RD18AY48AJVC
RD18AY48AJVC is in the certified data.
Its certified full-speed heating output at 5°F is 30,800–38,000 Btu/h9.03–11.14 kW, 70–94% of its 47°F rating (tests at different compressor speeds), depending on the pairing.
Friedrich, Rheem + 3 more · central heat pump
All 121 certified Friedrich models · All 91 certified Rheem models · All 47 certified Russell models · All 89 certified Ruud models · All 51 certified Sure models
RD18AY48AJVC is in the certified data as of Sep 19, 2026. RD18AY48AJVC changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 557 pairings in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026. The new figure is lower on all 557.
- 42,000 Btu (3.5-ton)
- Central
- Variable speed
- US and Canada
Certified heating and cooling
Heating at 47°F
41,00012.02NR
No 47°F rating for this pairing.
40,00011.72NR at 17°F
37,60011.02NR at 5°F
Btu/hkW, certified
2.10NR COP at 5°F
Heating and cooling by outdoor temperature
This pairing delivers 41,000 Btu/h12.02 kW of heat at 47°F, 40,000 Btu/h11.72 kW at 17°F, and 37,600 Btu/h11.02 kW at 5°F, 92% of its 47°F rating. It delivers 41,000 Btu/h12.02 kW of cooling at 95°F. At 5°F that is 4,600 Btu/h1.35 kW above the example heating load of 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW; at 95°F it is 24,000 Btu/h7.03 kW above the example cooling load of 17,000 Btu/h4.98 kW.
Each bar is a separate certified test, drawn at its outdoor temperature, starting at zero. The 47°F figure is at normal speed; the 17 and 5°F figures are at full speed. The short dark line on each bar is the median of 3.5-ton central models, one value per model. The shaded 17 to 45°F band is the frosting range: the outdoor coil can frost, and the unit pauses to defrost.
The dashed lines are example loads for a typical area of about 1,400 sq ft where winters reach 5°F: heating runs from 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW at 5°F to 0 at 65°F, and cooling runs from 0 at 65°F to 17,000 Btu/h4.98 kW at 95°F, at 1,000 sq ft per ton. A house in a hot climate or with large west-facing windows can need twice as much cooling. They are examples, not your building.
AHRI certificate 216819657 · listed by Friedrich · certified Oct 27, 2025 · 68 pairings share these values
Rebates where you live
Meets the recorded equipment thresholds of 63 programs in 38 states, provinces, or territories:Alabama (1), Arizona (1), California (3), Colorado (1), Connecticut (3), Delaware (1), Idaho (2), Illinois (1), Kansas (1), Kentucky (1), Maine (2), Maryland (3), Massachusetts (3), Michigan (2), Minnesota (3), Mississippi (2), Nevada (1), New Hampshire (3), New Jersey (3), New York (4), North Carolina (1), Oregon (2), Pennsylvania (2), Rhode Island (3), South Carolina (1), Tennessee (1), Texas (2), Utah (1), Vermont (3), Washington (3), Wisconsin (1), British Columbia (3), Manitoba (1), New Brunswick (1), Newfoundland and Labrador (1), Nova Scotia (2), Ontario (1), Yukon (2).
All 63 programs by state and province
Alabama
Arizona
California
- California Home Electrification and Appliance Rebates
- LADWP Consumer Rebate Program
- SMUD Heating and Cooling Rebate
Colorado
Connecticut
- Energize CT Residential Air Source Heat Pump Rebate · Eversource · United Illuminating
- Energize CT Residential Energy Optimization Heat Pump Rebate · Eversource · United Illuminating
- New England Heat Pump Accelerator
Delaware
Idaho
Illinois
Kansas
Kentucky
Maine
- Efficiency Maine Low-Income Supplemental Heat Pump Rebate
- Efficiency Maine Whole-Home Heat Pump Rebates
Maryland
- BGE Smart Energy Savers Heating and Cooling
- Delmarva Power Maryland HVAC Efficiency Program
- Pepco Maryland HVAC Efficiency Program
Massachusetts
- Mass Save Air Source Heat Pump Rebates · Cape Light Compact · Eversource · National Grid · Unitil · Berkshire Gas · Liberty
- Mass Save Enhanced Heat Pump Rebates · Cape Light Compact · Eversource · National Grid · Unitil · Berkshire Gas · Liberty
- New England Heat Pump Accelerator
Michigan
Minnesota
- Save Energy Minnesota
- Wright-Hennepin Air Source Heat Pump Rebate · Wright-Hennepin Cooperative Electric Association
- Xcel Energy Minnesota Air Source Heat Pump Rebates
Mississippi
- EnergyRight Home Energy Rebates · TVA EnergyRight · EPB
- Entergy Mississippi Residential Heating and Cooling
Nevada
New Hampshire
- NHEC Heat Pump Incentives · New Hampshire Electric Cooperative
- NHSaves Air-Source Heat Pump Rebates · Eversource · Liberty · Unitil
- New England Heat Pump Accelerator
New Jersey
- Atlantic City Electric Building Decarbonization
- PSE&G Residential Building Decarbonization
- Rockland Electric Clean Heat
New York
- EmPower+
- NYS Clean Heat: Central Hudson, NYSEG, RG&E, and O&R · Orange & Rockland
- NYS Clean Heat: Con Edison
- NYS Clean Heat: National Grid
North Carolina
Oregon
- Energy Trust of Oregon Heat Pump Incentives · Portland General Electric (PGE) · Pacific Power
- Idaho Power Heating and Cooling Efficiency Program
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
- Clean Heat Rhode Island Low to Moderate Income Incentive · Rhode Island Energy · Clear River Electric & Water District · Block Island Power Company
- New England Heat Pump Accelerator
- Rhode Island Energy Heat Pump Rebates
South Carolina
Tennessee
Texas
- Austin Energy Air Conditioning and Heat Pump Rebate
- CenterPoint Residential Standard Offer Program · CenterPoint Energy
Utah
Vermont
- Burlington Electric Heat Pump Rebates · Burlington Electric Department
- Efficiency Vermont Heat Pump Discounts
- Green Mountain Power Income-Eligible Heat Pump Rebate
Washington
- Avista Heat Pump Rebates
- PSE Gas-to-Heat-Pump Conversion Rebate · Puget Sound Energy
- Seattle City Light Heat Pump Rebates
Wisconsin
British Columbia
- Home Renovation Rebate: Heat Pump Replacing Electric Heat · BC Hydro · FortisBC · Grand Forks · Penticton · Summerland · Nelson Hydro
- Home Renovation Rebate: Northern Dual Fuel Heat Pump · BC Hydro · Pacific Northern Gas
- Home Renovation Rebate: Northern Fuel Switch · BC Hydro · Pacific Northern Gas · FortisBC (gas)
Manitoba
New Brunswick
Newfoundland and Labrador
Nova Scotia
- Home Energy Assessment: Heat Pump Rebates · Nova Scotia Power
- Moderate Income Rebate · Nova Scotia Power
Ontario
Yukon
Threshold comparisons use the unit’s median certified figures across its pairings, not the pairing selected above. Meeting these thresholds means the equipment may qualify; it does not guarantee approval. Service-area, installation, and product-list requirements also apply.
A utility program is for that utility's customers.
Choose location
Certified output and power use
| Outdoor temperature | Certified outputBtu/h | One scale | vs class median | COPat 5°F |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5°Ffull speed | 37,60011.02 kW | +14% | 2.10 | |
| 17°Ffull speed | 40,00011.72 kW | +29% | NR | |
| 47°Fnormal speed | 41,00012.02 kW | −7% | NR | |
| 95°Fcooling, full load | 41,00012.02 kW | — | NR |
EER2 11.0 in that test. SEER2 18.0 over the modeled cooling season.
Power use at each temperature
- Electrical input in the 5°F full-speed test
- 5.25kW
- Electrical input in the 95°F cooling test
- 3.73kW
- Seasonal average heating COP
- 2.93
These exclude backup resistance heat.
How it compares with other 42,000 Btu heat pumps
3.5-ton central models
- This pairing at 5°F
- 37,600 Btu/h11.02 kWNR
- This unit at 5°F median across its pairings
- 37,600 Btu/h11.02 kW
- Median of 3.5-ton central models at 5°F
- 33,000 Btu/h9.67 kW
- Models in this group
- 222
This unit is above 65% of them, at number 77 of 222 by heat at 5°F. The middle half of the group runs 20,000 to 40,000 Btu/h.
Among 42,000 Btu central models, each by its median certified pairing, highest first: 5°F output as a share of its 47°F rating, 10th of 222; HSPF2, 5th of 224 (tied). Models without that figure are left out.
Similar ratings at 47°F
These central models share the nominal cooling size. Comparisons use each model’s median certified figures across pairings.
- GZV7SA4210A: The same 41,000 Btu/h rating at 47°F; 31,000 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 37,600).
- GH5SAN542**AA*: 40,500 Btu/h at 47°F (this model: 41,000); 19,800 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 37,600).
- MOVA-42HN10-M152L: 40,500 Btu/h at 47°F (this model: 41,000); 20,200 Btu/h at 5°F (this model: 37,600).
Closest models by heat at 5°F
- ACIQ-48-EHPD1HVAC and ACiQ · 38,000 Btu/h
- BNG2A48SCNBlueridge · 38,000 Btu/h
- MCY-MUB0488HS2P-ULToshiba Carrier · 38,000 Btu/h
- 5HPL5048A1American Standard and Trane · 37,000 Btu/h
- H5H3V48*K*AAA*ACiQ, Airquest + 2 more · 37,000 Btu/h
- THH48HES2NAGOH24TCL · 37,000 Btu/h
Every 42,000 Btu (3.5-ton) unit, ranked by cooling efficiency, then heating efficiency
Floor area at the cold test point
The median certified output of 37,600 Btu/h at 5°F matches the size calculator’s heating estimate for these floor areas, rounded to about 10 sq ft. Each range divides that output by the climate band’s heating rates.
| Climate band | House condition | Btu/h per sq ft | Approximate sq ft |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mild | Drafty, little insulation | 24–42 | 900–1,570 |
| Mild | Typical | 16–26 | 1,450–2,350 |
| Mild | Tight, well insulated | 10–18 | 2,090–3,760 |
| Cold | Drafty, little insulation | 28–52 | 720–1,340 |
| Cold | Typical | 18–30 | 1,250–2,090 |
| Cold | Tight, well insulated | 12–22 | 1,710–3,130 |
| Very cold | Drafty, little insulation | 32–58 | 650–1,180 |
| Very cold | Typical | 22–38 | 990–1,710 |
| Very cold | Tight, well insulated | 16–28 | 1,340–2,350 |
This is an estimate, not a house-specific load calculation. Output stays at the 5°F test point for every band; it does not predict output at the band’s winter design temperature.
Certified values for RD18AY48AJVC
674 pairings · 674 AHRI certificates
This pairing is the one shown above. Under all pairings, a single figure means every pairing agrees and a range means the pairing decides.
| This pairing | All pairings | |
|---|---|---|
| Heating | ||
| Heat output at 47°F normal speed | 41,000 Btu/h12.02 kWNR | 40,500–48,000 Btu/h11.87–14.07 kW |
| Heat output at 17°F full speed | 40,000 Btu/h11.72 kWNR | 35,600–40,500 Btu/h10.43–11.87 kW |
| Heat output at 5°F full speed | 37,600 Btu/h11.02 kWNR | 30,800–38,000 Btu/h9.03–11.14 kW |
| Heat output below 5°F | NR | NR |
| Cold output 5°F output as a % of the 47°F rating | 92%NR | |
| COP at 5°F full speed | 2.10NR | 2.00–2.20 |
| HSPF2 Region IV | 10.0NR | 8.1–10.0 |
| Cooling | ||
| Cooling capacity at 95°F full-load test | 41,000 Btu/h12.02 kWNR | 40,500–43,500 Btu/h11.87–12.75 kW |
| EER2 at 95°F | 11.0NR | 10.0–12.0 |
| SEER2 cooling season | 18.0NR | 16.0–19.0 |
| Cooling at other temperatures | NR | NR |
| Equipment and listing | ||
| Refrigerant | R-454B | |
| Compressor | Variable speed | |
| Indoor unit | RCFY4821STANM | 27 indoor units |
| Furnace | FR801V0754A17UH | 157 furnaces |
| Cold-climate designation EPA's designation, as published | Yes | On some pairings |
| ENERGY STAR Most Efficient EPA's designation, as published | Yes | On some pairings |
| Where it is sold | United States | US and Canada |
| Model string as certified | RD18AY48AJVC | |
Across 674 certified pairings with 27 indoor models: heat at 5°F 30,800 Btu/h with RCFY4824MTANM to 38,000 Btu/h with FRH2VY4821STACN; HSPF2 8.1 with RCFY4821STANM to 10.0 with FRH2VY4821STACN; SEER2 16.0 with RCFY4821STANM to 19.0 with FRH2TY4824STANN. Endpoints name one indoor model where recorded; the furnace pairing can also change the figures.
Pairings, by indoor-unit class
27 indoor units · 674 certified pairings
One row per indoor unit certified with this outdoor unit.
Furnace paired · 6 indoor units
-
TCFY4824MTANM (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 33,200 Btu/h9.73 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
RCFY4824MTANM (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 33,200 Btu/h9.73 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
TCFY4824STANM (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 37,600 Btu/h11.02 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
RCFY4824STANM (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 37,600 Btu/h11.02 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
TCFY4821STANM (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 37,800 Btu/h11.08 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
RCFY4821STANM (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 37,800 Btu/h11.08 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · normal speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TCFY4824MTANM (the pairing on screen) | — | 33,2009.73 | 42,50012.46 | 43,00012.60 | 78% | 2.00 | Yes | 109 |
| RCFY4824MTANM (the pairing on screen) | — | 33,2009.73 | 42,50012.46 | 43,00012.60 | 78% | 2.00 | Yes | 108 |
| TCFY4824STANM (the pairing on screen) | — | 37,60011.02 | 41,00012.02 | 41,00012.02 | 92% | 2.10 | Yes | 106 |
| RCFY4824STANM (the pairing on screen) | — | 37,60011.02 | 41,00012.02 | 41,00012.02 | 92% | 2.10 | Yes | 105 |
| TCFY4821STANM (the pairing on screen) | — | 37,80011.08 | 41,00012.02 | 41,00012.02 | 92% | 2.10 | Yes | 104 |
| RCFY4821STANM (the pairing on screen) | — | 37,80011.08 | 41,00012.02 | 41,00012.02 | 92% | 2.10 | Yes | 103 |
Air handler · 4 indoor units
-
RH2VY6024STACN (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 33,200 Btu/h9.73 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
RHMVY6024SEACN (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 32,800 Btu/h9.61 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
RH2TY4821STANN (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 37,600 Btu/h11.02 kWat 5°F, full speed
-
RH2TY4824MTANN (the pairing on screen) brand not stated 32,800 Btu/h9.61 kWat 5°F, full speed
| Indoor unit | Brand | At 5°FBtu/hkW · full speed | At 47°FBtu/hkW · normal speed | At 95°FBtu/hkW · cooling | Cold output% of 47°F rating | COP 5°Ffull speed | Cold climate | Pairings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RH2VY6024STACN (the pairing on screen) | — | 33,2009.73 | 42,50012.46 | 43,50012.75 | 78% | 2.10 | Yes | 5 |
| RHMVY6024SEACN (the pairing on screen) | — | 32,8009.61 | 42,50012.46 | 43,50012.75 | 77% | 2.10 | Yes | 3 |
| RH2TY4821STANN (the pairing on screen) | — | 37,60011.02 | 41,50012.16 | 41,50012.16 | 91% | 2.10 | Yes | 2 |
| RH2TY4824MTANN (the pairing on screen) | — | 32,8009.61 | 42,50012.46 | 43,00012.60 | 77% | 2.10 | Yes | 2 |
Sold as, and units with identical certified values
Brands listing this model number
Other brands that list these model numbers
- Are Friedrich and Rheem heat pumps the same?43 shared model numbers
- Are Friedrich and Ruud heat pumps the same?43 shared model numbers
- Are Friedrich and Russell heat pumps the same?25 shared model numbers
- Are Friedrich and Sure heat pumps the same?25 shared model numbers
- Are Rheem and Ruud heat pumps the same?85 shared model numbers
- Are Rheem and Russell heat pumps the same?25 shared model numbers
- Are Rheem and Sure heat pumps the same?25 shared model numbers
Model number as listed
- RD18AY48AJVC 674 pairings
What affects the price
We don't have prices. These things drive the cost.
- The size of the unit, and the indoor equipment on the same certificate.
- Whether existing ductwork is reused, altered, or replaced.
- The electrical work: a circuit, a disconnect, and sometimes a panel change.
- Refrigerant line length and how the outdoor unit is mounted.
- Permits and inspection, which vary by municipality.
- Removing and disposing of the old equipment.
- Local labor rates and how busy the season is.
- Rebates and tax credits, which change and have deadlines.
Product history
- RD18AY48AJVC changed its certified heat output at 47°F on 557 pairings in the certified data between August 2025 and September 2026. The new figure is lower on all 557.
- RD18AY48AJVC first appeared in the certified data between February 2025 and March 2025.
History and definitions
Other K-SERIES models by nominal cooling size: RD18AY24AJVC (18,000 Btu), FRP18AZ24AJVC (24,000 Btu), RD17AZ24AJ3N (24,000 Btu), RD18AY36AJVC (30,000 Btu), FRP18AZ36AJVC (36,000 Btu), FRP18AZ48AJVC (42,000 Btu), RD17AZ48AJ3N (48,000 Btu), RD18AY60AJVC (48,000 Btu).
Other K-Series models by nominal cooling size: RD18AY24AJVC (18,000 Btu), RD18AY36AJVC (30,000 Btu), RD18AY60AJVC (48,000 Btu).
Other PRESTIGE SERIES models by nominal cooling size: RD18AY24AJVC (18,000 Btu), RD17AZ24AJ3N (24,000 Btu), RP18AZ24AJVC (24,000 Btu), RP19AY24AJVC (24,000 Btu), RD18AY36AJVC (30,000 Btu), RD17AZ36AJ3N (36,000 Btu), RP18AZ36AJVC (36,000 Btu), RP19AY36AJVC (36,000 Btu); more models from this brand.
History
- First certified record
- Most recent certified record
- Measurements reported
- Oct 27, 2025
- Status
- In the certified data
Field definitions
- COP
- Heat delivered for each unit of electricity used. A COP of 2.5 gives 2.5 times the heat of an electric baseboard heater.
- HSPF2
- Heating efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- SEER2
- Cooling efficiency over a typical season. Higher uses less electricity.
- EER2
- Cooling output divided by electrical input in the 95°F full-load test, in Btu/h per watt.
- Cold output
- Heat output at 5°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
- % of rating at 17°F
- Heat output at 17°F as a percentage of the 47°F rating.
NR not in the certified dataNC not cold-climate certifiedSP single pairing onlyVP varies by pairing; see the pairings tableWD withdrawn since the certified data was last read