THF2B60T21
THF2B60T21 is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 29,200–32,800 Btu/h8.56–9.61 kW, 50–57% of its 47°F rating (tests at different compressor speeds), depending on the pairing.
Champion, Coleman + 3 more · central heat pump
All 48 certified Champion models · All 66 certified Coleman models · All 47 certified Fraser-Johnston models · All 34 certified Johnson Controls models · All 64 certified Luxaire models
THF2B60T21 is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. THF2B60T21 changed its certified EER2 on 5 pairings from 11.7 to 11.0 in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- 54,000 Btu (4.5-ton)
- Central
- Two-stage
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
59,00017.29NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
38,00011.14NR at 17°F
31,2009.14NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.36NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 59,000 Btu/h17.29 kW of heat at 47°F, 38,000 Btu/h11.14 kW at 17°F, and 31,200 Btu/h9.14 kW at 5°F, 53% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 55,500 Btu/h16.27 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 8,800 Btu/h2.58 kW short of the example heating load of 40,000 Btu/h11.72 kW; at 95°F it is 35,500 Btu/h10.40 kW above the example cooling load of 20,000 Btu/h5.86 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at high stage; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 4.5-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,650 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 40,000 Btu/h11.72 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 20,000 Btu/h5.86 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 212414962 · listed by Coleman · certified Aug 12, 2026 · 70 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
Meets the recorded equipment thresholds of 31 programs in 20 states, provinces, or territories:Colorado (1), Idaho (2), Illinois (1), Kansas (1), Maryland (3), Michigan (2), Minnesota (2), Mississippi (1), Nevada (1), New Hampshire (1), New Jersey (4), North Carolina (1), Oregon (2), Pennsylvania (3), South Carolina (1), Texas (3), Utah (1), Washington (2), Wisconsin (1), Newfoundland and Labrador (1).
All 31 programs by state and province
Colorado
Idaho
Illinois
Kansas
Maryland
- BGE Smart Energy Savers Heating and Cooling
- Delmarva Power Maryland HVAC Efficiency Program
- Pepco Maryland HVAC Efficiency Program
Michigan
Minnesota
- Wright-Hennepin Air Source Heat Pump Rebate · Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association
- Xcel Energy Minnesota Air Source Heat Pump Rebates
Mississippi
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
- Atlantic City Electric HVAC Efficiency Program
- JCP&L Residential HVAC Rebates
- PSE&G HVAC Instant Rebates
- SAVEGREEN Hybrid Heat · New Jersey Natural Gas
North Carolina
Oregon
- Energy Trust of Oregon Heat Pump Incentives · Portland General Electric (PGE) · Pacific Power
- Idaho Power Heating and Cooling Efficiency Program
Pennsylvania
South Carolina
Texas
- Austin Energy Air Conditioning and Heat Pump Rebate
- CPS Energy SaveNow HVAC Rebate
- CenterPoint Residential Standard Offer Program · CenterPoint Energy
Utah
Washington
Wisconsin
Newfoundland and Labrador
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s median certified figures across its pairings, not the pairing selected above. Meeting these thresholds means the equipment may qualify; it does not guarantee approval. Service-area, installation, and product-list requirements also apply.
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Fone compressor speed | 31,2009.14 kW | −22% | 2.36 | |
| 17°Fone compressor speed | 38,00011.14 kW | +1% | NR | |
| 47°Fone compressor speed | 59,00017.29 kW | +5% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 55,50016.27 kW | — | NR |
EER2 11.7 in that test. SEER2 15.2 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 3.87kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 4.74kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.37
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 54,000 Btu heat pumps
4.5-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 31,200 Btu/h9.14 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 31,200 Btu/h9.14 kW
- Median of 4.5-ton central models at 5°F
- 40,000 Btu/h11.72 kW
- Models in this group
- 343
This unit is above 22% of them, at number 266 of 343 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 32,000 to 45,000 Btu/h.
Among 54,000 Btu central models, each by its median certified pairing, highest first: 5°F output as a share of its 47°F rating, 266th of 343; HSPF2, 239th of 358 (tied). Models without that figure are left out.
Similar ratings at 47°F
These central models share the nominal cooling size. Comparisons use each model’s median certified figures across pairings.
- MDPH18060D: The same 57,000 Btu/h rating at 47°F; 51,000 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 31,200).
- AC060BXUPCH: The same 57,000 Btu/h rating at 47°F; 48,000 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 31,200).
- MDPH180604: The same 57,000 Btu/h rating at 47°F; 45,000 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 31,200).
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- YH660E2S11York · 31,400 Btu/h
- PHE6B6024Champion, Coleman + 4 more · 31,200 Btu/h
- RHP15060B21Evcon and Guardian · 31,200 Btu/h
- YH2F60TB21York · 31,200 Btu/h
- 4SHP22LX160P-**AAirEase and Armstrong Air · 30,800 Btu/h
- EL22XPV-060-230ALennox · 30,800 Btu/h
Every 54,000 Btu (4.5-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Floor area at the cold test point
The median certified output of 31,200 Btu/h at 5°F matches the size calculator’s heating estimate for these floor areas, rounded to about 10 sq ft. Each range divides that output by the climate band’s heating rates.
| Climate band | House condition | Btu/h per sq ft | Approximate sq ft |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mild | Drafty, little insulation | 24–42 | 740–1,300 |
| Mild | Typical | 16–26 | 1,200–1,950 |
| Mild | Tight, well insulated | 10–18 | 1,730–3,120 |
| Cold | Drafty, little insulation | 28–52 | 600–1,110 |
| Cold | Typical | 18–30 | 1,040–1,730 |
| Cold | Tight, well insulated | 12–22 | 1,420–2,600 |
| Very cold | Drafty, little insulation | 32–58 | 540–980 |
| Very cold | Typical | 22–38 | 820–1,420 |
| Very cold | Tight, well insulated | 16–28 | 1,110–1,950 |
This is an estimate, not a house-specific load calculation. Output stays at the 5°F test point for every band; it does not predict output at the band’s winter design temperature.
Certified values for THF2B60T21
937 pairings · 937 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F high stage | 59,000 Btu/h17.29 kWNR | 54,500–59,500 Btu/h15.97–17.44 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 38,000 Btu/h11.14 kWNR | 37,400–39,000 Btu/h10.96–11.43 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 31,200 Btu/h9.14 kWNR | 29,200–32,800 Btu/h8.56–9.61 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 53%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.36NR | 2.00–2.46 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 8.1NR | 7.8–8.1 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 55,500 Btu/h16.27 kWNR | 53,000–57,000 Btu/h15.53–16.71 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 11.7NR | 11.0–12.0 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 15.2NR | 15.2–16.0 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-410A | |
| Compressor | Two-stage | |
| Indoor unit | XAHD60JBCN1 | 37 indoor units |
| Furnace | Z8ET120C20LMPS1 | 37 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | NC | NC |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | No | On some pairings |
| Where it is sold | US and Canada | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | THF2B60T21 | |
Across 937 certified pairings with 37 indoor models: heat at 5°F 29,200 Btu/h with XAHC60HBCN1 to 32,800 Btu/h with XAHC60HBCN1; HSPF2 7.8 with JHETC60HBCS2N1 to 8.1 with JHETD60HBCS2N1; SEER2 15.2 with JHETC60HBCS2N1 to 16.0 with JHETD60HBCS2N1. Endpoints name one indoor model where recorded; the furnace pairing can also change the figures.
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
37 indoor units · 937 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 10 indoor units
-
XAFD60JBCN1 (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 31,400 Btu/h9.20 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
XAHD60JBCN1 (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 31,200 Btu/h9.14 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
XAFD60JXXN1+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 31,400 Btu/h9.20 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
XAFD60HBCN1 (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 31,400 Btu/h9.20 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
XAHD60JXXN1+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 31,000 Btu/h9.09 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
XAFC60HBCN1 (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 31,400 Btu/h9.20 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
XAHC60HBCN1 (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 30,800 Btu/h9.03 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
XAFD60HXXN1+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 31,400 Btu/h9.20 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
XAHD60HBCN1 (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 32,600 Btu/h9.55 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
XAFC60HXXN1+TXV (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 31,300 Btu/h9.17 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · high stage | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| XAFD60JBCN1 (the pairing on screen) | — | 31,4009.20 | 57,00016.71 | 54,00015.83 | 55% | 2.36 | NC | 132 |
| XAHD60JBCN1 (the pairing on screen) | — | 31,2009.14 | 58,50017.14 | 55,50016.27 | 53% | 2.36 | NC | 117 |
| XAFD60JXXN1+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 31,4009.20 | 57,00016.71 | 54,00015.83 | 55% | 2.38 | NC | 112 |
| XAFD60HBCN1 (the pairing on screen) | — | 31,4009.20 | 56,50016.56 | 54,50015.97 | 56% | 2.22 | NC | 92 |
| XAHD60JXXN1+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 31,0009.09 | 58,50017.14 | 55,50016.27 | 53% | 2.36 | NC | 82 |
| XAFC60HBCN1 (the pairing on screen) | — | 31,4009.20 | 56,00016.41 | 54,00015.83 | 56% | 2.32 | NC | 65 |
| XAHC60HBCN1 (the pairing on screen) | — | 30,8009.03 | 58,00017.00 | 54,50015.97 | 53% | 2.02 | NC | 65 |
| XAFD60HXXN1+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 31,4009.20 | 56,50016.56 | 54,50015.97 | 56% | 2.22 | NC | 52 |
| XAHD60HBCN1 (the pairing on screen) | — | 32,6009.55 | 59,50017.44 | 55,00016.12 | 55% | 2.34 | NC | 35 |
| XAFC60HXXN1+TXV (the pairing on screen) | — | 31,3009.17 | 56,00016.41 | 54,00015.83 | 56% | 2.26 | NC | 30 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
- Champion185 pairings
- Coleman191 pairings
- Fraser-Johnston185 pairings
- Johnson Controls185 pairings
- Luxaire191 pairings
Other brands that list these model numbers
- Are Champion and Luxaire heat pumps the same?48 shared model numbers
- Are Champion and Fraser-Johnston heat pumps the same?47 shared model numbers
- Are Champion and Coleman heat pumps the same?44 shared model numbers
- Are Champion and Johnson Controls heat pumps the same?34 shared model numbers
- Are Coleman and Luxaire heat pumps the same?60 shared model numbers
- Are Coleman and Fraser-Johnston heat pumps the same?43 shared model numbers
Model number as listed
- THF2B60T21 937 pairings
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- THF2B60T21 changed its certified EER2 on 5 pairings from 11.7 to 11.0 in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- THF2B60T21 changed its certified COP at 5°F on 5 pairings from 2.36 to 2.32 in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- THF2B60T21 changed its certified heat output at 5°F on 5 pairings from 31,200 Btu/h to 31,400 Btu/h in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- THF2B60T21 changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 5 pairings from 58,500 Btu/h to 59,000 Btu/h in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- THF2B60T21 changed its certified heat output at 17°F on 5 pairings from 38,000 Btu/h to 38,500 Btu/h in the certified data between March 2025 and May 2025.
- THF2B60T21 was in the certified data by September 2024.
History and definitions
Other LX SERIES models by nominal cooling size: THF2B18S21 (18,000 Btu), HH824E2S11 (24,000 Btu), HH824E2S12 (24,000 Btu), PHE6A2424 (24,000 Btu), PHG6A240752X4 (24,000 Btu), THF2B24T21 (24,000 Btu), HH836E2S12 (30,000 Btu), THF2B30T21 (30,000 Btu); more models from this brand.
Other LX SERIES models by nominal cooling size: THF2B18S21 (18,000 Btu), HH824E2S11 (24,000 Btu), PHE6A2424 (24,000 Btu), PHG6A240752X4 (24,000 Btu), THF2B24T21 (24,000 Btu), THF2B30T21 (30,000 Btu), HH836E2S11 (36,000 Btu), PHE6B3624 (36,000 Btu); more models from this brand.
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Aug 12, 2026
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read