248TAN060**AA*
Bryant · central heat pump
All 205 certified Bryant models
248TAN060**AA* is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. 248TAN060**AA* changed its certified SEER2 on 13 pairings from 15.5 to 16.0 in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- 54,000 Btu (4.5-ton)
- Central
- Two-stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
57,50016.85NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
36,80010.79NR at 17°F
30,2008.85NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.30NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 57,500 Btu/h16.85 kW of heat at 47°F, 36,800 Btu/h10.79 kW at 17°F, and 30,200 Btu/h8.85 kW at 5°F, 53% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 55,500 Btu/h16.27 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 9,800 Btu/h2.87 kW short of the example heating load of 40,000 Btu/h11.72 kW; at 95°F it is 35,500 Btu/h10.40 kW above the example cooling load of 20,000 Btu/h5.86 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at high stage; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 4.5-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,650 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 40,000 Btu/h11.72 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 20,000 Btu/h5.86 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 215629870 · listed by BRYANT HEATING AND COOLING SYSTEMS · certified Feb 17, 2025 · 4 pairings share these values
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 30,2008.85 kW | −25% | 2.30 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 36,80010.79 kW | −3% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 57,50016.85 kW | +3% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 55,50016.27 kW | — | NR |
EER2 11.7 in that test. SEER2 16.0 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 3.85kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 4.74kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.34
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 54,000 Btu heat pumps
4.5-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 30,200 Btu/h8.85 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 30,200 Btu/h8.85 kW
- Median of 4.5-ton central models at 5°F
- 40,000 Btu/h11.72 kW
- Models in this group
- 343
This unit is above 17% of them, at number 286 of 343 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 32,000 to 45,000 Btu/h.
Among 54,000 Btu central models, each by its median certified pairing, highest first: 5°F output as a share of its 47°F rating, 289th of 343 (tied); HSPF2, 284th of 358 (tied). Models without that figure are left out.
Similar ratings at 47°F
These central models share the nominal cooling size. Comparisons use each model’s median certified figures across pairings.
- MDPH18060D: 57,000 Btu/h at 47°F (this model: 57,500); 51,000 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 30,200).
- AC060BXUPCH: 57,000 Btu/h at 47°F (this model: 57,500); 48,000 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 30,200).
- MDPH180604: 57,000 Btu/h at 47°F (this model: 57,500); 45,000 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 30,200).
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- MPP15AZ60AJ2NMainline · 30,600 Btu/h
- TZPLAD1560AJNThermal Zone · 30,600 Btu/h
- WP15AZ60AJ2NFujitsu, Rheem + 2 more · 30,600 Btu/h
- (C,H,T)5H8T60*K*AAA*Kenmore · 30,200 Btu/h
- C5H8T60*K*AAA*Comfortmaker, Day & Night + 1 more · 30,200 Btu/h
- PH8TAN560**AB*WeatherMaker · 30,200 Btu/h
Every 54,000 Btu (4.5-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Floor area at the cold test point
The median certified output of 30,200 Btu/h at 5°F matches the size calculator’s heating estimate for these floor areas, rounded to about 10 sq ft. Each range divides that output by the climate band’s heating rates.
| Climate band | House condition | Btu/h per sq ft | Approximate sq ft |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mild | Drafty, little insulation | 24–42 | 720–1,260 |
| Mild | Typical | 16–26 | 1,160–1,890 |
| Mild | Tight, well insulated | 10–18 | 1,680–3,020 |
| Cold | Drafty, little insulation | 28–52 | 580–1,080 |
| Cold | Typical | 18–30 | 1,010–1,680 |
| Cold | Tight, well insulated | 12–22 | 1,370–2,520 |
| Very cold | Drafty, little insulation | 32–58 | 520–940 |
| Very cold | Typical | 22–38 | 790–1,370 |
| Very cold | Tight, well insulated | 16–28 | 1,080–1,890 |
This is an estimate, not a house-specific load calculation. Output stays at the 5°F test point for every band; it does not predict output at the band’s winter design temperature.
Certified values for 248TAN060**AA*
127 pairings · 127 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F high stage | 57,500 Btu/h16.85 kWNR | 56,500–61,500 Btu/h16.56–18.02 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 36,800 Btu/h10.79 kWNR | 36,200–38,500 Btu/h10.61–11.28 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 30,200 Btu/h8.85 kWNR | 29,600–31,800 Btu/h8.67–9.32 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 53%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.30NR | 2.10–2.34 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 8.0NR | 7.8–8.5 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 55,500 Btu/h16.27 kWNR | 54,000–58,000 Btu/h15.83–17.00 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 11.7NR | 11.7–13.0 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 16.0NR | 15.5–17.5 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Two-stage | |
| Indoor unit | CAA**6121AM* | 13 indoor units |
| Furnace | 935SB60100M21*** | 34 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On no pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | 248TAN060**AA* | |
Across 127 certified pairings with 13 indoor models: heat at 5°F 29,600 Btu/h with CAA**6024AM* to 31,800 Btu/h with CVAMA6124XMA*; HSPF2 7.8 with CAA**6124AM* to 8.5 with CVAMA6124XMA*; SEER2 15.5 with CVAVA6021XMA* to 17.5 with FG5ANBD60L*. Endpoints name one indoor model where recorded; the furnace pairing can also change the figures.
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
13 indoor units · 127 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 8 indoor units
-
CAA**6124AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 30,200 Btu/h8.85 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**6024AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 29,800 Btu/h8.73 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CAA**6121AM* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 30,200 Btu/h8.85 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAVA6021XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 30,400 Btu/h8.91 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAMA6021XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 30,000 Btu/h8.79 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAVA6121XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 31,000 Btu/h9.09 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAMA6124XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 31,600 Btu/h9.26 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
CVAVA6124XMA* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 31,700 Btu/h9.29 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · high stage | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CAA**6124AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 30,2008.85 | 57,50016.85 | 56,00016.41 | 53% | 2.25 | NC | 33 |
| CAA**6024AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 29,8008.73 | 57,00016.71 | 54,75016.05 | 53% | 2.25 | NC | 28 |
| CAA**6121AM* (the pairing on screen) | — | 30,2008.85 | 57,50016.85 | 56,00016.41 | 53% | 2.25 | NC | 23 |
| CVAVA6021XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 30,4008.91 | 58,00017.00 | 54,00015.83 | 52% | 2.22 | NC | 12 |
| CVAMA6021XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 30,0008.79 | 57,50016.85 | 54,00015.83 | 52% | 2.24 | NC | 11 |
| CVAVA6121XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 31,0009.09 | 59,00017.29 | 55,00016.12 | 53% | 2.21 | NC | 8 |
| CVAMA6124XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 31,6009.26 | 60,00017.58 | 56,00016.41 | 53% | 2.32 | NC | 5 |
| CVAVA6124XMA* (the pairing on screen) | — | 31,7009.29 | 60,00017.58 | 56,00016.41 | 53% | 2.33 | NC | 2 |
Air handler · 2 indoor units
-
F55AA*D60L* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 30,200 Btu/h8.85 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
FG5ANBD60L* (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 30,200 Btu/h8.85 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · high stage | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| F55AA*D60L* (the pairing on screen) | — | 30,2008.85 | 58,00017.00 | 57,50016.85 | 52% | 2.30 | NC | 1 |
| FG5ANBD60L* (the pairing on screen) | — | 30,2008.85 | 57,50016.85 | 57,50016.85 | 53% | 2.30 | NC | 1 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Model number as listed
- 248TAN060**AA* 127 pairings
Variants of the same model number
5 units in this group. Basis: identical certified values in the certified data. This grouping is our inference, not a field in the certified data.
- 27TPA860A**30*Carrier
- GH8TAN560**AA*Bryant · Carrier
- N5H8T60*K*AAA*ACiQ · Airquest · Arcoaire · Comfortmaker · Day & Night · Heil · Keeprite · Kenmore · Maratherm · Tempstar
- PH8TAN560**AA*Brock · Bryant · Payne · WeatherMaker
4 of 5 shown.
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- 248TAN060**AA* changed its certified SEER2 on 13 pairings from 15.5 to 16.0 in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- 248TAN060**AA* changed its certified HSPF2 on 68 pairings from 7.8 to 8.0 in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- 248TAN060**AA* changed its certified COP at 5°F on 68 pairings in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025. The new figure is higher on 66 and lower on 2.
- 248TAN060**AA* first appeared in the certified data between November 2024 and February 2025.
History and definitions
Other 2-STAGE 18 SEER HP models by nominal cooling size: GH8TAN524**AA* (24,000 Btu), GH8TAN536**AA* (36,000 Btu), GH8TAN548**AA* (48,000 Btu), GH8TAN560**AA* (54,000 Btu).
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Feb 17, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read