · Cold output 51% · COP 2.24

  9. EA*5X61M24A*+WALLCON brand not stated 25,000 Btu/hat 5°F, full speed

    51 pairings, 17 with a furnace · 47°F 49,000 Btu/h · 95°F cooling 47,500 Btu/h · Cold output 51% · COP 2.24

  10. EVD5X48M21A* brand not stated 24,400 Btu/hat 5°F, full speed

    51 pairings, 17 with a furnace · 47°F 50,500 Btu/h · 95°F cooling 47,500 Btu/h · Cold output 48% · COP 2.16

Indoor units in the furnace paired class
Indoor unit Brand At 5°FBtu/h · full speed At 47°FBtu/h · high stage At 95°FBtu/h · cooling Cold output% of 47°F rating COP 5°Ffull speed Cold climate Pairings
EA*5X61M21A* — 25,600 49,500 48,000 52% 2.24 NC 60
EA*5X60M24A* — 25,800 49,500 47,500 52% 2.22 NC 57
EVD5X61M24A* — 25,200 52,000 50,000 49% 2.22 NC 57
EA*5X61M24A* — 26,000 50,000 48,500 52% 2.22 NC 54
ESH5X60M12A* — 25,000 49,000 47,500 51% 2.18 NC 54
EVD5X61M21A* — 24,900 51,500 49,500 49% 2.17 NC 54
EVM5X60M21A* (the pairing on screen) — 24,600 51,000 49,000 48% 2.14 NC 54
EA*5X60M24A*+WALLCON — 24,800 48,500 46,500 51% 2.24 NC 51
EA*5X61M24A*+WALLCON — 25,000 49,000 47,500 51% 2.24 NC 51
EVD5X48M21A* — 24,400 50,500 47,500 48% 2.16 NC 51

The share is heat output at 5°F divided by the 47°F rating.

Showing 10 of 43 indoor units All 1,245 certified pairings

Sold as, and units with identical certified values

Brands listing this model number

Other brands that list these model numbers

Model number as listed

Variants of the same model number

4 units in this group. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.

3 of 4 shown.

Other model numbers with identical certified values

2 units share this record. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.

1 of 2 shown.

Product history

  • C5H8T48*K*AAA* changed its certified SEER2 on 129 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is lower on all 129.
  • C5H8T48*K*AAA* changed its certified HSPF2 on 15 pairings from 8.5 to 8.0 in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
  • C5H8T48*K*AAA* changed its certified EER2 on 192 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is higher on all 192.
  • C5H8T48*K*AAA* changed its certified COP at 5°F on 249 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is higher on 234 and lower on 15.
  • C5H8T48*K*AAA* changed its certified cooling capacity at 95°F on 261 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is lower on all 261.
  • C5H8T48*K*AAA* changed its certified heat output at 5°F on 273 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is lower on all 273.
  • C5H8T48*K*AAA* changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 261 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is lower on all 261.
  • C5H8T48*K*AAA* changed its certified heat output at 17°F on 270 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is lower on all 270.
  • C5H8T48*K*AAA* first appeared in the certified data between September 2024 and November 2024.

History and definitions

Other Mainline 18 SEER2 HP models by nominal cooling size: C5H8T24*K*AAA* (24,000 Btu), C5H8T36*K*AAA* (36,000 Btu), C5H8T60*K*AAA* (54,000 Btu).

History

First certified record
Most recent certified record
Measurements reported
Jul 16, 2026
Status
In the certified data

Field definitions

COP
Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
HSPF2
Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
SEER2
Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
EER2
Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
Cold output
Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
% of rating at 17°F
Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.

NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read

Cite or print this page

Heat Pump List, “C5H8T48*K*AAA* — certified heat output”. Certified figures dated , checked daily.
https://heatpumplist.com/model/c5h8t48_stk_staaa_st